SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 2450 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/05 9:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Patti, your dress is beautiful. In the photo it looks like you've achieved a wonderful fit! Love the print. I too prefer that neckline finish & the modified v-neck looks very nice on you.
4/24/05 10:04 AM
flowermama said...
Your dress is beautiful. I have wanted this pattern for a long time and now I really want it! Love your neckline changes.
4/24/05 10:40 AM
jlg said...
Patti, your dress looks great on you. I love the fabric.
4/24/05 10:58 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Did you use the short-sleeve version of the dress? The drawing makes them look rather like cap sleeves (horrible on me), but they look more like set in short sleeves in your photo.
4/24/05 11:10 AM
Elona said...
Very cute, Patti! Thanks for the complete review and tips.
4/24/05 11:15 AM
Patti B said...
Mandolin, It is the short-sleeve version. I agree cap sleeves are not always what I want and that was why I used the binding -- to add just a little more length to the sleeve. All told, it's probably an inch longer than if you followed the pattern. Using a knit also makes it less cap sleeve in appearance.
4/24/05 11:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Love this dress on you!
4/24/05 12:12 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Patti, your dress looks so wonderful on you! Thanks for the review.
4/24/05 1:02 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful Patti! I love the fabric you chose. I've made 3 of these dresses too and I appreciate your tip on lengthening the sleeves. Your V-neck is a very nice modification and looks very flattering on you. Thanks for the review!
4/24/05 1:12 PM
Teri said...
Patti, Your dress looks great on you. I think the v-neck looks wonderful. Good job!
4/24/05 2:09 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like the changes you've done at the sleeves and neckline. The fabric makes this a very special dress. You look so pretty and it fits perfectly!
4/24/05 2:52 PM
BjP said...
Great looking dress - I envy those of you who can look wonderful wearing long dresses! If I looked as good as you do in that style, I'd wear them, too!
4/24/05 3:17 PM
MaryBeth said...
The dress looks great on you, Patti, and the vee neckline worked just fine. Hmmm, maybe this pattern needs to get moved up on the list...but I think I'll learn from you and not use that rayon knit
4/24/05 3:34 PM
Karen Bowers said...
i love this pattern; i've made it at least 3 times, and plan to make more! i didn't realize maxine's store was the last one in california. i love it when she comes to san jose, and i'm able to go!
4/24/05 3:34 PM
Julia Graham said...
That really is a gorgeous fabric. Also love the "hourglass ... with more sand sifting through" comment. All this time I didn't realize that the solution to my figure problems was headstands! :-)
4/24/05 3:49 PM
Cambric Tea said...
This fits you so well and is extra flattering.
4/24/05 6:07 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty dress. It looks very nice on you. I have yet to make this pattern. Have had it forever. I keep thinking it will make me look shorter. Need to rethink this perhaps.
4/25/05 5:50 AM
AnneM said...
Beautiful dress. Love the fabric, and the look is excellent. I think the heavy knit gives a nice shape to the dress. I keep looking at this pattern, & can never decide if it would look good on me or not. I like it on you, though.
4/25/05 7:20 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great dress and review. I've been eying this pattern and may have to get it now that I see yours. I'm not sure I understand the distinction between the Tilton half French binding and the Loes method. Would you say these are two different "ribbing" techniques? I prefer a bound neckline, too. BTW, Linda Lee of Sewing Workshop recently recommended against using rayons--any rayon, not just rayon knits--in skirts and dresses, because, she says, the hems "grow" and become uneven. Was very disappointed, since I have accumulated quite a bit of rayon in my stash. Am taking this "under advisement", but not sure I'll observe her warning!
4/25/05 10:02 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful dress. It looks great on you!
4/25/05 3:05 PM
Jan B. said...
Your version looks great and your comments are appreciated. Nice variation.
4/25/05 6:12 PM
PegL said...
Love your dress! You look wonderful in it! I've gone back and forth on whether I should get this pattern and you've definitely made me think more about it! Great review!
4/26/05 2:23 PM
JDpenelope said...
I'm looking at this pattern again. Londa recommends this pattern for slinky knit, but I'm worried that it might be too heavy for this dress. Still considering.
6/11/08 9:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 12246-1000

photo
by: lacroise1

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now