SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1606 (Misses and Petite Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1036 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/13 11:41 PM
Last Updated:9/10/13 2:57 PM


Simplicity: 1606 by Terri A  Simplicity: 1606 by Terri A  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Love the dress - nice job. The next four should be a snap!
9/5/13 0:20 AM
SewLibra said...
Looks great and very precise sewing! I have yet to use boning in anything...sounds like a pain with the comparison to string cheese - LOL. Are these bridesmaids dresses or for a wedding party somewhere else? I'm confused.
9/5/13 0:51 AM
Terri A said...
Aww thanks. Yup, farm/country style bridal party and all different sizes and shapes of girls. It's this weekend, so finally getting them to let me mark the hems. It's a challenge coordinating with so many.
9/5/13 1:22 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful dress, sewing and fabric excellent review :)
9/5/13 8:59 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
These are all lovely and I can see how the style would be flattering to all figures. The prints are just gorgeous!
9/5/13 9:19 AM
NEMDF said...
It looks gorgeous, and I am anxious to see the wedding photos. You workmanship is excellent. I have never used boning before either (See SewLibra's comment). I might be tempted to go to the hardware store and see about getting some nylon/plastic cording of some type at a better price. NICE WORK!
9/5/13 12:16 PM
stonecutter17 said...
This is such a sweet little dress. It's bringing out the girl in me!
9/5/13 1:39 PM
persevering said...
Wow, amazing is right - congratulations!
9/6/13 8:13 AM
sewnotwork said...
Great dress! I'm looking forward to using this pattern
9/6/13 12:31 PM
slmstyle said...
What a wonderful job you did on these dresses! Thank you for writing a great review of this pattern.
9/9/13 5:55 PM
beanchor said...
These are lovely. What an undertaking!
9/9/13 7:02 PM
lakaribane said...
Love the group shot! That is a really cute idea to have a color theme but different prints.
9/9/13 7:13 PM
Terri A said...
Thx so much all - I'm sorta tired out now - ha!
9/9/13 7:49 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow...what an accomplishment! They're simply gorgeous!
9/9/13 10:39 PM
Lori V said...
These are gorgeous dresses, I like the mix of prints
9/10/13 6:49 AM
carolynw said...
These are all beautiful dresses - quite the undertaking but you sure came through with flying colours. I think you also made the wedding dress? Was this your wedding?
9/10/13 11:26 AM
AnneM said...
Great dresses, and great tips that you shared. Congratulations!
9/10/13 12:26 PM
SavageCoco said...
THANK YOU for all the superb tips! I love that the dresses are all different prints. No taffeta allowed-yay!
9/10/13 12:33 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks! Carolynw, It was the wedding of my daughter's good friend. She had already purchased her dress when she approached me about sewing the bridesmaids dresses. It would have been lovely to sew her dress but alas...
9/10/13 2:38 PM
NancyZL said...
Love this ! Such pretty prints , what a fantastic job you did!! I hope you had a glass of wine when you were done!!
9/10/13 3:48 PM
TaraDebbie said...
Nice job! You've made me curious about trying out boning too!
9/10/13 10:22 PM
KathleenS said...
Great work. The dresses look like they all fit so well. Hopefully some of the bridesmaids will gradually realise (especially if they wear the dresses again) that the dress doesn't have whatever problem RTW dresses consistently have for them (e.g. too tight in certain area, curves in at wrong place) and begin to appreciate the benefits of custom-made. Thanks for the review too.
9/15/13 5:47 AM
dove29 said...
They all look great! Love the fabrics, what a ray of sunshine.
9/15/13 4:24 PM
tvrcat said...
Great review with some useful tips. thank you
6/18/14 4:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Jalie 2908

photo
by: cindysewsa...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: jlg

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now