SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8020 (easy options dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1737 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 173
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/05 12:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
I can't see the pic but your comments are really helpful. I could tell from the design that it's not really easy to sew successfully if you don't understand fabric drape and styles that flatter you. Thank you for your insights Jlg.
8/27/08 4:43 AM
Lisette said...
Hi! This is another dress that I'm considering to make up for an upcoming wedding. Could I see your picture?
3/3/08 8:53 AM
PixieCat said...
Such a beautiful dress on you! Great color too!
4/25/05 3:07 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a lovely summer dress!
4/25/05 9:03 AM
brooktrout said...
Your dress is beautiful and you've inspired me to try it. I bought this pattern when it first came out and just received my new fabrics from EOS. It will have to be my next weekend's project (and maybe my first pattern review)!
4/25/05 9:01 AM
AnneM said...
Your dress is so much cuter than the pattern pictures. I can't say I liked those much, but your dress if excellent. Very much an in-style retro look.
4/25/05 7:32 AM
JDpenelope said...
After viewing the beautiful photo in your garden, when seeing the tip "trimming with pinking shears", I initially thought--"She trims her plants with pinking shears?" Silly me, you were talking about the seams, not the plants. You look very nice in dresses in general and this one in particular (as usual).
4/25/05 7:06 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your mom is right. I remember seeing dresses like this in high school. Great dress, lovely fabric.
4/25/05 5:47 AM
esmer said...
jlg, this dress looks beautiful on you. You sewed this dress up very well. Know i am inspired to make this dress for my teenage daughter. Thank for the review
4/24/05 10:15 PM
Schnauzer said...
Yes, I am another one who remembers this style! It's a gorgeous dress and you look really lovely in it. Another wonderful review, thankyou.
4/24/05 10:01 PM
Geri Lynn said...
Ditto to all the other compliments. Looks so fresh and feminine. I always love your reviews, always informative and you have great taste putting fabric and pattern together with beautiful results.
4/24/05 6:32 PM
Cambric Tea said...
You look lovely, jlg. Sunny and pretty.
4/24/05 6:13 PM
ryan's mom said...
I loved the pattern and agree with your mom--definitely a retro look. Your dress looks beautiful and soooo ready for a nice, summer day.
4/24/05 5:13 PM
touran said...
How absolutely lovely. The style really is evocative of a 'gentler' time. Great work as usual.
4/24/05 4:19 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful! Very retro.
4/24/05 4:18 PM
NancyDaQ said...
I love this dress. The fabric is just perfect!
4/24/05 3:40 PM
BjP said...
Gorgeous as usual! Love the fabric and the style really looks nice on you.
4/24/05 3:12 PM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Simply lovely!
4/24/05 3:10 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty! I love the fabric. And congrats on your 4th star! -Ann
4/24/05 3:01 PM
sewkal said...
Great dress, great background. Both your sewing and gardening skills are very impressive. You always have something blooming- I'm so jealous :-)
4/24/05 2:58 PM
Teri said...
Very cute dress. It does look like you are ready for a garden party.
4/24/05 2:01 PM
drsue said...
Such a pretty dress on you. I have a 1950's pattern that is almost identical. I don't like dropped waists on my however, I bought the vintage pattern because one of the models looked exactly like my mother did in the 50's!
4/24/05 1:58 PM
Patti B said...
I love the dress -- it looks great for summer. I think I need to add this to my wish list. As usual you have married fabric and pattern so well.
4/24/05 1:35 PM
Peggy L said...
Your dress and garden are gorgeous! I'm with your Mom - I remember this style. I really hate to admit that!!
4/24/05 1:32 PM
dvazz said...
Lovely! You're ready for a garden party. (Along those lines, your yard and landscaping always look gorgeous in your photos, too!)
4/24/05 1:08 PM
Eli said...
Lovely dress... I grew to envy the place where you live since it seems to always be a lovely weather there!
4/24/05 1:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great minds think alike. I bought this pattern at the last Vogue sale because of the charming, retro look. I recently found a Simplicity pattern that is close to identical to the pleated version in my mother's pattern stash. Truly, the only difference is that it cost $.65 and has darts instead of princess seams. I think I'm the one that made the pattern (my sister and I both sewed like fiends), but I don't remember much else about it. Your version is lovely -- I do like the flared views a little better.
4/24/05 1:02 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Truly lovely. I have been eyeing this pattern; you are persuading me. Great job!
4/24/05 12:48 PM
keric said...
Beautiful dress! I love reading your reviews, and seeing your finished garments! They are always so much better than the similar designs you see in RTW! This dress is, yet, another example of that! Looks great on you!
4/24/05 12:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Kwik Sew 3731

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review

Pattern

Brownie-Goose Designs Henry Pants

photo
by: brissmith

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now