Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Pillows (Matzoh pillows & Beanbags) thumbsup - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1174 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:mClones
photo
Friend of PR
About mClonesstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/18/03
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/05 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/22/05 8:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ccdcar said...
I love it!!!!! Have a great holiday!
4/22/05 9:03 PM
ldpaulson said...
Those are GREAT Passover gifts! The pillows and beanbags look kosher to me. I think there would have been a problem had you made those types of back rest pillows with arms and braided pieces of fabric for the arms! That would look like a matzoh-challah pillow. Just teasing. Very wonderful project. Happy Holidays.
4/22/05 10:18 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I love these, and I'm not even Jewish!
4/22/05 10:56 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the link to the tip for turning points--and the idea to use it on pillows! Loved your tale of the matzoh pillows. To overcome my cultural ignorance, I searched on "matzoh" and found an interesting article at http://www.jewishmag.com/8MAG/CHOMETZ/chometz.htm. Now I know that "matzoh" (unleavened bread) represents the truth and "chometz" (fermented bread) represents falsehood. But I'm still a little confused about why the fabric is called matzoh--does it look like unleavened bread...? Anyway, thanks for the adventure and I love your leavened pillows.
4/23/05 5:51 AM
mClones said...
Penelope, here is a link to a very brief story of Passover: http://www.kidsdomain.com/holiday/passover/about.html. This fabric looks practically identical to the real thing, which you can see here: http://www.gothamist.com/images/2004_03_matzoh.jpg. Thanks for the compliments, fellow sewists. The project was a lot of fun and now folks are clamoring for them!
4/23/05 6:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
mClones, I followed your links and read the background on passover, with great interest. Thanks! Went to a seder many years ago, but had forgotten everything about it. You're right, your fabric looks Exactly like the matzoh bread!
4/23/05 7:07 AM
Linda E. said...
cool idean they are great. have a great holiday.
4/23/05 7:11 AM
bheath said...
Very neat! They look very comfy. Have a blessed Passover!
4/23/05 10:22 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
That is so great!! What a fantastic idea- a truly reclining seder. Happy Passover!
4/23/05 1:28 PM
bunz said...
FANTASTIC! Can't believe the fabric -- it's so real!! Good Yontif!
4/23/05 1:29 PM
cindyann said...
I love it!
4/23/05 3:39 PM
Georgene said...
I showed the photo to my DH when he said "Matzoh pillows? dis I never hoid!" We love it, and *have* to email this review to a few friends...
4/23/05 6:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by Jackie02 on 11/19/08
Read Review

Burda 8376 Pattern
Burda 8376 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9826 Skirt
photo
Review by KathleenS on 9/10/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us