SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3098 (Misses' skirts)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1996 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 80
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/05 0:47 AM
Last Updated:4/22/05 5:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
flowermama said...
Tailypo - I looked at your picture before I read the review and I think your skirt looks fantastic - I never would have guessed you had any problems with it. I had to laugh because I have done that stitch-n-rip progession myself more times than I wish to count! Congratulations on a great skirt and great review.
4/22/05 1:47 AM
els said...
Your skirt looks great on you, congratulations and thanks for the funny review.
4/22/05 5:08 AM
ladylola said...
Pretty skirt! And great entertaining review.
4/22/05 5:58 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a hilarious review!! Your skirt looks great and I would never have known you had problems with it. I think we've probably all done the repeat your exact mistake on the next seam thing too!
4/22/05 6:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very entertaining and informative review. The skirt turned out great -- good fit.
4/22/05 6:30 AM
Jayme said...
Very nice skirt! I refer to certain things you had to do in your adventure, as "reverse sewing". Sometimes it takes a lot of reverse sewing to get the finished product!
4/22/05 8:16 AM
Gigi Louis said...
You are so funny! Your skirt turned out great! I really like the way the decorative stitching looks on the CF. I finish the CB raw edges separately before installing the zipper - make it easy on yourself. :-)
4/22/05 8:20 AM
Hilary said...
You sure know how to write an entertaining review-I needed the laughs :oP Your skirt looks great-your rear is like mine-I think I need one of those gadgets! This is a great pattern, I love the skirt I made from it.
4/22/05 9:07 AM
Ann B. said...
A great review and a really nice skirt. I also find that stretch woven is difficult to press and fit. If it helps, I was working on a jacket that had every seam sewn 3 times...and I put the whole 3 seam back together and trimmed the seam allowances...with the side back seams togther instead of the center back seam. You had the fortitude to fix it and finish it, and it looks terrific. Keep up the good work.
4/22/05 9:57 AM
PVA said...
Ohmygosh, did you ever speak to my soul! Been there, done that, whatever little "learning experience" you want to point to! Love the skirt -- it looks very high-end RTW! Love the review -- it made me LOL! I'm sure this review is good for green new sewers, it certainly is for this dusty old seasoned sewer! (8^D)
4/22/05 10:07 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I *hate* it when I make the same mistake twice...or even three times...in the same day...in the same garment... This review should be required reading for anyone who gets intimidated by the thought of making a mistake... Great job! :)
4/22/05 10:33 AM
Liana said...
Lovely skirt, great review, and yes, I've "been there, done that" too! Many times. You look great in your skirt. The next one will go so fast. I like your CF seam too, I think they give a nice vertical line that many of us need.
4/22/05 1:14 PM
KimB said...
Love the orange, and the decorative stitching is funky and very flattering - I think it makes the skirt much more stylish.
4/22/05 2:03 PM
drsue said...
What a nice skirt on you. I generally try to avoid strech wovens myself if at all possible.
4/22/05 5:49 PM
ryan's mom said...
I always look at the pic first, then read the review. I thought your skirt looked very nice, and your review was amusing. Oh, the mistakes we all make. Sometimes it sure seems like a particular pattern/project is just bad luck.
4/22/05 6:03 PM
ldpaulson said...
I have been wondering where you've been and now we all know! SEWING! What a great skirt. Love the top as well. Thanks for a great review and for giving the rest of us persevering sewers the courage to forge ahead ... although timidly.
4/22/05 10:22 PM
PixieCat said...
Such an enjoyable, informative review. I admire your perseverance in completing your skirt. It looks beautiful so your efforts sure paid off.
4/23/05 5:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Hilarious! The best reviews are written by self-deprecating beginners, who hang tough, and who continue to abide, unafraid! It helps also if you can write. Sewing skill is optional. Well, anyway, besides entertainment, you do provide a wealth of tips and reminders for those of us who are easily distracted. There's no TV in my sewing room (that would be a disaster.) Public radio provides sufficient interruption to my powers of concentration.
4/23/05 6:21 AM
AnneM said...
Love the meerkat. :) And fantastic job of making the skirt evenly hemmed, overcoming your various stumbling blocks, etc. The skirt came out perfectly.
4/23/05 10:51 AM
shard said...
1. meerkats are very cute little furry animals. 2. your skirt looks terrific! 3. you have superhuman patience and tenacity. "what doesn't kill you makes you stronger..." ?? thanks for the great review. this pattern's on my wish list, and i've changed it to a 'must buy'.
4/23/05 8:05 PM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the early morning laugh, I almost choked on my coffee! Love your skirt. Isn't sewing fun?
4/24/05 9:42 AM
MaryBeth said...
I agree with Lisa: this reveiw should be required reading, but for everybody!!! great skirt too
4/24/05 3:30 PM
Kelly D. said...
Ah, a librarian, no wonder your review is so amusing! Don't forget that old maxim, "As ye sew, so shall ye rip." I'll be watching for more of your reviews and hoping that things go better for you on future projects. All's well that ends with a wearable garment, which your skirt obviously is!
4/28/05 3:32 PM
Clareew said...
Great review, kept me chuckling. The skirt looks great
2/1/07 11:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-18

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now