Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1352 (Misses Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 548 times 
Reviewed by:twilltape
photo

 
 
About twilltapestar
WA USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews: 32 (patterns: 32)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/13 0:34 AM
Last Updated:8/23/13 1:07 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nenewhis said... (5/11/14 11:18 AM) Reply
Thank you for your helpful review. My daughter is in the process of making this and we were both a little taken stumped with the sleeve construction. Crossing our fingers that it isn't too big either!
AuntieShel said... (10/13/13 9:49 AM) Reply
Your dress is so pretty!! Thanks for reviewing and for the tip on the sizing. I thought Vogue's pic looked like this dress was falling off the model and I'm sure they made a very small size. Then I read that you normally make a 14 and went down to an 8. Will definitely keep that in mind if I make this dress and I have never worn a Vogue size 8, not even when I was a skinny teenager! Thank you for a great review.
STARG said... (8/23/13 5:57 PM) Reply
Thanks for the great review!
evelynhughes said... (8/23/13 5:05 PM) Reply
Ohhh that fabric is totally gorgeous. Thanks do much for providing all this detail on the pattern. It's very helpful. Your version turned out great and how could it not such a fab print.
VivianZ said... (8/23/13 10:49 AM) Reply
I like your finished dress. Whatever difficulty you had and the additions of stabilizers make the end result very attractive.
marec said... (8/23/13 10:06 AM) Reply
What a lovely dress! The neckline is really pretty and looks complicated. Thanks for the info on the sleeves-yes, I agree with you=lazy instructions. Well done and very, very cute.
MamaSewing said... (8/23/13 9:32 AM) Reply
I looked at this pattern several times but dismissed it b/c it looked like way too much fabric but I love what you did with it!
WinkyBlinky said... (8/23/13 6:11 AM) Reply
That's a great fabric for that dress. Aren't you glad you made an 8? Could you imagine cutting into your silk jersey to come out with a sack? This turned out great though! Thanks for your review!
twilltape said... (8/23/13 1:09 AM) Reply
Hi BJHM! I've edited to add a link to the offending instructions as well as a photo of my sleeve insertion. Hope it helps! And thank you all for lovely comments. I'm really pretty happy with it overall- just a few minor quibbles!
nicegirl said... (8/22/13 10:29 AM) Reply
Good for you for not letting your fabric get Too Good to Use! Reading through, I can see the pattern has issues but they really don't show in your completed dress. It's gorgeous!
margy.64 said... (8/22/13 5:19 AM) Reply
Despite your misgivings on this pattern, you have created a very pretty dress.
BJHM said... (8/22/13 4:42 AM) Reply
Thank you for your review! You and and the silk jersey both look lovely. When you get a chance, could you please elaborate specifically your issues with the pattern's sleeves or directions? THANK YOU again!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8555

photo
by: WinterQuee...

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details