Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: eDress (eDress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 209 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo
Friend of PR
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/13 3:35 PM
Last Updated:3/3/14 0:23 AM
Project Photo:photo4

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by mudcat

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
2Mar2014: I really love this pattern and have made another dress with the band all in one fabric along with the skirt in a print using a blank band. I used the size 1 (xs) for these two versions. I like my skirts/dresses long and don't have a full length mirror in my house but after uploading the latest photos I will be shortening future versions by a couple of inches. These appear to be a bit too long on me.

All versions can be found here.

Pattern Description: Scoop neck dress. Includes a band at the hem. Has cutting lines to make a skirt.

Pattern Sizing: Seven sizes included: 1-4 (in .5 increments). I chose the 1.5 based on the finished measurements that were included but this ended up giving me too much ease so I have traced size 1 for my next one.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? More or less given the fact I excluded the band on my wearable muslin.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They look easy to me but I didn't actually use them since I was excluding the band and neck/arm bindings on this version.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love this pattern. I live in Arizona where it's either hot or warm at least nine months out of the year. I wear a lot of sleeveless tops and dresses. I love dresses because they're comfortable in the heat and I don't have to think about coordinating tops with bottoms. With the option of adding the band (or not), varying the lengths, including binding or hemming the arm/neck hems I see a lot of these in my future.

Fabric Used: I used a rayon-lycra that has been in my stash for 5+ years. I don't recall where I got it but it seems like it might of been Wazoodle. I remember it being very cheap so I bought 3.5 yards which. I used about 1.5 yards of it since it was 58" width. The recovery on the fabric is weak so I notice when I wear it the under arm area wings out a bit but I don't think that will be a problem on better quality fabric.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made the size 1.5 without alterations. It was too big so I took it in 1/4" on the sides plus another 1/4" (tapering down about 4 inches) under the arms. It's still a little big and I need to shorten it about an inch just above the waist as the hip curve lies a little lower than it should. I'm 5'3" but have proportionately long legs so it's rare that the waist is in the correct place on a pattern.

The dress falls within my preferred length without adding the band so I just hemmed it and turned over the arms and neck 3/8" and stitched. If I make a version with the band I will have to shorten it about four inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes!!! In fact, I'm cutting another one out today and I'm sure I'll make the skirt at some point too.

Conclusion: Easy versatile pattern.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Looks like perfect dress for Arizona.
8/19/13 5:18 AM
VivianZ said...
Cute basic dress. Great for hot weather.
8/19/13 7:30 AM
Karine said...
Cute dress - I can see why you would want to make multiple versions living in a warm weather climate!
8/19/13 5:22 PM
AdaH said...
Great dress. Love the fabric and the fit is right on.
8/24/13 12:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Farbenmix Insa Insa
photo
Review by dakotasews on 7/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco
photo
Review by meggipeg on 2/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us