Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Alabama Chanin: Short Fitted Tank Dress (Short Fitted Tank Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 484 times
Work in Progress Work in Progress
3 more reviews
Reviewed by:beanchor
photo
Friend of PR
About beanchor
TX USA
Member since: 10/7/10
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/13 5:57 PM
Last Updated:12/15/13 3:28 PM
Project Photo:Alabama Chanin: Short Fitted Tank Dress by beanchor

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by beanchor

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Work in Progress This is a work in progress. beanchor is currently working on it, but still wants to share it with you. Please feel free to comment on this.
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Hand-stitched Double Layer Four panel tank dress from Alabama Chanin Studio Sewing and Design

I have completed 3.5 of four panels!
All of the details and more photos are on my blog

Pattern Sizing:

S,M,L,XL I made a medium and sewed it with a 1/2 inch allowance.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I sure hope it will!

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The books give very clear instructions and inspirations for creating multiple garments. This garment requires: Tracing and cutting patterns, stenciling and painting fabric then stitching and cutting away the designs. The armholes and necklines will be bound using a stretch stitch. The hem will be left raw.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love everything about the patterns in this book. I like that this particular embellishment (outside negative reverse applique) is "fast" to sew. It is stitched in the running stitch and can be stitched continuously. Other methods require stitching each shape element and knotting off each time.

Fabric Used:
Double Layer Jersey Cotton in Tan and Teal

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I have opted to leave a small amount of the paint along the inside of each shape on this one. The inspiration dress has all of the paint removed.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and Yes! I plan to make it in a darker palette for myself with all the paint removed.

Conclusion: Great books and start to an awesome addiction. I have made many A.C. garments that can be seen here on PR and on my my blog
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendlesue said...
wow, these are amazing projects! you are inspiring!
8/8/13 6:45 PM
JeannieWatt said...
Can't wait to see the finished project! This part is amazing.
8/8/13 7:08 PM
Elona said...
Gorgeous, just gorgeous!
8/8/13 9:13 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is beautiful!! Cant wait to see it finished. Do you trace and cut out the stencil?
8/9/13 0:55 AM
Karine said...
It's always a treat to see your work. This is going to be one terrific dress!
8/9/13 7:49 AM
CissieW said...
Can you see that my mouth is hanging open??!! Such incredible work! I know it will be well worth the effort!
8/9/13 9:23 AM
beanchor said...
Thank you everyone. AuntieShel, this is an Alabama Chanin stencil that I bought from the site. I have traced and cut stencils using pennant felt before. Because of the scale of the shapes, I decided to splurge on this one.
8/9/13 9:29 AM
nothy lane said...
Love it!!! What a work of art!
8/9/13 12:29 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
ANOTHER one?!! I can see this one is going to be a show stopper. I wish I could sit still and focus long enough to make one of these. The book just sits on my bedside table where I leaf through it longingly.
8/9/13 1:05 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Well, I love it. I've never done any of the projects from my Alabama Stitch Book, but I'd like to. I can't wait to see the completed dress.
8/9/13 7:48 PM
mlsg said...
Keep up the good work! So great to see Alabama stitching on sewing pattern review! In 2 years when I finish my long bloomers skirt, I'll post it on here ;)
8/26/13 10:48 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is gorgeous and the technique so fascinating. I need to know more about this!
12/15/13 8:29 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Love the color combination. I always look forward to your work--beautiful!
12/15/13 10:10 PM
Sew Good said...
Nice work. You have wonderful patience! If I made that, I would not be able to sell it!
12/21/13 10:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 3906
photo
Review by Laura O on 11/9/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 8523 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Lisabeans on 6/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Paper Pattern
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us