Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2005-108 (Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1326 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/05 11:14 PM
Last Updated:4/27/05 9:32 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
That is such a fun top. I didn't know the fabric was available. I think you did a fantastic job lining up all the lines.
4/26/05 11:24 PM
sewywabbit said...
Too bad about the shoulder fit, as this is a very cute top, which would be so perfect with white pants. I hope you have enough for a retry.
4/26/05 11:38 PM
Annika said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous anyway!
4/27/05 0:07 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Patti, it looks too good, congrats!!! and good luck with the second one.
4/27/05 0:20 AM
Ingiepops said...
I agree, such a great top! It's so hard to find the right stripey fabric when you need it too! (I love the little face on your dress-dummy; very cute.)
4/27/05 1:46 AM
els said...
Impecable stripes sewn top, a petty the top is narrow for your shoulders.
4/27/05 4:11 AM
jlg said...
What a great job matching those stripes. I love this top.
4/27/05 5:30 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful top. Why not get more fabric and do a perfected version for yourself?
4/27/05 7:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very fashion-forward! Must remember the walking foot when matching stripes--yours couldn't be better. I just ordered a trial subscription to Burda WOF and also a subscription to Burda Petites--there are so many nice reviews from them. (The magazine is carried only in one store in Kansas City (Cy Rudnick's) and I'm told they sell out quickly as soon as they arrive.)
4/27/05 7:40 AM
BjP said...
Patti, I also love black and white and think your top looks fantastic!
4/27/05 7:44 AM
Katie Pizzo said...
Cute top, love the use of black and white. I have narrow shoulders and have one dd with same and don't find Burda to be any narrower than other patterns. I wonder if the close fit is intended for a two way stretch and the shoulder is narrower because of this. I have noticed rtw with 2way stretch to have this feature. They give the shoulder measurement in the chart for all the sizes so you could compare.
4/27/05 7:46 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wonderful looking top, great job.
4/27/05 7:50 AM
cindyann said...
I love it. I've looked at that pattern several times and you have a great looking top here. Hope DD enjoys it.
4/27/05 7:58 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Patti, I love your top. I too am a black and white fan and your top is so cute. Fantastic job lining up those stripes and the neck binding just adds to the finishing details.
4/27/05 8:42 AM
PegL said...
Patti, love the top!!! Great job on construction too -- the stripes and neck look fantastic!
4/27/05 10:12 AM
Melody said...
That's a great top. You did such an impeccable job matching those stripes, I thought the fabric came like that. Your daughter will love it.
4/27/05 10:58 AM
SandraB said...
Your top looks great Patti. Yours looks better than the magazine picture.
4/27/05 11:38 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great fabric. I love what you did with it. You'll have to order more fabric and make another for yourself. BTW Thanks for the smiling face, you know how I like to see that. ;D
4/27/05 12:36 PM
Teri said...
Oh, I want one:) Good job!
4/27/05 12:36 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Great Job Patti, especially with matching all those stripes! I have both of these fabrics too, and I have been eyeing this pattern for the same top! ;) Mind if I copy you?
4/27/05 2:50 PM
drsue said...
That's one awesome top!
4/27/05 3:31 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Neat use of fabric. I love how this top looks.
4/28/05 5:45 AM
PixieCat said...
Great top and such a nice job matching the stripes. I love the look!
4/28/05 3:10 PM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, that's way too cute, Patti. You've done an amazing construction job. I've only done one WOF top and it didn't seem small through the shoulders: it was a plus sized top and in fact was drafted so that it made me feel much more "plus" than I am (not a good thing)! Can you do another just for you????
4/28/05 6:35 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks for all the kind remarks-- you are all so nice. Yes, I think I deserve one too; I'll check my leftovers and see if I need to order more. My DD drew the little face for the dressform and, no, she's not 6 yrs old!
4/28/05 9:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6696
photo
Review by littlepink... on 1/17/14
Read Review

McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6613
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us