SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8876 (Misses Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 821 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/13 6:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew2little said...
Fabulous. Truly. I love this dress already, and yours is wonderful and looks great on you. Thanks for your detail about the zipper. Finding the right length separating zipper has been no easy task, so your solution is a good one.
8/22/13 6:52 PM
Adaire said...
I have to have sleeves at my age but love this pattern.
8/22/13 7:06 PM
style inspired said...
Lovely dress for hot summer days!
8/22/13 7:19 PM
Rhoda K said...
A great summer dress - beautiful job.
8/22/13 7:25 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely fabulous - looks great on you. Thanks for such a detailed review
8/22/13 7:48 PM
grays08 said...
You did such a great job with this from the dye to that beautiful red accent color, the fit and adjustments...it's all perfect for this dress. It looks great on you and love your shoes and accessories...too perfect! = )
8/22/13 8:17 PM
KathySews said...
Love the dress. Great review. Nice solution to dye the fabric, I am not a fan of white either
8/22/13 8:26 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful and charming! I noticed this fabric at Marcy Tilton but was perplexed about how to put it to its best use - I think you used it in a very smart way.
8/22/13 8:39 PM
Renata said...
Your version is so perfect, I love it, the colour, the fabric, the accessories. What a great idea to dye the white fabric, must remember that. This is my favourite dress ATM. Whilst it has a billow-ey shape I found it is surprisingly flattering and very comfortable to wear.
8/22/13 8:45 PM
margy.64 said...
Great detailed review. Love all the surprising details, the dying of your fabric and your sewing is perfect. This dress looks wonderful on you too.
8/22/13 9:03 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a gorgeous dress! I absolutely love all the detail too and the fabric is so perfect for this pattern. Amazing again!
8/22/13 9:19 PM
mnitts said...
Very pretty and love that you dyed the fabric to make it work for you.
8/23/13 2:13 AM
mm said...
I have been contemplating this dress for summer. Your version is lovely.
8/23/13 2:14 AM
Heatherrique said...
I adore what you did with this pattern to create a very attractive dress! The colors and details along with your alterations adds lots of interest and panache. You look fantastic in this, Barbara!
8/23/13 3:17 AM
Rebecca D said...
Gorgeous rendition of this dress! Thanks for a fantastic review. Love those red dots.
8/23/13 6:42 AM
CissieW said...
What a darling dress! I wouldn't have looked twice at this pattern until I saw your dress. All of the details make it truly special. And as always, your work is perfection.
8/23/13 7:23 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Just adorable! I love your version so much more than the pattern envelope! I may have to make this up now after seeing yours!
8/23/13 8:03 AM
SewWil said...
This dress has so much going for it. Love your choice of fabric. Great review!
8/23/13 9:58 AM
Patti B said...
What a wonderful dress. I like your subtle changes -- that's why we sew, isn't it? This is a fun pattern.
8/23/13 10:00 AM
marec said...
Fabulous on you Barbara. Your addition of the invisible zip is cool, as well as dyeing the fabric to tone the red. I love your result!!
8/23/13 10:00 AM
CypGrl said...
How pretty on you -- especially with those red glasses!
8/23/13 10:02 AM
calmfish said...
So pretty! Your version is much cuter than the pattern envelope.
8/23/13 10:10 AM
VivianZ said...
You have such a knack for style. This fabric, dyed, and this pattern are a perfect combo. The fabric has such a large design, it would be hard to find a pattern to compliment it as well as this. Thanks for a great and detailed review, including ways to alter the design for your fabric.
8/23/13 10:36 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is truly a work of art! I, too, wouldn't have given this pattern a second look. Your fabric is fascinating and the color turned out gorgeous. Great job all around!
8/23/13 10:59 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Everyone has said it so well - this dress is a real winner and looks FABulous on you! Thanks for your thoughtful and helpful review.
8/23/13 11:33 AM
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this is a wonderful dress. You did a great job in the way you used the fabric. The dying came out great. I must say that brilliant minds think alike. I just finished the same dress using a Japanese cotton from Marcy also. Will post my review shortly. You set the bar - this is a great review.
8/23/13 1:00 PM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautiful. How clever to dye the white fabric. It looks great on you and I love the red glasses.
8/23/13 1:27 PM
Annie P said...
Fabulous dress. Love the red zip--an inspired detail! The red accessories are perfect.
8/23/13 9:09 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You look adorable and I bet its comfortable as well. I remember this fabric from the retreat!:). this dress is so fashionable and I never would have known. You have a great eye!
8/24/13 10:59 AM
liliv said...
How pretty!!! You are an extremely stylish and smart woman!
8/24/13 12:18 PM
Gendun said...
Beautiful! Very upscale as well as relaxed. Posh, even. :) Nice job on the colour and fabric selection, too! I'm impressed!
8/24/13 5:57 PM
TJSEWS said...
What can I say that hasn't already been said! I love everything you did. It was brilliant to dye the fabric and the fabric turned out beautifully. I love the red accents. The decision to use the red invisible zipper is right on. Thank you for pointing out all of the fabulous details and for such a wonderful and thorough review. (Love your glasses.)
8/25/13 10:03 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
A triumph of a dress. Original and beautifully made and you look perfect in it.
8/26/13 11:20 PM
lamstu said...
You have made a really adorable dress out of this pattern, and styled it really well too. I'll have to review my stash with this dyeing plan in mind!
8/27/13 8:14 AM
sfshaza said...
I missed this review, but Dorothy mentioned it, so I looked it up. A fabulous dress, Barbara! I love it - your modifications were perfect. And it's so cute with your red glasses!
8/31/13 4:33 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Phenomenal job on this pattern!
9/2/13 4:25 PM
Christas said...
Cute, cute, cute!!! Your dress looks sooo nice on you! I love your fabric choice, and of course, your sewing skills have turned this into a very stylish garment. Your red reading glasses as wonderful, too!
10/20/13 9:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: j Renee De...

Review
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now