SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Pillows (Matzoh pillows & Beanbags)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1175 times 
Reviewed by:mClones
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mClonesstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/18/03
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/05 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/22/05 8:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ccdcar said...
I love it!!!!! Have a great holiday!
4/22/05 9:03 PM
ldpaulson said...
Those are GREAT Passover gifts! The pillows and beanbags look kosher to me. I think there would have been a problem had you made those types of back rest pillows with arms and braided pieces of fabric for the arms! That would look like a matzoh-challah pillow. Just teasing. Very wonderful project. Happy Holidays.
4/22/05 10:18 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I love these, and I'm not even Jewish!
4/22/05 10:56 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the link to the tip for turning points--and the idea to use it on pillows! Loved your tale of the matzoh pillows. To overcome my cultural ignorance, I searched on "matzoh" and found an interesting article at http://www.jewishmag.com/8MAG/CHOMETZ/chometz.htm. Now I know that "matzoh" (unleavened bread) represents the truth and "chometz" (fermented bread) represents falsehood. But I'm still a little confused about why the fabric is called matzoh--does it look like unleavened bread...? Anyway, thanks for the adventure and I love your leavened pillows.
4/23/05 5:51 AM
mClones said...
Penelope, here is a link to a very brief story of Passover: http://www.kidsdomain.com/holiday/passover/about.html. This fabric looks practically identical to the real thing, which you can see here: http://www.gothamist.com/images/2004_03_matzoh.jpg. Thanks for the compliments, fellow sewists. The project was a lot of fun and now folks are clamoring for them!
4/23/05 6:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
mClones, I followed your links and read the background on passover, with great interest. Thanks! Went to a seder many years ago, but had forgotten everything about it. You're right, your fabric looks Exactly like the matzoh bread!
4/23/05 7:07 AM
Linda E. said...
cool idean they are great. have a great holiday.
4/23/05 7:11 AM
bheath said...
Very neat! They look very comfy. Have a blessed Passover!
4/23/05 10:22 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
That is so great!! What a fantastic idea- a truly reclining seder. Happy Passover!
4/23/05 1:28 PM
bunz said...
FANTASTIC! Can't believe the fabric -- it's so real!! Good Yontif!
4/23/05 1:29 PM
cindyann said...
I love it!
4/23/05 3:39 PM
Georgene said...
I showed the photo to my DH when he said "Matzoh pillows? dis I never hoid!" We love it, and *have* to email this review to a few friends...
4/23/05 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 2825

photo
by: cybperry

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2011-107

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now