Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1407 (Barcelona Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2441 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/05 9:52 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Patti, your dress is beautiful. In the photo it looks like you've achieved a wonderful fit! Love the print. I too prefer that neckline finish & the modified v-neck looks very nice on you.
4/24/05 10:04 AM
flowermama said...
Your dress is beautiful. I have wanted this pattern for a long time and now I really want it! Love your neckline changes.
4/24/05 10:40 AM
jlg said...
Patti, your dress looks great on you. I love the fabric.
4/24/05 10:58 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Did you use the short-sleeve version of the dress? The drawing makes them look rather like cap sleeves (horrible on me), but they look more like set in short sleeves in your photo.
4/24/05 11:10 AM
Elona said...
Very cute, Patti! Thanks for the complete review and tips.
4/24/05 11:15 AM
Patti B said...
Mandolin, It is the short-sleeve version. I agree cap sleeves are not always what I want and that was why I used the binding -- to add just a little more length to the sleeve. All told, it's probably an inch longer than if you followed the pattern. Using a knit also makes it less cap sleeve in appearance.
4/24/05 11:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Love this dress on you!
4/24/05 12:12 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Patti, your dress looks so wonderful on you! Thanks for the review.
4/24/05 1:02 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful Patti! I love the fabric you chose. I've made 3 of these dresses too and I appreciate your tip on lengthening the sleeves. Your V-neck is a very nice modification and looks very flattering on you. Thanks for the review!
4/24/05 1:12 PM
Teri said...
Patti, Your dress looks great on you. I think the v-neck looks wonderful. Good job!
4/24/05 2:09 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like the changes you've done at the sleeves and neckline. The fabric makes this a very special dress. You look so pretty and it fits perfectly!
4/24/05 2:52 PM
BjP said...
Great looking dress - I envy those of you who can look wonderful wearing long dresses! If I looked as good as you do in that style, I'd wear them, too!
4/24/05 3:17 PM
MaryBeth said...
The dress looks great on you, Patti, and the vee neckline worked just fine. Hmmm, maybe this pattern needs to get moved up on the list...but I think I'll learn from you and not use that rayon knit
4/24/05 3:34 PM
Karen Bowers said...
i love this pattern; i've made it at least 3 times, and plan to make more! i didn't realize maxine's store was the last one in california. i love it when she comes to san jose, and i'm able to go!
4/24/05 3:34 PM
Julia Graham said...
That really is a gorgeous fabric. Also love the "hourglass ... with more sand sifting through" comment. All this time I didn't realize that the solution to my figure problems was headstands! :-)
4/24/05 3:49 PM
Cambric Tea said...
This fits you so well and is extra flattering.
4/24/05 6:07 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty dress. It looks very nice on you. I have yet to make this pattern. Have had it forever. I keep thinking it will make me look shorter. Need to rethink this perhaps.
4/25/05 5:50 AM
AnneM said...
Beautiful dress. Love the fabric, and the look is excellent. I think the heavy knit gives a nice shape to the dress. I keep looking at this pattern, & can never decide if it would look good on me or not. I like it on you, though.
4/25/05 7:20 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great dress and review. I've been eying this pattern and may have to get it now that I see yours. I'm not sure I understand the distinction between the Tilton half French binding and the Loes method. Would you say these are two different "ribbing" techniques? I prefer a bound neckline, too. BTW, Linda Lee of Sewing Workshop recently recommended against using rayons--any rayon, not just rayon knits--in skirts and dresses, because, she says, the hems "grow" and become uneven. Was very disappointed, since I have accumulated quite a bit of rayon in my stash. Am taking this "under advisement", but not sure I'll observe her warning!
4/25/05 10:02 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful dress. It looks great on you!
4/25/05 3:05 PM
Jan B. said...
Your version looks great and your comments are appreciated. Nice variation.
4/25/05 6:12 PM
PegL said...
Love your dress! You look wonderful in it! I've gone back and forth on whether I should get this pattern and you've definitely made me think more about it! Great review!
4/26/05 2:23 PM
JDpenelope said...
I'm looking at this pattern again. Londa recommends this pattern for slinky knit, but I'm worried that it might be too heavy for this dress. Still considering.
6/11/08 9:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2219
photo
Review by JessicaFer... on 9/23/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-108
photo
Review by Maree P on 1/25/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us