Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6859 ( Misses, Men and Teens Pajama Pants and Shorts) - Type:Sleepwear    printable version
Viewed 97 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:demoiselle
photo
About demoiselle
Member since: 6/21/11
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/13 9:19 PM
Last Updated:10/29/13 10:27 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6859 by demoiselle

Pattern Photo:New Look 6859
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:

Unisex pajamas in five views, two different types of pockets, ties and elastic at the waist and (optionally) at the ankles. One option is for shorts, two for capri length. I sewed View A, size small.

Pattern Sizing:

XS-XL.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, though it was a bit slimmer looking on the pattern envelope than they appear to be in these photos:

front

back

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The pattern was incredibly easy and fast to put together.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Simple, fast, easy, and flattering. It's exactly the kind of PJ that my husband was looking for. I'm sure that I will use it again and again.

However, the crotch depth of this particular pattern is long. Hubby is 5'10", but the waistband on the small could have easily been hiked to Steve Urkel heights.

Fabric Used:

A lightweight woven cotton plaid.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I followed the directions exactly. However, when I next make this I'd make a couple changes:


1. I would fold out about an inch from the yoke, front, and back above the legs.

2. I would lower the button holes through which the twill tape ties emerge by about half an inch, because once I created the channel for the tape and the elastic, the buttonholes were very close to the fold.

3. The pockets gape a bit, so I'm considering fusing some interfacing to the yoke front/pockets and possibly the PJ fronts to combat this next time--especially if I use such a light weight fabric.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I would, and I would recommend it to others.

Conclusion:
A solid, simple pj pants pattern. It's easy and fast to sew, and is exactly the kind of loungewear that my husband wanted. I will definitely make it again.

Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
1 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
badg61 said...
The fit looks great! I'm here looking for a men's pj pants pattern recommendation and your photo and detailed review have decided it for me. Thanks!
11/26/13 9:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5190
photo
Review by Sallygirl1 on 10/7/11
Read Review

Vogue 8801 Pattern ( Size 30-32-34-36 )
Vogue 8801 Pattern ( Size 30-32-34-36 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3793 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3793 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1005
photo
Review by twistedang... on 10/23/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us