SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8792 (Misses Top)

8 more reviews
Viewed 380 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Parrott
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Parrottstarstarstar
SD USA
Member since: 9/26/10
Reviews written: 174
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 170
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/13 9:48 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Great looking top. I like the vertical stripes. :)
8/11/13 9:53 PM
liliv said...
I bet you will be asked all the time where did you buy your top! Very pretty!
8/12/13 1:24 AM
jlg said...
Love your version of this pattern.
8/12/13 5:24 AM
margy.64 said...
Love the stripes and the way you pieced the sleeves...turned them into a great design feature.
8/12/13 7:25 AM
grays08 said...
This is cute and the fit is great. You could do a lot of variation with this pattern giving it's great fit....looks like an excellent one to have!
8/12/13 11:02 AM
HRigg said...
This is a great top. Versatile pattern too, certainly worth having!
8/12/13 2:03 PM
Barbara V said...
I like your version and changes to this top especially lowering the neckline. It looks great on you!
8/12/13 5:30 PM
Janie Viers said...
Don't be angry with my overhonesty, but the uneven stripes don't really fit the style. I guess if you had other striped fabric with it it might work. I just can't see the mystery that the stripes were supposed to convey.... like where is she and where is the top? It's attractive and wearable, but I do understand your dissatifaction with using that print in that top (especially it's a great print) I am sad that the top isn't the top you envisioned.
8/12/13 8:51 PM
cleverkitty said...
I have this pattern I take it out and have put it away many times I was not sure about it but seeing yours I'm sold I like the way it turned out in fact that is what made me click on your post I said WOW THAT pattern CAN look good, I'm not sure what Janie Viers is saying about the uneven stripes it looks very good to me, I would wear this in a heartbeat ;)
8/13/13 3:57 PM
threaddy said...
FANTASTIC!!!! I LOVE the wonky stripes!!! It has a very slimming effect...the way you did the sleeves is wonderful as well. I wonder how a bit of piping would look at the stripe changeover? Maybe too much....I hope you make this again...it is really effective!
8/19/13 0:50 AM
KathleenNW said...
Most excellent job. I was surprised when you didn't mention doing a FBA. Pleasantly surprised since I'm going to try my hand at this top and I always need a FBA.
10/31/13 1:12 AM
nestle said...
Hey thanks. I do NOT understand sewing the wrong side of 5 to right side of front. I still don't, raw edges or ??, but your comment above saved the day. I'm sewing right side to right side and not worrying about it! I like your top.
1/1/14 5:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 5601

photo
by: Victoria B

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now