SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8932 (Misses' Jacket and Vest)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1194 times 
Reviewed by:beanchor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About beanchor
TX USA
Member since: 10/7/10
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/13 4:35 PM
Last Updated:9/26/13 12:05 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8932 by beanchor  Vogue Patterns: 8932 by beanchor  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca D said...
Can't wait to see the finished jacket. This looks gorgeous.
9/19/13 7:19 AM
meggipeg said...
Wow, it's going to be gorgeous. The fabric almost looks like denim in these pictures. Lovely colour!
9/19/13 7:50 AM
sewingcanary said...
SLEEVE SUGGESTION: Before you go swapping out sleeve patterns, you said youíre working with a cotton jersey. Get your pattern out. Lay out each of the sleeves youíve cut, smooth them well - but donít stretch. Lay the pattern over and see if thereís any difference. Itís super easy to cut pieces a bit too big when the fabric is a double layer of knit - or to find one is a bigger than the other. The line drawing shows a clean finish shoulder and seam. Also, itís a bit harder to do with the bodice mostly complete, but also check the cutting of the other pieces and whether or not your seam allowances are true. Itís surprising how a millimeter here and one there can add up. Even the thickness of the cutting line can make a difference, especially on fitted tailored items. If the pattern was designed for woven fabric, you have the stretch - or ďgiveĒ - factored into it. Consider your cleaning method. If you intend to wash it, and you take out all that ďgatherĒ, when itís washed you will end up with a reverse pucker. If you swap out a sleeve that fits now, it might not fit after washing or cleaning. I did hand sewing during a period where I didnít have a machine. I was mainly using wovens, but overall, the pieces get handled much more than when using a machine. Knits get stretched out of shape. Steaming might help get things back to proper shape. Unless the pattern is truly made wrong, you should be able to work out the bugs. Wishing you the best - bug free!
9/19/13 11:31 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, its turning out beautifully. Can't wait to see your finished jacket.
9/19/13 12:06 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Thank you so much for working on this pattern, and posting your review. I loved this jacket pattern when I saw it, but was undecided as to purchasing it. I love how the body looks, good luck on finishing the sleeves. I look forward to your next post. :)
9/19/13 12:10 PM
o3b said...
Your hand stitching totally makes the garment.
9/19/13 4:32 PM
beanchor said...
Thanks everyone! I really want this to come together! sewingcanary, thanks for the tip about the sleeve. I have stepped away from it and will take your advice when I come back to it. I need fresh eyes.
9/19/13 6:22 PM
Lynn67 said...
Gorgeous! I'm Chanin obsessed, too, and love your take on this jacket!!!
9/22/13 12:49 PM
VogueMistress said...
Stunning and truly unique!
9/25/13 7:51 PM
Erin Sooit said...
The jacket is fantastic! And to think you've made it with all hand stitches is amazing! Beautiful work and thank you for the review. :D
9/26/13 5:46 PM
slmstyle said...
Looks great so far! Can't wait to see your finished jacket. I too love the seam lines on this jacket-very unique and flattering!
9/26/13 6:19 PM
beanchor said...
Thanks everyone! It is all done!
9/28/13 2:37 PM
21wale said...
Wow, this is so gorgeous!
9/30/13 10:16 PM
jennxlynch said...
This is so gorgeous! Amazing, amazing work!
10/7/13 12:25 PM
Dale C said...
Oh my... I'm going to have to check out this AC style... This is the first time I've heard of it, but your garments are so beautiful!
10/7/13 9:24 PM
Lenarciak said...
Increadible jacket! A lot of work - typical you :-) I cannot understand why do you have this gaver in the sleeves ... but I will have to check it when sewing my own version.
1/31/14 4:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 6596

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now