SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1694 (Misses' Tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 445 times 
Reviewed by:pdiddly
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pdiddlystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/17/10
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/13 2:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
It's really cute, and you will make it even cuter with more alterations. What's with the sizing? Have they expanded or are you and I shrinking? :-)
8/10/13 2:56 PM
Campbell said...
I have made this blouse as well and normally make a size 12 in tops. I made the XS (Sz. 4-6) size based on the finished garmet measurements. I think the Big 4's idea of a loosely fitting garmet is different than what we would buy in RTW, hence the huge amount of ease. It looks really nice though.
8/10/13 3:14 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This is so cute!
8/10/13 7:00 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Really cute! I agree with Marec that it is cute now and will be even cuter after you take it in. I love the silhouette and the hi-lo hem.
8/10/13 8:36 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very cute and summery!
8/10/13 10:51 PM
cocosloft said...
I'm with marec as well! and it is really summery, pretty fabric.
8/11/13 4:34 AM
margy.64 said...
Lovely summery blouse. Looks great with your white pants.
8/11/13 5:20 AM
VivianZ said...
I think taken in more will help. I also think that if you made it again with a smaller size, and a more flowy fabric, you might like it more. The fabrics suggested were more drapey than seersucker, and would fall closer to the body.
8/11/13 7:53 AM
grays08 said...
Very pretty shirt, and I was wondering (before I read on, of course) whether you had taken in the sides at all because I loved yours! This just looks so fresh with your beautiful white pants, just lovely!
8/11/13 9:59 AM
slmstyle said...
Lovely top! I also am so frustrated how large the big 4 patterns tend to run. You really have to do your homework, take additional measurements and not 100% trust the pattern package before you cut & sew most patterns. I really like your version though. Try it again! :)
8/11/13 12:09 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty
8/11/13 1:03 PM
Renren said...
Very nice extension of the hi/lo look to a top. So far all the hi/lo things I've seen are very drapey and I'll bet it's because that fanning out of the back has a tendency to add width if the fabric is stiff. Thanks for reviewing this as the pattern does hold some interest for me.
8/11/13 4:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 5754

photo
by: jannw

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Simplicity 2560

photo
by: chesneykat

Review