SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8929 (Misses' Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 624 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 160
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/13 4:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Great to see these made up. The seam details are fabulous and you have the fit spot on :) A wardrobe basic with style!
8/18/13 6:46 PM
Barbara V said...
It's so helpful to see how you altered the crotch curve to fit properly which these really do. The anthracite color looks great with your top and shirt for a sharp looking ensemble! Good going!
8/18/13 10:43 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
As was said, it's nice to see these made up, as Marcy wasn't so happy with the fit of her sample on the Vogue model, according to her blog. Thanks again for another great review. Tina
8/19/13 0:43 AM
SewLibra said...
Nice fitting job and I like the pockets and seams on these pants! I have some of the same fitting issues you do, and spent the day making up a pants sloper from RTW. My body is changing...again...yikes! Thank you for this review and I plan to get this pattern.
8/19/13 0:43 AM
Rebecca D said...
As usual, first out of the gate with a new Marcy pattern. I am excited to try this one. These look great on you, love the fabric. Thanks for reviewing.
8/19/13 8:18 AM
DorothyK said...
Love the pants. You achieved a great fit.
8/19/13 1:27 PM
Foxsews said...
I'm considering these pants...but I'm wondering if the pockets will bag out over the hip and thighs and make one look "hippy-er?" Is it a slim line down the front? Thanks.
9/7/13 2:04 PM
sfshaza said...
I don't see how that would happen, Foxsews. The first thing the instructions have you do is to reinforce the pocket opening so it won't bag.
9/8/13 2:34 AM
Foxsews said...
SFS: I'm sitting here trying to figure out the final measurements of the various sizes. Its hard with the patterning on these pants. I have the opposite problem of you...I have a butt! And while I am sturdily built...I find the pattern has me in a size 20! In ready to wear I am a 12-14. Fortunately or unfortunately I bought the smaller size range. So now I'm trying to figure out if I proceed or not....but figuring out the final measurements on the 3 crucial areas is tough...waist, hips, thighs. Any hints would be appreciated. Thanks & thanks for the review.
9/12/13 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5811

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Master Pattern Book The BurdaStyle Handbook

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now