SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2198 (OOP Vintage Vogue Suit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2041 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/05 1:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
What a beautiful jacket!
5/1/05 1:36 PM
Lorrie McGraw said...
I clicked on the picture and thought I got the pattern photo!!! Clicked back and looked again. I was dumbfounded. This is sooo gorgeous. I called my 12 year old who is just learning to sew and showed her and she thought it was AMAZING!!! Beautiful, beautiful job. I must get this.
5/1/05 1:45 PM
Snowblossom said...
Wow, its gorgeous! I, too, thought that your picture was the pattern picture for a moment. Absolutely wonderful.
5/1/05 2:03 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I love these kinds of styles, and you did a top-rate job making this look professional and classic. Treating it as if it were tailored was a wise decision- the efforts really show in yor beautiful finished jacket.
5/1/05 2:10 PM
Marrs said...
What a fab Jacket ... stunning!
5/1/05 2:43 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Gorgeous jacket! Very unique and flattering.
5/1/05 2:53 PM
Tiner W said...
I love it!
5/1/05 2:56 PM
meli88a said...
what a great design - such a shame it's OOP again. very nice job, it's a beautiful jacket!
5/1/05 3:33 PM
jlg said...
Great jacket. This is a neat pattern.
5/1/05 3:52 PM
Olivia Sews said...
It is beautiful!! Very well made. I need to take a look at those retro patterns!
5/1/05 4:18 PM
Lisette said...
Very original.
5/1/05 4:25 PM
CarolynGM said...
Darn -- I wish that pattern were still available. The shoulder treatment would make my tiny shoulders look bigger! Your suit and photography are just superb.
5/1/05 4:46 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous jacket! Very helpful review too.
5/1/05 5:20 PM
lmg said...
Wow! What an superb job you did on this lovely style. Thank you for the review...this may get me to try a vintage pattern.
5/1/05 8:19 PM
LoriB said...
Stunning jacket!
5/1/05 8:52 PM
Kathryn said...
Elegant, and tres chic!
5/1/05 11:44 PM
Liana said...
This is just beautiful! Another great garment from you, and as always, a very helpful, well-written review. I wish this was still available too.
5/2/05 2:00 AM
KathleenS said...
Anyone who wants this I expect it comes up on Ebay from time to time. Kay, I'm very excited to see this review as I've always wanted to see it made up and to see what someone else thinks of it too. You've done a great job (as usual). I've got as far as making a mock-up of it (waiting for the right fabric). I agree with a lot of your helpful comments. Especially that the hard bit of this that requires extra care is marking and sewing the front notched panels to make sure that they're symmetrical. I think it's definitely not for beginners just because of this. I found the instructions clear and helpful, except that there are two pieces called "Front Facing". Also I would mention that this is quite a short top/cropped jacket - only 49 cm (?) long.
5/2/05 6:38 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket & suit.
5/2/05 7:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Ditto all previous comments. I absolutely have to either find this pattern or do a knock off. Perfect style for me. Gosh Kay, thanks so much for the excellent review and esp for the great photo!!!
5/2/05 9:06 AM
Modiste Madness said...
What a lovely jacket. I wish they would bring that one back tot he pattern books.
5/2/05 9:28 AM
flowermama said...
Wow, beautiful and so unique. Flawless job and such a helpful review.
5/2/05 9:59 AM
moushka said...
Kay, this is a seriously beautiful jacket! I could kick myself for not buying the pattern when if first came out. If i can find a copy in a size 14 or 16, I'll make it to wear to the rehearsal dinner for my daughter's wedding next year. It looks stunning on you. Thanks for sharing.
5/2/05 1:15 PM
valerie sews said...
What a beautiful detailed jacket. I admire your work.
5/3/05 1:40 AM
PattiA said...
Elegant and sophisitcated--thank you for an excellent review. Like a few others, I did a double-take with the photo; I would have sworn that this was a cover photo from the pattern company.
5/5/05 8:44 PM
Patzee said...
Wow!
7/21/05 6:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Marfy 2733

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
McCall's 8990

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review