Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6559 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 337 times 82 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Bendy
photo
About Bendystar
Member since: 1/28/12
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:8/9/13 5:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jrhee said...
Don't cut it - I think it looks great on you!
8/9/13 9:38 PM
CypGrl said...
Yes, love it long and such great fabric for it.
8/9/13 10:15 PM
Levone said...
Cute dress!
8/10/13 6:32 AM
jmosew said...
No, goodness me, that does not hang like a sack. It looks very good, I looked at the blog pics and maybe it is a little wide around the shoulder/armhole area?? The overall flow of it is great, I will have to be more alert in Walmart for such interesting fabric. I agree with those who say definitely keep it long.
8/10/13 9:40 AM
wildberrymom said...
Leave it long--it is gorgeous on you! Would that something would hang like a sack like that on me!
8/10/13 10:31 AM
liliv said...
Oh no don't cut it! The length is perfect for this fabric. It doesn't look like as sack at all at the pictures, it isn't loose at all! I would wear it as it is! Have you tried a belt?
8/10/13 6:59 PM
sfshaza said...
That dress looks great! The stripe fabric gives it such impact! I wouldn't cut it, either. If you really feel that it looks sac-like (and I don't see it) maybe take it in a bit more at the side seams, particularly at the waist. I'd do this incrementally so that you don't end up taking too much out.
8/11/13 1:57 AM
caper81 said...
Yes, leave it long! Love this print (Walmart? I wouldn't have guessed:) I will definitely bind the armholes and neckline if I make this one. Looks fantastic on you!:)
8/11/13 7:45 AM
DD1104 said...
This looks geat!
8/11/13 5:42 PM
sewingcanary said...
It's a consensus - leave it the way it is, however, I agree the other view might have worked better. It looks comfy. I love long soft dresses at around home on cool summer evenings.
8/12/13 9:13 PM
Bendy said...
Thanks very much, you are all so kind! I may consider the belt idea though...
8/13/13 3:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jalie 2682 Women's Tops
photo
Review by lynne1nor on 2/16/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8287
photo
Review by leanmeanse... on 10/17/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us