Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4539 (misses knit tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1295 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/05 5:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Sue, I like your top on you. When I've seen these little cap sleeves, I've always avoided them, but I think that they look good on you. Before I read the review, I thought I'll have to try those sleeves. It's funny that you're not sure about them. Very helpful review.
4/30/05 6:19 PM
Patti B said...
Very cute top, Sue! I'll dig around for my S&S book ... I know it's in there somewhere. Thanks for the tip.
4/30/05 6:28 PM
bunz said...
Thanks, Doc, for a very thorough review. Top looks great on you, BTW.
4/30/05 6:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute top -- I rather like the sleeves on you. I have the Ann Person book you referenced so I looked up the technique. I can see why you need illustrations to do it. Your neckline turned out great -- do you think the lapped V would work on the Jalie tee?
4/30/05 6:44 PM
PVA said...
I think this top looks great on you! The small cap-sleeves look good on you, on me they would be comical! I do like the lapped v-neck finish -- I made it from S&S instructions back when S&S was really hot/new stuff! Thanks for the review. I'm sure you're going to get a lot of mileage out of this pattern!
4/30/05 6:57 PM
drsue said...
Irina: You could surely do the lapped band on the Jaile tee. It would probably be a bit less deep of a V, unless you took off some of the neckline seam allowance.
4/30/05 7:02 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Nice T-shirt. I think I have those instructions in a magazine somewhere. Now to find it.
4/30/05 7:09 PM
Teri said...
Sue, your top looks great. I also think the sleeves look terrific on you:)
4/30/05 7:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Sue, it looks great. The fit looks wonderful, and I know that's something you aren't always happy with. KEEP THIS PATTERN!
4/30/05 8:14 PM
Vonnevo said...
drsue, top looks super good and the sleeves look great on you..just the right balance. Thanks for your easy,detailed instructions on doing the lapped V neck..I always struggle a little with that.
4/30/05 8:17 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top is such a great color and style for you, Sue! Thanks for the informative review and the added information on the neckline. Great, now that I have not gone to a fabric store for awhile, I want to get this pattern too!
4/30/05 8:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Top fits nicely and the small sleeves look trendy on you. This pattern is interesting, but I am warned about the instructions!
4/30/05 9:49 PM
Jan B. said...
Great fit and color on you.
4/30/05 10:53 PM
ChrisK said...
drsue, I took a look at the photo before I opened the review and my very first thoughts were 'what nice cap sleeves.'
5/1/05 2:17 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Nice summer top! Thanks for the lapped neckline instructions. Yours are quite clear w/o illustrations :)
5/1/05 3:29 AM
AnneM said...
Your top came out nicely.
5/1/05 8:47 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Very nice! Your neckline looks great. Thanks for the reminder to refer back to my old but trusty "Stretch and Sew Guide to Knits" book by Ann Person. That is an excellent book.
5/1/05 8:50 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
I really like your Tee!
5/1/05 8:52 AM
Tini said...
thanks for the review. I love the shirt on you :) great colour
5/1/05 11:37 AM
debbie.w said...
cute!
5/1/05 12:51 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
The cap sleeves work well on your petite figure. Cute tee!
5/1/05 1:00 PM
KarenP said...
That t-shirt looks fantastic on you! The color and the shape of the v are very flattering.
5/1/05 6:04 PM
Hilary said...
I just now saw this review- I think this looks great on you! I love the neckline, you're right- it's very flattering. thanks for the tip on attaching it!
5/6/05 3:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 2429 A-line Dress
photo
Review by ladybegood on 1/21/08
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by SueV on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us