Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4518 (Tops) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1239 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Clev
photo
About Clev
USA
Member since: 3/26/05
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/05 12:49 PM
Last Updated:4/29/05 1:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Clev said...
The above mentioned pattern request is for Burda 8357, by the way. I was hoping for a review of it--but I bet I'll be the first one to make it since I have the pattern & the BEST fabric (looks just like the picture).
4/29/05 1:31 PM
Jill Giard said...
Do you choose your patterns based on a high bust measurement? You may want to try that and then make a full bust adjustment. Just a suggestion
4/29/05 2:28 PM
MaryBeth said...
Gorgeous. Tank looks good too.
4/29/05 3:08 PM
PegL said...
Pretty top in a pretty setting! Informative review!
4/29/05 3:21 PM
Peggy L said...
Very pretty!
4/29/05 4:53 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Clev, what a great idea!! Your camisole/tank top turned out wonderfully. It is very pretty. Where did you find the Swimsuit lining fabric?
4/29/05 8:27 PM
Clev said...
Jennifer Shaw, I used my 40% off coupon at Joann's last weekend. They had 3-4 colours @ 9.99/yd but of course I paid less. I thought the fab would dry well in the hot/humid months.
4/29/05 11:56 PM
Irene Q said...
Clev, this pattern looks like it's for wovens - could that be why it turned out so large? In any case, you ended up with a cute cami!
5/1/05 12:42 PM
Chell said...
I'm trying to make view A/B and I can't seem to figure out the facings. Are the instructions correct? The facings are 2" wide. If I sew the facing as instructed (folded) with a 5/8" seam, that leaves a 1/4" edge. So in order to turn it to the inside and then stitch down - I'd have to trim the seam down to about 1/8". Otherwise it will be longer than the facing. Shouldn't it have said to sew the facing unfolded, trim seam to 1/4", press facing to inside, folding the facing under (around) the seam and then sew down? (Hope I explained it correctly.)
6/30/05 7:15 PM
Clev said...
Chell, yes you explained the situation correctly. I'm reading the instructions for A/B now and to me they read correctly. Your main question seems to be about sewing the facing unfolded. I've never done that. I always use a folded facing, in fact I add them a lot to patterns that don't call for them. It seems to make a nice finish. I think the key is to play with the size with some folding to see the finished width before you sew. The other key here seems to be in the trimming which they instruct on both the neck & arm facing. If it looks weird to you at this point you could cut off the facings and simply fold over the edges and top stitch a hem on both. Having said all that I didn't sew A/B from this pattern yet. I usually make tanks without a pattern. I'm still really happy with view C and get a lot of wear out of it. Hope it turns out cute for you.
7/4/05 9:27 AM
Chell said...
Well, I tried it and it did work out just fine. And I think it's easier than the other way I was trying to describe. I guess I was worried about trimming the seam so small. But since the seam is inclosed in the facing, it shouldn't matter. Anyway, the blouse looks so good, I'm making another one. Oh - and if you can make a tank without a pattern.. WOW, you must be really good! Kudos to you!
7/4/05 6:08 PM
Clev said...
That's really good that it turned out so well for you. Hope the next is every bit as good!!
7/4/05 10:53 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks again for the review, I am glad to hear that it runs "big" because this is the top view "E" I need to make, and was unsure of the sizing.
8/2/05 8:04 PM
Bonny Dune said...
I just made this top and it is HUGE. According to my measurements I should have to add 6" at hips and waist. I did that, and had to take the added width back out. Measure this pattern before you begin, it really runs large. I made view B the tank top.
2/27/06 12:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 2551
photo
Review by Gail in We... on 8/27/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 7876
photo
Review by JustBeachy... on 4/12/11
Read Review

Simplicity 5359 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 5359 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4698 Pattern ( Size SML-MED )
McCalls 4698 Pattern ( Size SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us