SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Safari Sam Overshirt (Safari Sam Overshirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 347 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
Friend of PR

About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 224 (patterns: 214)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 158 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/13 2:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
StyleArc: Safari Sam Overshirt by clothingengineer StyleArc: Safari Sam Overshirt by clothingengineer 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Levone said... (9/6/13 8:30 AM) Reply
Lovely shirt!
cleverkitty said... (9/5/13 9:10 AM) Reply
Wonderful shirt and details ;)
2 Airedales n Me said... (9/5/13 1:20 AM) Reply
This is one of my favorite Style Arc patterns - having been in a "sort of military" occupation (policing) I'm very used to epaulettes and love them in shirts. Your version is great and looks so nice on you. Really glad you wrote this review. Thanks.
mm said... (9/4/13 7:27 PM) Reply
What a great shirt. I don't think the line drawing does it justice but your rendition certainly does.
sewingcanary said... (9/4/13 5:53 PM) Reply
Nice Shirt! I am a shirt lover, partly because the yoke and bodice tucks give extra room across the back. If you made it again, instead of putting in a back seam, you could eliminate the tuck and put in two vertical darts if you want more shaping. It would probably be more comfortable than having the back centre seam, and easier to iron if your fabric requires it. BTW, when correctly placed, the little button in the centre of the sleeve placket is there to hold the sleeve up when rolled. I learned that from men's wear. I never quite understood it until I had a shirt with properly located tiny buttons. Cheers to your next.
persevering said... (9/4/13 5:27 PM) Reply
Hi, it is incredible for me to see your beautiful shirt. Here I am berating myself since I haven't sewed in a long long time ... scared because I don't have experience fitting.. in the past, having made up patterns, exactly following the pattern... doing no fitting. Now some decades later, my old shirt still fits (more ease then, I guess) and if I stitch it, I'll certainly gain more confidence - you see my decades old shirt is very much like this pattern, epaulettes, same pockets, only difference is the collar is a little lower in the front and the shoulders are dropped more ... otherwise the same back, yoke, back pleat and all! Thank you for posting your sewing ... I love everything I see of yours!
Dee2 said... (9/4/13 3:14 PM) Reply
What a great classic shirt--love the way it looks w/the slim pants. The color is so pretty too!
Re Becca said... (9/4/13 3:05 PM) Reply
Love it! The cut is very slimming and it looks so comfy. I'll make a note about the long sleeves.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details