Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5101 (Wrap top ) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 191 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Mary Themom
photo
About Mary Themom
TX USA
Member since: 2/22/13
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/13 2:16 AM
Last Updated:10/30/13 9:13 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5101 by Mary Themom

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5101
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: From the Butterick website: "Wrap front top and dress have all-in-one sleeve, pleated collar extending into front neckline, side tie, sleeve length and hem variations. Mock wrap front skirt and straight leg pants have casing and elastic yoke." This pattern is now out of print.

I did not notice when the client and I chose this pattern that it was for knits! She had a couple of yards of beautiful silk, and I believe that it did not need the stretch from the knit. It turned out beautifully.

Pattern Sizing: Pattern Sizing: XS-XL. I made an XL.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, although I shortened the skirt a little for my petite client.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were fairly clear throughout although I didn't follow them too closely. I did discover (after the fact!) that the instructions told me to put the belt loop on the wrong side. Luckily the stitches did not damage the silk.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love that this pattern was very forgiving. It fit a wide variety of figure types and the wrap top doesn't gap and crosses fairly high (it fit nicely on me too, even though I'm very busty) meaning you wouldn't have to worry about safety pins or some other form of closure which is often an issue with wraps. I thought the waist yoke on the skirt was a little short and bulky, and if it weren't covered by the top I would probably not wear it.

Fabric Used: A beautiful lightweight silk provided by my client!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the skirt, as my petite client preferred that it hit above the knee. I also shortened the ties, because I only had a couple of yards of fabric to accommodate both top and skirt! Obviously since I was using silk instead of a knit, I finished the edges differently than the directions called for (french seams and narrow rolled hems on the facings. Someone suggested cutting the back on a fold if you're working with a print. I agree.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will probably sew this top again, but this time for myself. I like wraps. I'll just need to find a pretty fabric. Probably won't be making the skirt. I like asymmetrical skirts, but don't think this was a particularly great example.

Conclusion: I was a little nervous when my client chose this pattern, because I was afraid it would look a little dated. I'm very happy about the way it turned out! You can check out more pictures on My blog
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
1 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
You did a lovely job for your client! The style is perfect for her floaty fabric and you got a really great fit for her.
10/31/13 9:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 2053
photo
Review by nicegirl on 6/5/12
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-109 Top
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 10/2/13
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1584 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1584 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us