Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress (Lady Skater Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 422 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/13 2:59 AM
Last Updated:2/3/14 0:33 AM
Project Photo:Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille

Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille  Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille  
Pattern Photo: Kitschy Coo Pattern Info

More Info provided by chenille

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Poly Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
This funky yet functional knit dress has a fitted bodice, scooped banded neckline, a curved flared knee-length skirt, and options for trimmed cap sleeves, or banded ¾ length sleeves or long sleeves. It's designed to flatter the figure with a waistline that hits at the natural waist and a skirt that gently skims over the lower waist and hips. In plainer fabrics the skater dress lends itself to a casual wardrobe staple that's cute with sneakers, or snag yourself a fancy fabric for a knock-out evening dress.
Pattern Sizing:
There are eight sizes included in the pattern, ranging from a 30” to 44” high bust, and a 24” to 38” high waist.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes and there are 2 versions; 1 with a complete photo tutorial if you are new to sewing with knits, and a second quick version for experienced sewers. I left the instructions up on my computer - they were excellent and a nice refresher as I have been taking a long break from sewing...
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Loved everything about this pattern! The fit using the high bust measurement was spot on. Fabulous extra info on fitting and altering pattern Here
Fabric Used:
Very lightweight t-shirt knit from JA
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
This was my wearable muslin. For a quick fit, I cut just the front and back after making my usual adjustments; removed 1" from CB (although I forgot to change the skirt back to match and just stretched the back to fit), removed 1" length from bodice for short waist, and did swayback adjustment to compensate for no bust dart, used a size 3 for bodice but a size 2 for AH height, and graded out to a size 4 at the waist - no hip adjustment needed as it's a flare skirt.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, yes, yes!!! TNT and I can see sewing many variations of this.
Conclusion:
I haven't done any sewing for 6 months and to get myself focused again, I'm exploring the wonderful world of Indie designs. It's like taking a journey around the world! So glad I started with this one - it's an instant gratification project. I had no trouble at all printing and matching the pattern pieces. Can't wait to get started on my next project!

Updating photos with the fall/winter version.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margy.64 said...
There are so many favourable reviews popping up about this pattern. Yours is lovely. This one is definitely on my wish list.
8/22/13 5:25 AM
ArtAttack said...
Cute! I've downloaded but not gotten to it yet.
8/22/13 9:04 AM
Jrhee said...
Very cute - I've been eyeing this one for a while now and might have to get it.
8/22/13 9:19 AM
SewWil said...
Cute dress!
8/22/13 9:47 AM
Bapower57 said...
Very pretty and looks so comfortable! Love your boots too.
8/22/13 12:16 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Darling dress. Lovely how you matched up the stripes on the side!
8/25/13 5:08 AM
21wale said...
Looks great! I like the fabric choice.
8/27/13 9:19 PM
Levone said...
Nice dresses!
2/3/14 8:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 4878
photo
Review by mdeeter on 1/3/09
Read Review

McCalls 6729 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6729 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Jane Over Shirt
photo
Review by GayMcDonel... on 6/26/12
Read Review

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us