SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6940 (Misses Knit Tops)

24 more reviews
Viewed 413 times 
Reviewed by:LlanoGirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LlanoGirlstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/2/12
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/13 12:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
halleyscomet said...
Love the fabric! Cute top!
8/19/13 12:03 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I think it's really cute!!
8/19/13 1:17 PM
Dynamo said...
Looks great! I don't have a coverstitch either. Sometimes I'll just serge along the bottom of the hem, then turn it to the inside and "topstitch" once on the outside. Looks tidy on the inside, and is a quick and easy.
8/19/13 1:53 PM
LlanoGirl said...
Thanks for the tip, Dynamo, I will try that next time! I am eager to learn new things
8/19/13 2:13 PM
carolrv said...
A cute top! I hope that you don't give up on sewing knits. Some suggestions: a ballpoint needle, and a visit to your machine brand's dealer or website) to hopefully learn some techniques to make your machine funcion better with this very different fabric. Has the machine been in the shop for cleaning and adjustment lately?
8/19/13 2:48 PM
threaddy said...
Darling!!!!! I have this pattern in my wish list...I'll have to move it to buy.
8/19/13 7:13 PM
knitsewmuch said...
Cute top. Love the fabric.
8/19/13 9:55 PM
SewLibra said...
Congratulations on your first review, your new serger, and first knit! Your top looks very nice on you and no one would know it was a struggle. Like Dynamo, I serge the hem, turn it under, but generally sew two rows of topstitching to look like RTW. A double needle works well too if you like using them. Some of those slinky knits don't like you to start the needle right on the edge, as they are prone to getting sucked into the feed dogs. I find it helpful to start the seam a little further from the edge, backstitch, then go on with the seam. You did a great job and looking forward to your next review!
8/20/13 12:51 PM
yvonnesuniques said...
I think your top turned out wonderful! It fits you very nicely. I like the sleeveless version, and don't blame you for ditching the sleeves. Sometimes, less is better! I just bought this pattern and am anxious to try it out. I am not sure about sizing and think I will get out a RTW that fits for comparison.
9/1/14 12:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: Sew4Fun

Review
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now