Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1806 (Misses Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 330 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:BeckyW
photo
About BeckyWstar
AL USA
Member since: 5/23/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/13 11:12 PM
Last Updated:9/10/13 11:25 PM


Simplicity: 1806 by BeckyW  Simplicity: 1806 by BeckyW  
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pammieh said...
I love it on you -- I made this pattern as well -- but did have to make SUBSTANTIAL adjustments for fit. . . Great job!! Maybe you'll like it as it hangs about:)
9/10/13 11:20 PM
sunniek said...
I had the same experience, except the body fit great but the neckline in my size was too low and the collar a disaster. I think the collar should be cut on the bias. The collar just didn't look right. Still trying to save it somehow as I love the fabric. The center seams are not great.
9/11/13 0:08 AM
HRigg said...
The top looks nice and fresh and I think it looks fine but I hear what you say . Thanks for the helpful review
9/11/13 4:17 AM
Rebecca D said...
I think you're being a little tough on yourself here. You most certainly do not look pregnant on the back. I think you look good in it.
9/11/13 7:06 AM
Danmar said...
I made this top and sent it to the thrift store. That center seam just doesn't work. And it made me look huge. I am planning to try one of the other views soon.
9/11/13 7:12 AM
Lynn67 said...
I think it looks cute, but I hate center front seams too, and the back has a cape-ish effect - what happens when you run? Just kidding - somebody at Goodwill will love it!
9/11/13 8:25 AM
RobbieK said...
Life is too short to wear shirts you don't like. I don't think it's your best look.
9/11/13 8:34 AM
prttynpnk said...
You've really tamed this one- your collar came out alot better than mine did!!!
9/11/13 10:27 AM
pammieh said...
Also-- I made a peter pan collar on mine -- I do think the collar with the pattern is a disaster in the making unless you are making a ponte knit.
9/11/13 11:00 AM
SewWil said...
Your top looks very nice on you. I have this pattern and have been on the fence about making it. Thanks for the review.
9/11/13 11:09 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Yours is FABULOUS! And in voile too!? Mine was just awful :/ I love it, love it, love it on you!
9/11/13 12:15 PM
bebro said...
Your version looks like the envelope photo, and it looks fine on you, but your review (and others) is the last word--I will NOT be making this view, even though I too think the envelope photo is very cute.
9/11/13 12:37 PM
BeckyW said...
The peterpan collar would be cute and the other suggestion of cutting the collar on the bias is a good suggestion. The think that I hate the most about it is the way that the back pleat stands away from the body. I like the front after I added the lines of zigzag down the front to make the seams "make sense" to me, and I don't even mind the center front seam since it makes 3 nice lines down the front. I don't think that voile is the right fabric for it.
9/11/13 2:35 PM
Frozzy said...
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern, and its good to know fabric/pattern issues before cutting!! The collar seems to really droop down in the back, would softer fabric help that I wonder? Maybe rayon challis would be a good fabric choice for this pattern, so the collar would be softer, and the back pleat wouldn't stick out as much. Reading reviews like yours when it didn't turn out as good as you would have liked is even more helpful than reading reviews where the results were perfect. Thanks again!
9/11/13 2:47 PM
Pj3g said...
I love it on you too!
9/11/13 2:59 PM
sewingcanary said...
Some fabrics have a lot of sizing and take a few washes to soften. Give it time. If you donít like the pleat at the back you could press it closed, then stitch across it at waistline. It would bring it in yet the pleat would still be there. Try basting it first to see if it works for YOU. Perhaps it will be a favorite this time next year. Itís cute.
9/12/13 0:25 AM
TGWGWS said...
I agree with your assessment on this pattern. I think it would look better if the front was cut straight across. And maybe some kind of waist tie at the back or maybe a lace up detail at the back (waist to neck) or even a row of small buttons with loop closures (similar to a wedding dress) :)
9/12/13 2:13 AM
Wino said...
Same experience using a burnout voile....maybe in a fabric with more drape, like a rayon challis? Cute top but somehow fails in execution.
3/7/14 4:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8839 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by Graca on 4/1/13
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Named Clothing Alpi Chinos Alpi Chinos
photo
Review by thewall on 2/2/14
Read Review

McCalls 9424 Pattern ( Size 7-8 )
McCalls 9424 Pattern ( Size 7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3685 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3685 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us