Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8816 (Misses Top or Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 439 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:carrie18584
photo
Friend of PR
About carrie18584star
MA
Member since: 4/18/12
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/13 8:25 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KensingtonCrab said...
I like the fabric but sorry you're not happy with end result--maybe rework to simple tank?
8/17/13 9:15 AM
Andi said...
i don't think it looks that bad. have you tried to do a little shaping of the side seams?
8/17/13 9:33 AM
cleverkitty said...
Every cowl neck I make I fuss with no matter what the length when actually it looks fine if I was not the wearer. Looking at the picture it looks fine the color and print of the fabric really makes this a great looking top. it's not too late to nip in the sides, I would not give this one up too soon :)
8/17/13 9:51 AM
marec said...
I think this looks just fine-in fact, it's pretty on you. You may be used to closer fitting clothes, and with this drapey fabric, looser might hang better.
8/17/13 11:17 AM
carolynw said...
Sorry this did not work out for you - the fabric is beautiful - hope you will get some wear out of this
8/17/13 3:51 PM
2mulie said...
You are not standing with your arms above your head like the model...cute color though. Laughed at your blog...I too live in a work uniform and am behind a mask,safety glasses,and pulled back hair...I feel for you ;)
8/17/13 4:30 PM
VivianZ said...
I too think this a lovely top, esp the color, on you. Maybe like the others suggest, you can take in the sides, and if you add a hidden zip to the side, you can also add darts up the front and back.
8/18/13 7:11 AM
carrie18584 said...
Thanks everyone for your kind works of encouragement...i suppose the top look better in the pics than I thought it would after looking in the mirror...I won't give up on it now! :)
8/18/13 8:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I thought it looked nice on you. The wearer though as the final say. Pretty fabric.
8/18/13 8:31 AM
Dianne22 said...
It would be a shame to waste such beautiful fabric and I love the color. I agree with the recommendations to try taking in the sides a little. I bet the model had the back clipped in for the photo shoot and of course, that's an option for you...just paint the clothespin pink!
8/18/13 11:08 AM
daintydeb said...
You may want to try the StyleArc patterns Franki Top and Dress. The back neck is cut higher so the drape falls in a flattering way.
8/18/13 11:16 AM
Shona said...
Sometimes a pattern doesn't quite match our vision of it, but someone else doesn't have that same vision and just sees a cute top. I see a really cute top and I quite like the neckline. It's different and not the same old cowl of old.
8/18/13 10:22 PM
ChristinePDX said...
I made this pattern up as well, and had the exact same experience, it just looked a bit....matronly. Strangely enough, I think I also made it up using your FFC fabric!
8/20/13 10:41 AM
MNBarb said...
Well, I think you should wear it with pride. I love the color and it isn't totally shapeless, just not fitted. Let it sit in the closet for a week or so, then take it out and try it with different bottoms. Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and have not tried it.
8/21/13 12:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6795
photo
Review by avril jane on 8/25/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4780
photo
Review by angi_nagel on 12/18/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us