Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1606 (Misses and Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 953 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/13 11:41 PM
Last Updated:9/10/13 2:57 PM


Simplicity: 1606 by Terri A  Simplicity: 1606 by Terri A  
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Love the dress - nice job. The next four should be a snap!
9/5/13 0:20 AM
SewLibra said...
Looks great and very precise sewing! I have yet to use boning in anything...sounds like a pain with the comparison to string cheese - LOL. Are these bridesmaids dresses or for a wedding party somewhere else? I'm confused.
9/5/13 0:51 AM
Terri A said...
Aww thanks. Yup, farm/country style bridal party and all different sizes and shapes of girls. It's this weekend, so finally getting them to let me mark the hems. It's a challenge coordinating with so many.
9/5/13 1:22 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful dress, sewing and fabric excellent review :)
9/5/13 8:59 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
These are all lovely and I can see how the style would be flattering to all figures. The prints are just gorgeous!
9/5/13 9:19 AM
NEMDF said...
It looks gorgeous, and I am anxious to see the wedding photos. You workmanship is excellent. I have never used boning before either (See SewLibra's comment). I might be tempted to go to the hardware store and see about getting some nylon/plastic cording of some type at a better price. NICE WORK!
9/5/13 12:16 PM
stonecutter17 said...
This is such a sweet little dress. It's bringing out the girl in me!
9/5/13 1:39 PM
persevering said...
Wow, amazing is right - congratulations!
9/6/13 8:13 AM
sewnotwork said...
Great dress! I'm looking forward to using this pattern
9/6/13 12:31 PM
slmstyle said...
What a wonderful job you did on these dresses! Thank you for writing a great review of this pattern.
9/9/13 5:55 PM
beanchor said...
These are lovely. What an undertaking!
9/9/13 7:02 PM
lakaribane said...
Love the group shot! That is a really cute idea to have a color theme but different prints.
9/9/13 7:13 PM
Terri A said...
Thx so much all - I'm sorta tired out now - ha!
9/9/13 7:49 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow...what an accomplishment! They're simply gorgeous!
9/9/13 10:39 PM
Lori V said...
These are gorgeous dresses, I like the mix of prints
9/10/13 6:49 AM
carolynw said...
These are all beautiful dresses - quite the undertaking but you sure came through with flying colours. I think you also made the wedding dress? Was this your wedding?
9/10/13 11:26 AM
AnneM said...
Great dresses, and great tips that you shared. Congratulations!
9/10/13 12:26 PM
SavageCoco said...
THANK YOU for all the superb tips! I love that the dresses are all different prints. No taffeta allowed-yay!
9/10/13 12:33 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks! Carolynw, It was the wedding of my daughter's good friend. She had already purchased her dress when she approached me about sewing the bridesmaids dresses. It would have been lovely to sew her dress but alas...
9/10/13 2:38 PM
NancyZL said...
Love this ! Such pretty prints , what a fantastic job you did!! I hope you had a glass of wine when you were done!!
9/10/13 3:48 PM
TaraDebbie said...
Nice job! You've made me curious about trying out boning too!
9/10/13 10:22 PM
KathleenS said...
Great work. The dresses look like they all fit so well. Hopefully some of the bridesmaids will gradually realise (especially if they wear the dresses again) that the dress doesn't have whatever problem RTW dresses consistently have for them (e.g. too tight in certain area, curves in at wrong place) and begin to appreciate the benefits of custom-made. Thanks for the review too.
9/15/13 5:47 AM
dove29 said...
They all look great! Love the fabrics, what a ray of sunshine.
9/15/13 4:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by Karen2931 on 8/27/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size B
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size B

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4969
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/23/10
Read Review

Butterick 5881 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5881 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8915 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8915 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us