Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Barb's Stretch Pant 

22 more reviews
Viewed 944 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 222 (patterns: 212)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 139 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:9/17/13 8:28 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Barb's Stretch Pant by clothingengineer  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gloria M said... (4/20/14 3:01 PM) Reply
Sewingcanary, thank you for your very helpful comment. You have described my exact fitting problem and the alterations I need to make. If I could figure out how to do it, I would love to read other comments you have made, but I can't find a way to search the website by pen names. I have the Barb pants pattern and will try your suggestions. Clothingengineer, these look pretty good to me. Thank you for your review.
Dee2 said... (9/18/13 3:14 PM) Reply
These look great! Nice fit, love the leg. I too had fitting issues with the back for this pattern & will modify the back crotch curve to see if that helps. Yours look great--thanks for this review.
sewingcanary said... (9/18/13 1:31 PM) Reply
pant fit tip - without a pic, itís hard to say what your issues are about the back. Sometimes problems are harder to diagnose because stretch is soÖ forgiving - and confusing. Extending the end of the crotch seam essentially creates more depth and would add more room to and under the bum. It gives more sitting room, but when you donít need the derriere room, and just need length so the waist doesnít scoop down in back, extending the rear seam at the top is the way to get that room. Eg. I have a fairly flat bum, hardly any hips. When I was drafting my first pants patterns, the back always dipped down at the waist. I added to the depth of the curve and got baggy bum pants. Next, I tried adding a wedge - 1Ē at the rear seam just above the curve, tapering to nothing at the side seam. It tilted the back seam a lot and looked strange but it was a bingo. The front crotch was kind of the opposite so I reduced the added depth and took out a small wedge in front. It was far better but tilted the centre seam at an angle off grain. I eventually straightened it out by slanting the side seam inward instead. The end result with woven fabric was good. The waist dips down in front, and goes up in back. I had plenty of sitting and moving room without having a totally baggy rear because the end of the curve is shorter. If I buy RTW pull on pants, I take the whole waist apart. The only place that remains the same height is at the side seams. I make the back as high as the fabric allows and sometimes lower the front crotch seam as much as 3 or more inches. Hope this gives you some ideas for next time. Cheers.
Lynmarie said... (9/18/13 7:57 AM) Reply
Great pants and review !
rivergum said... (9/17/13 4:36 PM) Reply
Great looking pants, and congratulations on finding the stretch bengaline. This will wear like iron, never bag and wrinkles drop out. Pure magic.
mrsbewley said... (9/17/13 1:47 PM) Reply
These look great on you! Putting them on my SA wish list...
Re Becca said... (9/17/13 9:34 AM) Reply
the fit looks perfectly office worthy, love them.
jilly cooper said... (9/17/13 9:33 AM) Reply
Your pants look like a great fit, love the colour too!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Pattern Details
Patterns for Pirates Carefree Cardigan

photo
by: stitchingi...

Review