SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8919 (Misses' Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 550 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 98 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/13 2:17 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8919 by ArtAttack  Vogue Patterns: 8919 by ArtAttack  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
Love the combination of fabrics.
2/13/14 10:02 PM
slmstyle said...
Great looking dress! You are right, nobody will notice the un-mirrored lace print when you gallop by on your horse, you will just look chic and lovely!
9/3/13 4:49 PM
1SewSweet said...
I agree, no one will ever notice. This dress is to cute!
9/3/13 4:20 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You're on a roll! No one will EVER notice your neckline snafu. Wear this with pride !!
9/2/13 4:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Your version is really beautiful with your fabric choices! Nice fit and it looks great on you.
9/2/13 11:28 AM
Diane E said...
Absolutely beautiful -- special while wearable, at the same time. What a great fall piece.
9/2/13 11:15 AM
Dianne22 said...
I would never have noticed this pattern from the picture of the model, however, on you it really shows off your hourglass shape. Very nice, and I agree with others that the knit print placement looks intentional (but it's really nice to know that even excellent seamstresses can miss something!).
9/2/13 10:41 AM
LauraHarkawik said...
Nicely done! I'll have to reconsider that pattern after seeing your version - love it!
9/2/13 9:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I too fell in love with this pattern; have not made it yet. Glad to read your review and to learn that this was as easy to sew as it looked.
9/2/13 8:25 AM
lakaribane said...
This looks great, much better than the website photo would lead one to believe! And I promise to bob up and down if ever I meet you IRL, to mimic the horse gallop effect. I'm sure I won't see anything amiss, LOL!
9/2/13 8:00 AM
prttynpnk said...
Sharp!!!!
9/2/13 7:47 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I would have never thought that the knit pattern was not matching. I think most people won't think to notice or look because it is lace. Your dress is gorgeous btw! Watch out Houston this Fall!!
9/2/13 7:38 AM
margy.64 said...
Very flattering dress. I like your fabric combination.
9/2/13 3:52 AM
sfshaza said...
Very cute and *much* better than the version on the pattern envelope! I'm glad to see this made up!
9/1/13 8:47 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Super cute! I love the fabric!
9/1/13 8:34 PM
CissieW said...
This dress looks fantastic on you, Dorcas! Love your fabric choices! I'm off to buy this pattern now that I've seen yours. Let's just be glad we don't live closer to one another!
9/1/13 8:18 PM
Miss Tanya said...
Great job, looks very nice on you.
9/1/13 8:10 PM
Re Becca said...
Love it! how can you be sewing long sleeves already, its still freakin hot!
9/1/13 6:17 PM
grays08 said...
Very pretty fabric and dress! I think you did a great job with the lace.
9/1/13 6:12 PM
cleverkitty said...
for an extremely easy to put together dress this turned out sensational, the contrast really gave it the edge along with the design of this dress. I think your placement of the lace print looks intentional. I only looked at it closer because you mentioned it otherwise I did not notice. Real nice addition to your wardrobe :)
9/1/13 5:15 PM
SewWil said...
"it will never be noticed on a galloping horse" LOL!!! Your dress looks great. I did not notice this pattern. So glad you reviewed it. I'm out the door to purchase it now. BTW, are you adding an addition to your house for all of your beautiful new clothes? ;-)
9/1/13 4:26 PM
pdiddly said...
you are on a sewing roll - lovely dress - this pattern has passed me by - lovely
9/1/13 3:11 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
How great looking that is... I hadn't noticed the pattern yet. Almost looks like you're wearing a shrug over a dress.
9/1/13 3:02 PM
atymonw said...
You are racking up a great collection of fall clothes already! This looks really cute and wearable on you:)
9/1/13 2:46 PM
atymonw said...
You are racking up a great collection of fall clothes already! This looks really cute and wearable on you:)
9/1/13 2:46 PM
mnitts said...
Your version is much nicer than the envelope. I especially like the back! You can't tell on the pattern match, although I know what you mean...currently working with a patterned woven and very little fabric.
9/1/13 2:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Papercut Patterns 1002

photo
by: Blooms

Review
Other 0000

photo
by: ChrisS

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now