SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3519 (Ghillie shirt)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in August Challenge Contest - Sewing for Men Contest
Viewed 204 times 
Reviewed by:annem54
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annem54star
United Kingdom
Member since: 7/10/12
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/13 12:45 PM
Last Updated:8/15/13 12:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
You should be so pleased with your results for a first time shirt maker - well done and your husband looks really "spiffy" with his kilt and shirt
8/15/13 3:17 PM
NEMDF said...
As to the eyelets: you could possibly make button holes on both sides, to lace up?
8/15/13 5:26 PM
treefrog said...
Looks great! I like this style of shirt as it looks so comfortable to wear. The button and thong closure sounds interesting. An alternative would be to sew an eyelet (if your machine has one or hand-stitched if your keen) or use the metal ones and put a placket behind eyelets to keep them off the skin.
8/15/13 7:04 PM
Sarsez said...
Very thorough review and well done for a first time shirt maker. You need to seek out eyelets that have a special backing to them. I think they are called grommets??
8/15/13 9:58 PM
sewnaomi said...
I love it. I had a rtw one about 12 years ago exactly like it; no lace or eyelets. I loved it and wore it out. Thanks for the review.
8/15/13 11:01 PM
annem54 said...
Thank you, all, for your kind comments and advice. I will post a picture of the next one when it is done; a while yet though as I'm sewing for myself next. This gives me a chance to find the right material. I'll look for the special eyelets but also think of buttonholes - I'll do some samples to see which looks and works best.
8/16/13 3:23 AM
Mary.P said...
Great results for a first time shirt maker.
8/16/13 5:43 AM
Renren said...
Fabulous shirt--thanks for reviewing it.
8/16/13 12:37 PM
sewingcanary said...
Great shirt - aka smock. Reminds me of a favorite Folkwear pattern. It would also look nice in ivory or ecru... perhaps even some embroidery if he's that sort of fella.
8/16/13 7:08 PM
LM2HYD said...
Excellent and thorough review. This shirt looks wonderful! It does not look at all like your first attempt at making a shirt. You should be proud of yourself.
8/18/13 8:18 AM
Baja Susana said...
Nicely done!
8/20/13 5:55 PM
helenkosings said...
You did EXTREMELY well since you're a beginner! I wouldn't have known it from the photo.
8/22/13 10:42 PM
helenkosings said...
Oh and instead of eyelets & thong, you might consider a decorative hook & eye instead, like this one: http://www.overstock.com/Jewelry-Watches/Bali-Copper-Celtic-Coil-3-strand-Hook-and-Eye-Clasp/3431810/product.html or this: http://tinyurl.com/kpjwsxc or a trivet clasp: http://www.bymichelle.com/clasps.html
8/22/13 10:52 PM
annem54 said...
Thank you for all your kind comments and advice. My home network crashed and I was stuck with 3G on my Android smartphone for a few days - back on with new modem but not yet configured properly so slow in replying though I did manage to vote in menswear competition. sewingcanary - the shirt fabric is ecru/ivory with a slight dark fleck which looks rather nice. My husband is not at all an embroidery type person (although in the 70s he did have flowers, drawn by me, on jeans which he continued to wear!). I looked at the Folkwear patterns - they were very expensive to ship and I didn't see the 'perfect' pattern although I would have considered two of them - one was the cheesemaker's shirt. In the end, because I decided to enter menswear competition, I didn't have time to wait for shipping, anyway. helenkosings - thank you for your kind suggestions - I will check these out when my broadband is back up and running properly. The Celtic knot is one of our favourite. The trivet clasp is a great idea too. I'll practice these ideas and make a new shirt some time!
8/23/13 4:29 AM
Sunnie49 said...
Annem54, you can buy Folkwear (and other vintage, historical, etc patterns) here in the UK for a very reasonable shipping price at the following link: http://www.habithat.co.uk/index.php?main_page=page&id=22 If it didn't hyperlink simply copy and paste to your browser or do a search for the company name. Very reliable and very reasonably priced, and no, I don't work for them:) Your ghillie shirt is nicely done - looks great on him!
9/4/13 3:45 AM
annem54 said...
Sunnie49, thank you. I have not heard of this company before - it is useful to know where to get some patterns not from the big 4. Any idea where to get J Stern patterns in UK? Some of the pattern companies are totally new to me - there are so many! Thank you, Anne
9/5/13 6:18 PM
LizzyB said...
Lovely work!
12/3/13 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 281988-1006

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now