SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Pillows (Matzoh pillows & Beanbags)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1174 times 
Reviewed by:mClones
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mClonesstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/18/03
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/05 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/22/05 8:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ccdcar said...
I love it!!!!! Have a great holiday!
4/22/05 9:03 PM
ldpaulson said...
Those are GREAT Passover gifts! The pillows and beanbags look kosher to me. I think there would have been a problem had you made those types of back rest pillows with arms and braided pieces of fabric for the arms! That would look like a matzoh-challah pillow. Just teasing. Very wonderful project. Happy Holidays.
4/22/05 10:18 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I love these, and I'm not even Jewish!
4/22/05 10:56 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the link to the tip for turning points--and the idea to use it on pillows! Loved your tale of the matzoh pillows. To overcome my cultural ignorance, I searched on "matzoh" and found an interesting article at http://www.jewishmag.com/8MAG/CHOMETZ/chometz.htm. Now I know that "matzoh" (unleavened bread) represents the truth and "chometz" (fermented bread) represents falsehood. But I'm still a little confused about why the fabric is called matzoh--does it look like unleavened bread...? Anyway, thanks for the adventure and I love your leavened pillows.
4/23/05 5:51 AM
mClones said...
Penelope, here is a link to a very brief story of Passover: http://www.kidsdomain.com/holiday/passover/about.html. This fabric looks practically identical to the real thing, which you can see here: http://www.gothamist.com/images/2004_03_matzoh.jpg. Thanks for the compliments, fellow sewists. The project was a lot of fun and now folks are clamoring for them!
4/23/05 6:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
mClones, I followed your links and read the background on passover, with great interest. Thanks! Went to a seder many years ago, but had forgotten everything about it. You're right, your fabric looks Exactly like the matzoh bread!
4/23/05 7:07 AM
Linda E. said...
cool idean they are great. have a great holiday.
4/23/05 7:11 AM
bheath said...
Very neat! They look very comfy. Have a blessed Passover!
4/23/05 10:22 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
That is so great!! What a fantastic idea- a truly reclining seder. Happy Passover!
4/23/05 1:28 PM
bunz said...
FANTASTIC! Can't believe the fabric -- it's so real!! Good Yontif!
4/23/05 1:29 PM
cindyann said...
I love it!
4/23/05 3:39 PM
Georgene said...
I showed the photo to my DH when he said "Matzoh pillows? dis I never hoid!" We love it, and *have* to email this review to a few friends...
4/23/05 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
Butterick 5615

photo
by: CissieW

Review