SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Pin-up Girls> PB-3200  (Shelley Full Band Bra)

7 more reviews
Viewed 362 times 
Reviewed by:Ros B.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ros B.
CANADA
Member since: 9/20/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/13 1:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ros B. said...
Thanks Sewingcanary for the tip re. glue stick! I will try it, maybe even on sewing with lycra? Bra Makers Supply is in Canada! They are located in Hamilton, Ontario :)
8/14/13 5:39 AM
sewingcanary said...
“Good on you” for even trying! I admire your dedication. If you find this ends up too small in the cup but decent fit otherwise, try removing the boning - just cut a small slit under the arm and wiggle it out. 2-3 hand stitches will close it up. Depending on your mother, that might give up to a full cup size. My shoulder and clavicle were broken years ago. I have to remake bras so the straps will stay up. I keep swearing I’m going to start from scratch but so far not. Supplies are hard to get where I am. I don’t like buying without seeing and feeling. Apart from redoing the backs and straps I often add extra hook loops from old bras - to ease off when I don’t need full support. Try using GLUE STICK instead of pinning. Works great for me. I do all my bra work with glue stick. The only pins I use are to stretch the back out while I reapply the back binding and/or elastic. I use regular glue stick and I hand baste certain parts. Allow glue stick to dry or it will gum up your needle. If dry and not in the correct place, wet it, rearrange, and re-dry. Wonder if Bra Maker Supply sends to Canada. Where are they?
8/12/13 9:32 PM
Ros B. said...
@AndreaSews: Got it at Bra Makers Supply! I also ordered, for 5$, a sample of all of their colours - awesome selection!!
8/11/13 4:37 PM
AndreaSews said...
Gorgeous color! Where did you get your hands on pink duoplex? So nice of you to work on fitting your mom!
8/10/13 5:41 PM
Ros B. said...
@ArtAttack: Thank you! Yes, I thought that fitting myself was hard enough, but someone else is even harder! Even though it was my mum, I'm pretty sure that neither of us were used to having someone push, pull, lift, inspect and measure quite like that ha! @Jeannie: Thanks! I'm excited to try a different pattern, one with a foam lining, but might try making a full lace version of this pattern first. @wildberrymom: The joys of being inexperienced (me) meant that I didn't know better when deciding to try sewing a bra! I find just following a pattern to be challenging, doesn't matter what the item is ;) But I feel thrilled at the thought of making beautiful and LESS EXPENSIVE bras for myself and my mum!
8/10/13 12:32 PM
wildberrymom said...
I haven't been courageous enough for bras yet but if I keep watching the beautiful things you are doing it may happen soon.
8/10/13 10:39 AM
JeannieWatt said...
Excellent project. Interesting to read about.
8/9/13 8:11 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great job and you are learning a great deal about fitting as you go. Kudos to you!
8/9/13 3:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2945

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
McCall's 6466

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now