Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
JStern Womens Jeans and JStern Misses Jeans">Blueprints to Blue Jeans Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2634 

10 more reviews
Viewed 619 times 
Reviewed by:Handshake
photo

 
 
About Handshakestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/19/13
Reviews: 21 (patterns: 17)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/13 12:24 PM
Last Updated:9/5/13 5:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
threaddy said... (9/6/13 11:19 PM) Reply
Very good looking! I have this patterna and just the perfect fabric. I really appreciate your input!
PammyC said... (9/5/13 12:07 PM) Reply
I made this shirt and really liked it, too. Your version is making me want to break that pattern out again for another go.
NJcowgirl said... (9/5/13 10:57 AM) Reply
beautifully done.
Handshake said... (9/5/13 5:27 AM) Reply
Many thanks for all the compliments! Freya, I've taken out the V as suggested. sewing canary, I was so keen to get the review up that I didn't iron the shirt again before the photo was taken. Katey, I'm glad someone else found the collar too large when they made it.
Katey said... (9/4/13 11:18 PM) Reply
I have also made this shirt and I usually trim the collar size down to 2.5". This blouse looks great though!
mm said... (9/4/13 7:31 PM) Reply
A crisp white shirt. I like it.
sewingcanary said... (9/4/13 6:16 PM) Reply
Nice shirt! Current styles seem to be for very short sleeves. I prefer them a bit longer too. You’ve mentioned a few changes you’d make next time. Might I suggest you lower the bust dart about an inch? Or you could do a not too large full bust adjustment. I think it would fit smoother if you did and eliminate the fold near the bottom of the armhole. Ideally, the dart should aim for the apex of your bust, ending an inch or so from it - more for larger sizes. The dart location is probably why the pattern’s pocket seemed so high too. Looks like you have a nice basic pattern to go with though. Cheers to your next!
FreyaStark said... (9/4/13 5:21 PM) Reply
A fine effort. (If you edited your review to drop the V before the pattern number, more reviews would be visible, which would be interesting and helpful for readers.)
nancy2001 said... (9/4/13 3:13 PM) Reply
Handshake, your blouse turned out beautifully!!
nancy2001 said... (9/4/13 3:13 PM) Reply
Handshake, your blouse turned out beautifully!!
carolynw said... (9/4/13 2:21 PM) Reply
Nice looking blouse - a good white blouse is always a great addition. This is my TNT pattern
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Pattern Details