Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pin-up Girls: PB-3200 (Shelley Full Band Bra) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 241 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Ros B.
photo
Friend of PR
About Ros B.
CANADA
Member since: 9/20/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/13 1:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Great job and you are learning a great deal about fitting as you go. Kudos to you!
8/9/13 3:45 PM
JeannieWatt said...
Excellent project. Interesting to read about.
8/9/13 8:11 PM
wildberrymom said...
I haven't been courageous enough for bras yet but if I keep watching the beautiful things you are doing it may happen soon.
8/10/13 10:39 AM
Ros B. said...
@ArtAttack: Thank you! Yes, I thought that fitting myself was hard enough, but someone else is even harder! Even though it was my mum, I'm pretty sure that neither of us were used to having someone push, pull, lift, inspect and measure quite like that ha! @Jeannie: Thanks! I'm excited to try a different pattern, one with a foam lining, but might try making a full lace version of this pattern first. @wildberrymom: The joys of being inexperienced (me) meant that I didn't know better when deciding to try sewing a bra! I find just following a pattern to be challenging, doesn't matter what the item is ;) But I feel thrilled at the thought of making beautiful and LESS EXPENSIVE bras for myself and my mum!
8/10/13 12:32 PM
AndreaSews said...
Gorgeous color! Where did you get your hands on pink duoplex? So nice of you to work on fitting your mom!
8/10/13 5:41 PM
Ros B. said...
@AndreaSews: Got it at Bra Makers Supply! I also ordered, for 5$, a sample of all of their colours - awesome selection!!
8/11/13 4:37 PM
sewingcanary said...
“Good on you” for even trying! I admire your dedication. If you find this ends up too small in the cup but decent fit otherwise, try removing the boning - just cut a small slit under the arm and wiggle it out. 2-3 hand stitches will close it up. Depending on your mother, that might give up to a full cup size. My shoulder and clavicle were broken years ago. I have to remake bras so the straps will stay up. I keep swearing I’m going to start from scratch but so far not. Supplies are hard to get where I am. I don’t like buying without seeing and feeling. Apart from redoing the backs and straps I often add extra hook loops from old bras - to ease off when I don’t need full support. Try using GLUE STICK instead of pinning. Works great for me. I do all my bra work with glue stick. The only pins I use are to stretch the back out while I reapply the back binding and/or elastic. I use regular glue stick and I hand baste certain parts. Allow glue stick to dry or it will gum up your needle. If dry and not in the correct place, wet it, rearrange, and re-dry. Wonder if Bra Maker Supply sends to Canada. Where are they?
8/12/13 9:32 PM
Ros B. said...
Thanks Sewingcanary for the tip re. glue stick! I will try it, maybe even on sewing with lycra? Bra Makers Supply is in Canada! They are located in Hamilton, Ontario :)
8/14/13 5:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Jalie 2804
photo
Review by Amber in N... on 8/29/08
Read Review

Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5812 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5812 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pin-up Girls 8225 Pin-up Girls
photo
Review by Blooms on 7/18/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us