SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6730 

20 more reviews
Viewed 2154 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/02 4:38 AM
Last Updated:11/29/06 4:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Dale, this is really cute! Nice to hear that you worked out the cover stitch diff. feed so you got the effect you were looking for. I haven't serged slinky yet, but wondered if it would be too stretchy. Does the top have a facing around the neckline? It looks very neat.
8/14/02 11:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It looks even better than the envelope! Great fabric and good tips about the neckline and the zipper.
8/14/02 11:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The Coordinate you sew looks better than the photo pattern is...Congratulations
8/14/02 12:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Really cute! I haven't tried Slinky yet, but it is on sale at my favorite fabric store. Is it comfy to wear in the warm weather and humidity?
8/14/02 1:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Slinky is quite a nice fabric, if you don't sweat easily, but otherwise it's fantastic, easy to wear and easy to care, very goodlooking outfit Dale, is the leaf imprint in white or ....?
8/14/02 2:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Dale! That is just a beautiful outfit! Gotta run -- rushing out to get this pattern! Thanks for the review. What a pretty fabric, too.
8/14/02 2:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks all! Slinky is tricky to sew on. I haven't tried to use my serger on it since the regular machine does well. And yes, Skymom, the neckline has a facing. It was a bit tricky to put in because of the stretch. Teri, it's pretty humid and hot here, and I think I'll make a tank top out of Slinky. But this is fairly comfy in hot weather too. Marita, leaf imprints are in a cream color.
8/14/02 3:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
An advantage of slinky is that it does not unravel easily. So it does not really need serged seams. Once I got used to the "slinky" nature of slinky, I found it very easy to sew with!
8/14/02 9:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, wonderful outfit and great review. Thanks for the tips
8/15/02 1:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Two gorgeous outfits, plus a very detailed and helpful review. I also really enjoyed looking at your website - the matching kid and chihuahau outfits are outrageously cute!
8/17/02 9:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Dale: I have this pattern, but have never made it. Never thought about making it in slinky. Yours looks so much nicer than the pattern drawing. Fantastic!!
8/17/02 10:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Absolutely edible color!!!!
9/8/02 8:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Tee Jay said...
Dale,( I'm a different Teri,) Would you quickly tell me what your petite adjustment is for a top? My backwaist is 14 1/2". Your clothes always inspire me.
11/24/02 11:37 AM
Sandra said...
Dale, those are beautiful! I like what you did with them with respect to the tapering. They're really pretty on you.
11/24/02 2:06 PM
Dale C said...
Hi Teri. For tops, I slice horizontally across the top patterns at the upper chest and between the bust and waist. Sometimes, if the top will be a long fitted one, I'll slice between the waist and hip as well. Then I shorten them according to my measurements. Hope that helps.
11/24/02 2:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Loes Hinse Designs 5101

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now