SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Safari Sam Overshirt (Safari Sam Overshirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 195
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/13 2:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Safari Sam Overshirt by clothingengineer  StyleArc: Safari Sam Overshirt by clothingengineer  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Love it! The cut is very slimming and it looks so comfy. I'll make a note about the long sleeves.
9/4/13 3:05 PM
Dee2 said...
What a great classic shirt--love the way it looks w/the slim pants. The color is so pretty too!
9/4/13 3:14 PM
persevering said...
Hi, it is incredible for me to see your beautiful shirt. Here I am berating myself since I haven't sewed in a long long time ... scared because I don't have experience fitting.. in the past, having made up patterns, exactly following the pattern... doing no fitting. Now some decades later, my old shirt still fits (more ease then, I guess) and if I stitch it, I'll certainly gain more confidence - you see my decades old shirt is very much like this pattern, epaulettes, same pockets, only difference is the collar is a little lower in the front and the shoulders are dropped more ... otherwise the same back, yoke, back pleat and all! Thank you for posting your sewing ... I love everything I see of yours!
9/4/13 5:27 PM
sewingcanary said...
Nice Shirt! I am a shirt lover, partly because the yoke and bodice tucks give extra room across the back. If you made it again, instead of putting in a back seam, you could eliminate the tuck and put in two vertical darts if you want more shaping. It would probably be more comfortable than having the back centre seam, and easier to iron if your fabric requires it. BTW, when correctly placed, the little button in the centre of the sleeve placket is there to hold the sleeve up when rolled. I learned that from men's wear. I never quite understood it until I had a shirt with properly located tiny buttons. Cheers to your next.
9/4/13 5:53 PM
mm said...
What a great shirt. I don't think the line drawing does it justice but your rendition certainly does.
9/4/13 7:27 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
This is one of my favorite Style Arc patterns - having been in a "sort of military" occupation (policing) I'm very used to epaulettes and love them in shirts. Your version is great and looks so nice on you. Really glad you wrote this review. Thanks.
9/5/13 1:20 AM
cleverkitty said...
Wonderful shirt and details ;)
9/5/13 9:10 AM
Levone said...
Lovely shirt!
9/6/13 8:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now