SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4518 (Tops)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1240 times 
Reviewed by:Clev
photo

 
 
About Clev
USA
Member since: 3/26/05
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/05 12:49 PM
Last Updated:4/29/05 1:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Clev said...
The above mentioned pattern request is for Burda 8357, by the way. I was hoping for a review of it--but I bet I'll be the first one to make it since I have the pattern & the BEST fabric (looks just like the picture).
4/29/05 1:31 PM
Jill Giard said...
Do you choose your patterns based on a high bust measurement? You may want to try that and then make a full bust adjustment. Just a suggestion
4/29/05 2:28 PM
MaryBeth said...
Gorgeous. Tank looks good too.
4/29/05 3:08 PM
PegL said...
Pretty top in a pretty setting! Informative review!
4/29/05 3:21 PM
Peggy L said...
Very pretty!
4/29/05 4:53 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Clev, what a great idea!! Your camisole/tank top turned out wonderfully. It is very pretty. Where did you find the Swimsuit lining fabric?
4/29/05 8:27 PM
Clev said...
Jennifer Shaw, I used my 40% off coupon at Joann's last weekend. They had 3-4 colours @ 9.99/yd but of course I paid less. I thought the fab would dry well in the hot/humid months.
4/29/05 11:56 PM
Irene Q said...
Clev, this pattern looks like it's for wovens - could that be why it turned out so large? In any case, you ended up with a cute cami!
5/1/05 12:42 PM
Chell said...
I'm trying to make view A/B and I can't seem to figure out the facings. Are the instructions correct? The facings are 2" wide. If I sew the facing as instructed (folded) with a 5/8" seam, that leaves a 1/4" edge. So in order to turn it to the inside and then stitch down - I'd have to trim the seam down to about 1/8". Otherwise it will be longer than the facing. Shouldn't it have said to sew the facing unfolded, trim seam to 1/4", press facing to inside, folding the facing under (around) the seam and then sew down? (Hope I explained it correctly.)
6/30/05 7:15 PM
Clev said...
Chell, yes you explained the situation correctly. I'm reading the instructions for A/B now and to me they read correctly. Your main question seems to be about sewing the facing unfolded. I've never done that. I always use a folded facing, in fact I add them a lot to patterns that don't call for them. It seems to make a nice finish. I think the key is to play with the size with some folding to see the finished width before you sew. The other key here seems to be in the trimming which they instruct on both the neck & arm facing. If it looks weird to you at this point you could cut off the facings and simply fold over the edges and top stitch a hem on both. Having said all that I didn't sew A/B from this pattern yet. I usually make tanks without a pattern. I'm still really happy with view C and get a lot of wear out of it. Hope it turns out cute for you.
7/4/05 9:27 AM
Chell said...
Well, I tried it and it did work out just fine. And I think it's easier than the other way I was trying to describe. I guess I was worried about trimming the seam so small. But since the seam is inclosed in the facing, it shouldn't matter. Anyway, the blouse looks so good, I'm making another one. Oh - and if you can make a tank without a pattern.. WOW, you must be really good! Kudos to you!
7/4/05 6:08 PM
Clev said...
That's really good that it turned out so well for you. Hope the next is every bit as good!!
7/4/05 10:53 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks again for the review, I am glad to hear that it runs "big" because this is the top view "E" I need to make, and was unsure of the sizing.
8/2/05 8:04 PM
Bonny Dune said...
I just made this top and it is HUGE. According to my measurements I should have to add 6" at hips and waist. I did that, and had to take the added width back out. Measure this pattern before you begin, it really runs large. I made view B the tank top.
2/27/06 12:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-123A

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Butterick 5534

photo
by: Trinity.

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now