SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8020 (easy options dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1736 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/05 12:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
keric said...
Beautiful dress! I love reading your reviews, and seeing your finished garments! They are always so much better than the similar designs you see in RTW! This dress is, yet, another example of that! Looks great on you!
4/24/05 12:47 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Truly lovely. I have been eyeing this pattern; you are persuading me. Great job!
4/24/05 12:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great minds think alike. I bought this pattern at the last Vogue sale because of the charming, retro look. I recently found a Simplicity pattern that is close to identical to the pleated version in my mother's pattern stash. Truly, the only difference is that it cost $.65 and has darts instead of princess seams. I think I'm the one that made the pattern (my sister and I both sewed like fiends), but I don't remember much else about it. Your version is lovely -- I do like the flared views a little better.
4/24/05 1:02 PM
Eli said...
Lovely dress... I grew to envy the place where you live since it seems to always be a lovely weather there!
4/24/05 1:04 PM
dvazz said...
Lovely! You're ready for a garden party. (Along those lines, your yard and landscaping always look gorgeous in your photos, too!)
4/24/05 1:08 PM
Peggy L said...
Your dress and garden are gorgeous! I'm with your Mom - I remember this style. I really hate to admit that!!
4/24/05 1:32 PM
Patti B said...
I love the dress -- it looks great for summer. I think I need to add this to my wish list. As usual you have married fabric and pattern so well.
4/24/05 1:35 PM
drsue said...
Such a pretty dress on you. I have a 1950's pattern that is almost identical. I don't like dropped waists on my however, I bought the vintage pattern because one of the models looked exactly like my mother did in the 50's!
4/24/05 1:58 PM
Teri said...
Very cute dress. It does look like you are ready for a garden party.
4/24/05 2:01 PM
sewkal said...
Great dress, great background. Both your sewing and gardening skills are very impressive. You always have something blooming- I'm so jealous :-)
4/24/05 2:58 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty! I love the fabric. And congrats on your 4th star! -Ann
4/24/05 3:01 PM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Simply lovely!
4/24/05 3:10 PM
BjP said...
Gorgeous as usual! Love the fabric and the style really looks nice on you.
4/24/05 3:12 PM
NancyDaQ said...
I love this dress. The fabric is just perfect!
4/24/05 3:40 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful! Very retro.
4/24/05 4:18 PM
touran said...
How absolutely lovely. The style really is evocative of a 'gentler' time. Great work as usual.
4/24/05 4:19 PM
ryan's mom said...
I loved the pattern and agree with your mom--definitely a retro look. Your dress looks beautiful and soooo ready for a nice, summer day.
4/24/05 5:13 PM
Cambric Tea said...
You look lovely, jlg. Sunny and pretty.
4/24/05 6:13 PM
Geri Lynn said...
Ditto to all the other compliments. Looks so fresh and feminine. I always love your reviews, always informative and you have great taste putting fabric and pattern together with beautiful results.
4/24/05 6:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Yes, I am another one who remembers this style! It's a gorgeous dress and you look really lovely in it. Another wonderful review, thankyou.
4/24/05 10:01 PM
esmer said...
jlg, this dress looks beautiful on you. You sewed this dress up very well. Know i am inspired to make this dress for my teenage daughter. Thank for the review
4/24/05 10:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your mom is right. I remember seeing dresses like this in high school. Great dress, lovely fabric.
4/25/05 5:47 AM
JDpenelope said...
After viewing the beautiful photo in your garden, when seeing the tip "trimming with pinking shears", I initially thought--"She trims her plants with pinking shears?" Silly me, you were talking about the seams, not the plants. You look very nice in dresses in general and this one in particular (as usual).
4/25/05 7:06 AM
AnneM said...
Your dress is so much cuter than the pattern pictures. I can't say I liked those much, but your dress if excellent. Very much an in-style retro look.
4/25/05 7:32 AM
brooktrout said...
Your dress is beautiful and you've inspired me to try it. I bought this pattern when it first came out and just received my new fabrics from EOS. It will have to be my next weekend's project (and maybe my first pattern review)!
4/25/05 9:01 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a lovely summer dress!
4/25/05 9:03 AM
PixieCat said...
Such a beautiful dress on you! Great color too!
4/25/05 3:07 PM
Lisette said...
Hi! This is another dress that I'm considering to make up for an upcoming wedding. Could I see your picture?
3/3/08 8:53 AM
velosewer said...
I can't see the pic but your comments are really helpful. I could tell from the design that it's not really easy to sew successfully if you don't understand fabric drape and styles that flatter you. Thank you for your insights Jlg.
8/27/08 4:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-125

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
brerrabbit.com infinity scarf

photo
by: SewPcola

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now