SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2005-108 (Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1326 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 170
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/05 11:14 PM
Last Updated:4/27/05 9:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Thanks for all the kind remarks-- you are all so nice. Yes, I think I deserve one too; I'll check my leftovers and see if I need to order more. My DD drew the little face for the dressform and, no, she's not 6 yrs old!
4/28/05 9:52 PM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, that's way too cute, Patti. You've done an amazing construction job. I've only done one WOF top and it didn't seem small through the shoulders: it was a plus sized top and in fact was drafted so that it made me feel much more "plus" than I am (not a good thing)! Can you do another just for you????
4/28/05 6:35 PM
PixieCat said...
Great top and such a nice job matching the stripes. I love the look!
4/28/05 3:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Neat use of fabric. I love how this top looks.
4/28/05 5:45 AM
drsue said...
That's one awesome top!
4/27/05 3:31 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Great Job Patti, especially with matching all those stripes! I have both of these fabrics too, and I have been eyeing this pattern for the same top! ;) Mind if I copy you?
4/27/05 2:50 PM
Teri said...
Oh, I want one:) Good job!
4/27/05 12:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great fabric. I love what you did with it. You'll have to order more fabric and make another for yourself. BTW Thanks for the smiling face, you know how I like to see that. ;D
4/27/05 12:36 PM
SandraB said...
Your top looks great Patti. Yours looks better than the magazine picture.
4/27/05 11:38 AM
Melody said...
That's a great top. You did such an impeccable job matching those stripes, I thought the fabric came like that. Your daughter will love it.
4/27/05 10:58 AM
PegL said...
Patti, love the top!!! Great job on construction too -- the stripes and neck look fantastic!
4/27/05 10:12 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Patti, I love your top. I too am a black and white fan and your top is so cute. Fantastic job lining up those stripes and the neck binding just adds to the finishing details.
4/27/05 8:42 AM
cindyann said...
I love it. I've looked at that pattern several times and you have a great looking top here. Hope DD enjoys it.
4/27/05 7:58 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wonderful looking top, great job.
4/27/05 7:50 AM
Katie Pizzo said...
Cute top, love the use of black and white. I have narrow shoulders and have one dd with same and don't find Burda to be any narrower than other patterns. I wonder if the close fit is intended for a two way stretch and the shoulder is narrower because of this. I have noticed rtw with 2way stretch to have this feature. They give the shoulder measurement in the chart for all the sizes so you could compare.
4/27/05 7:46 AM
BjP said...
Patti, I also love black and white and think your top looks fantastic!
4/27/05 7:44 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very fashion-forward! Must remember the walking foot when matching stripes--yours couldn't be better. I just ordered a trial subscription to Burda WOF and also a subscription to Burda Petites--there are so many nice reviews from them. (The magazine is carried only in one store in Kansas City (Cy Rudnick's) and I'm told they sell out quickly as soon as they arrive.)
4/27/05 7:40 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful top. Why not get more fabric and do a perfected version for yourself?
4/27/05 7:29 AM
jlg said...
What a great job matching those stripes. I love this top.
4/27/05 5:30 AM
els said...
Impecable stripes sewn top, a petty the top is narrow for your shoulders.
4/27/05 4:11 AM
Ingiepops said...
I agree, such a great top! It's so hard to find the right stripey fabric when you need it too! (I love the little face on your dress-dummy; very cute.)
4/27/05 1:46 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Patti, it looks too good, congrats!!! and good luck with the second one.
4/27/05 0:20 AM
Annika said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous anyway!
4/27/05 0:07 AM
sewywabbit said...
Too bad about the shoulder fit, as this is a very cute top, which would be so perfect with white pants. I hope you have enough for a retry.
4/26/05 11:38 PM
touran said...
That is such a fun top. I didn't know the fabric was available. I think you did a fantastic job lining up all the lines.
4/26/05 11:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8259

photo
by: becca a

Review
Other Gertie\'s Portrait Blouse

photo
by: LDT2011

Review
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now