SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2005-108 (Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1326 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/05 11:14 PM
Last Updated:4/27/05 9:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
That is such a fun top. I didn't know the fabric was available. I think you did a fantastic job lining up all the lines.
4/26/05 11:24 PM
sewywabbit said...
Too bad about the shoulder fit, as this is a very cute top, which would be so perfect with white pants. I hope you have enough for a retry.
4/26/05 11:38 PM
Annika said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous anyway!
4/27/05 0:07 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Patti, it looks too good, congrats!!! and good luck with the second one.
4/27/05 0:20 AM
Ingiepops said...
I agree, such a great top! It's so hard to find the right stripey fabric when you need it too! (I love the little face on your dress-dummy; very cute.)
4/27/05 1:46 AM
els said...
Impecable stripes sewn top, a petty the top is narrow for your shoulders.
4/27/05 4:11 AM
jlg said...
What a great job matching those stripes. I love this top.
4/27/05 5:30 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful top. Why not get more fabric and do a perfected version for yourself?
4/27/05 7:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very fashion-forward! Must remember the walking foot when matching stripes--yours couldn't be better. I just ordered a trial subscription to Burda WOF and also a subscription to Burda Petites--there are so many nice reviews from them. (The magazine is carried only in one store in Kansas City (Cy Rudnick's) and I'm told they sell out quickly as soon as they arrive.)
4/27/05 7:40 AM
BjP said...
Patti, I also love black and white and think your top looks fantastic!
4/27/05 7:44 AM
Katie Pizzo said...
Cute top, love the use of black and white. I have narrow shoulders and have one dd with same and don't find Burda to be any narrower than other patterns. I wonder if the close fit is intended for a two way stretch and the shoulder is narrower because of this. I have noticed rtw with 2way stretch to have this feature. They give the shoulder measurement in the chart for all the sizes so you could compare.
4/27/05 7:46 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wonderful looking top, great job.
4/27/05 7:50 AM
cindyann said...
I love it. I've looked at that pattern several times and you have a great looking top here. Hope DD enjoys it.
4/27/05 7:58 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Patti, I love your top. I too am a black and white fan and your top is so cute. Fantastic job lining up those stripes and the neck binding just adds to the finishing details.
4/27/05 8:42 AM
PegL said...
Patti, love the top!!! Great job on construction too -- the stripes and neck look fantastic!
4/27/05 10:12 AM
Melody said...
That's a great top. You did such an impeccable job matching those stripes, I thought the fabric came like that. Your daughter will love it.
4/27/05 10:58 AM
SandraB said...
Your top looks great Patti. Yours looks better than the magazine picture.
4/27/05 11:38 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great fabric. I love what you did with it. You'll have to order more fabric and make another for yourself. BTW Thanks for the smiling face, you know how I like to see that. ;D
4/27/05 12:36 PM
Teri said...
Oh, I want one:) Good job!
4/27/05 12:36 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Great Job Patti, especially with matching all those stripes! I have both of these fabrics too, and I have been eyeing this pattern for the same top! ;) Mind if I copy you?
4/27/05 2:50 PM
drsue said...
That's one awesome top!
4/27/05 3:31 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Neat use of fabric. I love how this top looks.
4/28/05 5:45 AM
PixieCat said...
Great top and such a nice job matching the stripes. I love the look!
4/28/05 3:10 PM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, that's way too cute, Patti. You've done an amazing construction job. I've only done one WOF top and it didn't seem small through the shoulders: it was a plus sized top and in fact was drafted so that it made me feel much more "plus" than I am (not a good thing)! Can you do another just for you????
4/28/05 6:35 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks for all the kind remarks-- you are all so nice. Yes, I think I deserve one too; I'll check my leftovers and see if I need to order more. My DD drew the little face for the dressform and, no, she's not 6 yrs old!
4/28/05 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-21

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now