Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2011-131 (designer dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 566 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/13 3:04 PM
Last Updated:10/24/13 10:10 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2011-131 by SavageCoco

Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
UPDATE: A TOTAL WADDER.
Pattern Description: Gorgeous Sheath Dress. For someone other than me.

Pattern Sizing: 38 40 42 44 46. I cut a 44. Added 5/8ths SA - way too big. Took some SA away - can't get it on. Neither way fit. This cut is not for me. The upper bust is baggy and the armscyes droop. Too tight in the diaphragm and bum, too big in the abdomen and sleeves. The cut goes in where I go out and vice-versa.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? NO. The first muslin came out hugely massive. Second muslin, oddly shaped. I'm too traumatized by the sleeve issues to recount them here for you. You really need a fit buddy on this pattern.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I've fiddled with Swedish Tracing Paper muslins to figure out how to put this together as my German is limited to beer and an old Burt Lancaster movie. I now know how to put it together but it still doesn't fit. I highly recommend making a test bodice so you're up to speed on how to assemble the front. It's a bit of a head-scratcher.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Well, the picture in the magazine is very pretty.

Fabric Used: I thought I had ordered French blue wool crepe from Fashion Fabrics but it's actually Grey. Rayon. Crepe. It arrived in an old canned food box, unwrapped and just flopping about inside a nasty old box. I was stunned by this. Tell me, is this standard shipping to just toss snagable fabric into a dirty old box like that? This is only the second time I've ordered fabric online and neither experience has been positive. So I think I'll cut my losses and refrain from repeating the madness from here on in. And it's totally the wrong fabric for this dress. Stick with wool or doubleknits.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added 1 1/2" to the center V insert as it is VERY low cut and je n'ai pas les sein de la jeunesse. This alteration worked, but it's still too exposed for my taste. It looked terrible on me.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I doubt I'll make any further attempts, I dislike trauma in any form.

Conclusion: Send thorazine.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
Haha, omg your last picture is wonderful and I think we've all been there! I can sympathize.. And now I need a martini
8/29/13 5:43 PM
marec said...
Don't mix the thorazine with the martinis...just sayin'
8/29/13 5:50 PM
stonecutter17 said...
Stunning! This will be one of those, "No way! You made that????" dresses.
8/29/13 5:58 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Once you've slept it off may we see a picture of this beauty on you?
8/29/13 6:56 PM
cmcarr said...
This is beautiful.
8/29/13 10:47 PM
pdiddly said...
Ha ha so funny - my sympathies are with you on this but trust me you will be so pleased once you have finished it - one tip I would say is to take the pattern piece for the neck edge and do all the folding on that first to see how it goes - I did a bit of head-scratching on that, and to be fair its the most difficult bit. If you use the wool crepe serge the edges first because it frays like made - I loved mine and I am sure you will look stunning in yours - for my 2nd version I never put a zip in because it was quite stretchy.
8/30/13 2:54 AM
SewLibra said...
Love your sense of humor and looking forward to the finished product!
8/30/13 7:13 PM
evelynhughes said...
Sending good luck and positive vibes!
9/16/13 5:05 AM
cindyann said...
That dress is amazing.
9/16/13 8:29 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, so sorry it didn't work out. I was really looking forward to seeing it completed. Oh well....it's happened to us all.
10/24/13 12:46 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
It doesn't look like a wadder - would love to see it on. Surely someone, somewhere can save it!
10/25/13 8:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Kwik Sew 3377
photo
Review by LaurieEm on 4/25/06
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2237
photo
Review by heemee on 5/24/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us