SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8816 (Misses Top or Tunic)

4 more reviews
Viewed 550 times 
Reviewed by:carrie18584
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carrie18584starstar
MA
Member since: 4/18/12
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/13 8:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Well, I think you should wear it with pride. I love the color and it isn't totally shapeless, just not fitted. Let it sit in the closet for a week or so, then take it out and try it with different bottoms. Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and have not tried it.
8/21/13 12:13 PM
ChristinePDX said...
I made this pattern up as well, and had the exact same experience, it just looked a bit....matronly. Strangely enough, I think I also made it up using your FFC fabric!
8/20/13 10:41 AM
Shona said...
Sometimes a pattern doesn't quite match our vision of it, but someone else doesn't have that same vision and just sees a cute top. I see a really cute top and I quite like the neckline. It's different and not the same old cowl of old.
8/18/13 10:22 PM
daintydeb said...
You may want to try the StyleArc patterns Franki Top and Dress. The back neck is cut higher so the drape falls in a flattering way.
8/18/13 11:16 AM
Dianne22 said...
It would be a shame to waste such beautiful fabric and I love the color. I agree with the recommendations to try taking in the sides a little. I bet the model had the back clipped in for the photo shoot and of course, that's an option for you...just paint the clothespin pink!
8/18/13 11:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I thought it looked nice on you. The wearer though as the final say. Pretty fabric.
8/18/13 8:31 AM
carrie18584 said...
Thanks everyone for your kind works of encouragement...i suppose the top look better in the pics than I thought it would after looking in the mirror...I won't give up on it now! :)
8/18/13 8:12 AM
VivianZ said...
I too think this a lovely top, esp the color, on you. Maybe like the others suggest, you can take in the sides, and if you add a hidden zip to the side, you can also add darts up the front and back.
8/18/13 7:11 AM
2mulie said...
You are not standing with your arms above your head like the model...cute color though. Laughed at your blog...I too live in a work uniform and am behind a mask,safety glasses,and pulled back hair...I feel for you ;)
8/17/13 4:30 PM
carolynw said...
Sorry this did not work out for you - the fabric is beautiful - hope you will get some wear out of this
8/17/13 3:51 PM
marec said...
I think this looks just fine-in fact, it's pretty on you. You may be used to closer fitting clothes, and with this drapey fabric, looser might hang better.
8/17/13 11:17 AM
cleverkitty said...
Every cowl neck I make I fuss with no matter what the length when actually it looks fine if I was not the wearer. Looking at the picture it looks fine the color and print of the fabric really makes this a great looking top. it's not too late to nip in the sides, I would not give this one up too soon :)
8/17/13 9:51 AM
Andi said...
i don't think it looks that bad. have you tried to do a little shaping of the side seams?
8/17/13 9:33 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
I like the fabric but sorry you're not happy with end result--maybe rework to simple tank?
8/17/13 9:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now