Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8020 (easy options dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1731 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/05 12:40 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
keric said...
Beautiful dress! I love reading your reviews, and seeing your finished garments! They are always so much better than the similar designs you see in RTW! This dress is, yet, another example of that! Looks great on you!
4/24/05 12:47 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Truly lovely. I have been eyeing this pattern; you are persuading me. Great job!
4/24/05 12:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great minds think alike. I bought this pattern at the last Vogue sale because of the charming, retro look. I recently found a Simplicity pattern that is close to identical to the pleated version in my mother's pattern stash. Truly, the only difference is that it cost $.65 and has darts instead of princess seams. I think I'm the one that made the pattern (my sister and I both sewed like fiends), but I don't remember much else about it. Your version is lovely -- I do like the flared views a little better.
4/24/05 1:02 PM
Eli said...
Lovely dress... I grew to envy the place where you live since it seems to always be a lovely weather there!
4/24/05 1:04 PM
dvazz said...
Lovely! You're ready for a garden party. (Along those lines, your yard and landscaping always look gorgeous in your photos, too!)
4/24/05 1:08 PM
Peggy L said...
Your dress and garden are gorgeous! I'm with your Mom - I remember this style. I really hate to admit that!!
4/24/05 1:32 PM
Patti B said...
I love the dress -- it looks great for summer. I think I need to add this to my wish list. As usual you have married fabric and pattern so well.
4/24/05 1:35 PM
drsue said...
Such a pretty dress on you. I have a 1950's pattern that is almost identical. I don't like dropped waists on my however, I bought the vintage pattern because one of the models looked exactly like my mother did in the 50's!
4/24/05 1:58 PM
Teri said...
Very cute dress. It does look like you are ready for a garden party.
4/24/05 2:01 PM
sewkal said...
Great dress, great background. Both your sewing and gardening skills are very impressive. You always have something blooming- I'm so jealous :-)
4/24/05 2:58 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty! I love the fabric. And congrats on your 4th star! -Ann
4/24/05 3:01 PM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Simply lovely!
4/24/05 3:10 PM
BjP said...
Gorgeous as usual! Love the fabric and the style really looks nice on you.
4/24/05 3:12 PM
NancyDaQ said...
I love this dress. The fabric is just perfect!
4/24/05 3:40 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful! Very retro.
4/24/05 4:18 PM
touran said...
How absolutely lovely. The style really is evocative of a 'gentler' time. Great work as usual.
4/24/05 4:19 PM
ryan's mom said...
I loved the pattern and agree with your mom--definitely a retro look. Your dress looks beautiful and soooo ready for a nice, summer day.
4/24/05 5:13 PM
Cambric Tea said...
You look lovely, jlg. Sunny and pretty.
4/24/05 6:13 PM
Geri Lynn said...
Ditto to all the other compliments. Looks so fresh and feminine. I always love your reviews, always informative and you have great taste putting fabric and pattern together with beautiful results.
4/24/05 6:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Yes, I am another one who remembers this style! It's a gorgeous dress and you look really lovely in it. Another wonderful review, thankyou.
4/24/05 10:01 PM
esmer said...
jlg, this dress looks beautiful on you. You sewed this dress up very well. Know i am inspired to make this dress for my teenage daughter. Thank for the review
4/24/05 10:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your mom is right. I remember seeing dresses like this in high school. Great dress, lovely fabric.
4/25/05 5:47 AM
JDpenelope said...
After viewing the beautiful photo in your garden, when seeing the tip "trimming with pinking shears", I initially thought--"She trims her plants with pinking shears?" Silly me, you were talking about the seams, not the plants. You look very nice in dresses in general and this one in particular (as usual).
4/25/05 7:06 AM
AnneM said...
Your dress is so much cuter than the pattern pictures. I can't say I liked those much, but your dress if excellent. Very much an in-style retro look.
4/25/05 7:32 AM
brooktrout said...
Your dress is beautiful and you've inspired me to try it. I bought this pattern when it first came out and just received my new fabrics from EOS. It will have to be my next weekend's project (and maybe my first pattern review)!
4/25/05 9:01 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a lovely summer dress!
4/25/05 9:03 AM
PixieCat said...
Such a beautiful dress on you! Great color too!
4/25/05 3:07 PM
Lisette said...
Hi! This is another dress that I'm considering to make up for an upcoming wedding. Could I see your picture?
3/3/08 8:53 AM
velosewer said...
I can't see the pic but your comments are really helpful. I could tell from the design that it's not really easy to sew successfully if you don't understand fabric drape and styles that flatter you. Thank you for your insights Jlg.
8/27/08 4:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Marfy 1441 Sporty Jacket
photo
Review by julesberry on 11/20/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns HP108 Geisha Girl
photo
Review by myrayerets... on 11/11/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us