Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8919 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 527 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/13 2:17 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8919 by ArtAttack  Vogue Patterns: 8919 by ArtAttack  
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mnitts said...
Your version is much nicer than the envelope. I especially like the back! You can't tell on the pattern match, although I know what you mean...currently working with a patterned woven and very little fabric.
9/1/13 2:40 PM
atymonw said...
You are racking up a great collection of fall clothes already! This looks really cute and wearable on you:)
9/1/13 2:46 PM
atymonw said...
You are racking up a great collection of fall clothes already! This looks really cute and wearable on you:)
9/1/13 2:46 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
How great looking that is... I hadn't noticed the pattern yet. Almost looks like you're wearing a shrug over a dress.
9/1/13 3:02 PM
pdiddly said...
you are on a sewing roll - lovely dress - this pattern has passed me by - lovely
9/1/13 3:11 PM
SewWil said...
"it will never be noticed on a galloping horse" LOL!!! Your dress looks great. I did not notice this pattern. So glad you reviewed it. I'm out the door to purchase it now. BTW, are you adding an addition to your house for all of your beautiful new clothes? ;-)
9/1/13 4:26 PM
cleverkitty said...
for an extremely easy to put together dress this turned out sensational, the contrast really gave it the edge along with the design of this dress. I think your placement of the lace print looks intentional. I only looked at it closer because you mentioned it otherwise I did not notice. Real nice addition to your wardrobe :)
9/1/13 5:15 PM
grays08 said...
Very pretty fabric and dress! I think you did a great job with the lace.
9/1/13 6:12 PM
Re Becca said...
Love it! how can you be sewing long sleeves already, its still freakin hot!
9/1/13 6:17 PM
Miss Tanya said...
Great job, looks very nice on you.
9/1/13 8:10 PM
CissieW said...
This dress looks fantastic on you, Dorcas! Love your fabric choices! I'm off to buy this pattern now that I've seen yours. Let's just be glad we don't live closer to one another!
9/1/13 8:18 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Super cute! I love the fabric!
9/1/13 8:34 PM
sfshaza said...
Very cute and *much* better than the version on the pattern envelope! I'm glad to see this made up!
9/1/13 8:47 PM
margy.64 said...
Very flattering dress. I like your fabric combination.
9/2/13 3:52 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I would have never thought that the knit pattern was not matching. I think most people won't think to notice or look because it is lace. Your dress is gorgeous btw! Watch out Houston this Fall!!
9/2/13 7:38 AM
prttynpnk said...
Sharp!!!!
9/2/13 7:47 AM
lakaribane said...
This looks great, much better than the website photo would lead one to believe! And I promise to bob up and down if ever I meet you IRL, to mimic the horse gallop effect. I'm sure I won't see anything amiss, LOL!
9/2/13 8:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I too fell in love with this pattern; have not made it yet. Glad to read your review and to learn that this was as easy to sew as it looked.
9/2/13 8:25 AM
LauraHarkawik said...
Nicely done! I'll have to reconsider that pattern after seeing your version - love it!
9/2/13 9:21 AM
Dianne22 said...
I would never have noticed this pattern from the picture of the model, however, on you it really shows off your hourglass shape. Very nice, and I agree with others that the knit print placement looks intentional (but it's really nice to know that even excellent seamstresses can miss something!).
9/2/13 10:41 AM
Diane E said...
Absolutely beautiful -- special while wearable, at the same time. What a great fall piece.
9/2/13 11:15 AM
Barbara V said...
Your version is really beautiful with your fabric choices! Nice fit and it looks great on you.
9/2/13 11:28 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You're on a roll! No one will EVER notice your neckline snafu. Wear this with pride !!
9/2/13 4:29 PM
1SewSweet said...
I agree, no one will ever notice. This dress is to cute!
9/3/13 4:20 AM
slmstyle said...
Great looking dress! You are right, nobody will notice the un-mirrored lace print when you gallop by on your horse, you will just look chic and lovely!
9/3/13 4:49 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Love the combination of fabrics.
2/13/14 10:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us