SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Safari Sam Overshirt (Safari Sam Overshirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 214
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/13 2:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Safari Sam Overshirt by clothingengineer  StyleArc: Safari Sam Overshirt by clothingengineer  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Lovely shirt!
9/6/13 8:30 AM
cleverkitty said...
Wonderful shirt and details ;)
9/5/13 9:10 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
This is one of my favorite Style Arc patterns - having been in a "sort of military" occupation (policing) I'm very used to epaulettes and love them in shirts. Your version is great and looks so nice on you. Really glad you wrote this review. Thanks.
9/5/13 1:20 AM
mm said...
What a great shirt. I don't think the line drawing does it justice but your rendition certainly does.
9/4/13 7:27 PM
sewingcanary said...
Nice Shirt! I am a shirt lover, partly because the yoke and bodice tucks give extra room across the back. If you made it again, instead of putting in a back seam, you could eliminate the tuck and put in two vertical darts if you want more shaping. It would probably be more comfortable than having the back centre seam, and easier to iron if your fabric requires it. BTW, when correctly placed, the little button in the centre of the sleeve placket is there to hold the sleeve up when rolled. I learned that from men's wear. I never quite understood it until I had a shirt with properly located tiny buttons. Cheers to your next.
9/4/13 5:53 PM
persevering said...
Hi, it is incredible for me to see your beautiful shirt. Here I am berating myself since I haven't sewed in a long long time ... scared because I don't have experience fitting.. in the past, having made up patterns, exactly following the pattern... doing no fitting. Now some decades later, my old shirt still fits (more ease then, I guess) and if I stitch it, I'll certainly gain more confidence - you see my decades old shirt is very much like this pattern, epaulettes, same pockets, only difference is the collar is a little lower in the front and the shoulders are dropped more ... otherwise the same back, yoke, back pleat and all! Thank you for posting your sewing ... I love everything I see of yours!
9/4/13 5:27 PM
Dee2 said...
What a great classic shirt--love the way it looks w/the slim pants. The color is so pretty too!
9/4/13 3:14 PM
Re Becca said...
Love it! The cut is very slimming and it looks so comfy. I'll make a note about the long sleeves.
9/4/13 3:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 1757

photo
by: LucyMJ

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 187297-1016

photo
by: Aroura

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now