Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Barb\'s Stretch Pant - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 432 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 185
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/13 8:28 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Barb\'s Stretch Pant by clothingengineer  
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
Your pants look like a great fit, love the colour too!
9/17/13 9:33 AM
Re Becca said...
the fit looks perfectly office worthy, love them.
9/17/13 9:34 AM
mrsbewley said...
These look great on you! Putting them on my SA wish list...
9/17/13 1:47 PM
rivergum said...
Great looking pants, and congratulations on finding the stretch bengaline. This will wear like iron, never bag and wrinkles drop out. Pure magic.
9/17/13 4:36 PM
Lynmarie said...
Great pants and review !
9/18/13 7:57 AM
sewingcanary said...
pant fit tip - without a pic, itís hard to say what your issues are about the back. Sometimes problems are harder to diagnose because stretch is soÖ forgiving - and confusing. Extending the end of the crotch seam essentially creates more depth and would add more room to and under the bum. It gives more sitting room, but when you donít need the derriere room, and just need length so the waist doesnít scoop down in back, extending the rear seam at the top is the way to get that room. Eg. I have a fairly flat bum, hardly any hips. When I was drafting my first pants patterns, the back always dipped down at the waist. I added to the depth of the curve and got baggy bum pants. Next, I tried adding a wedge - 1Ē at the rear seam just above the curve, tapering to nothing at the side seam. It tilted the back seam a lot and looked strange but it was a bingo. The front crotch was kind of the opposite so I reduced the added depth and took out a small wedge in front. It was far better but tilted the centre seam at an angle off grain. I eventually straightened it out by slanting the side seam inward instead. The end result with woven fabric was good. The waist dips down in front, and goes up in back. I had plenty of sitting and moving room without having a totally baggy rear because the end of the curve is shorter. If I buy RTW pull on pants, I take the whole waist apart. The only place that remains the same height is at the side seams. I make the back as high as the fabric allows and sometimes lower the front crotch seam as much as 3 or more inches. Hope this gives you some ideas for next time. Cheers.
9/18/13 1:31 PM
Dee2 said...
These look great! Nice fit, love the leg. I too had fitting issues with the back for this pattern & will modify the back crotch curve to see if that helps. Yours look great--thanks for this review.
9/18/13 3:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1001 Designer Slip
photo
Review by pegsewer on 2/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4047
photo
Review by Anabolina on 7/1/08
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us