SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Center for Pattern Design> Pyramid dress (Pyramid Dress)

Viewed 225 times 
Reviewed by:VintageTempest
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About VintageTempest
Member since: 2/21/07
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/13 1:54 AM


Center for Pattern Design: Pyramid dress by VintageTempest  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renata said...
I have had this pattern for a while and am pleased to read your review, and it is very helpful. One of these days I will try it out in a muslin. I love the artsy look too. There are just so many other patterns!!
9/18/13 2:41 AM
Elona said...
What an interesting and challenging pattern! It has been reviewed once before here on pr, but oddly, these reviews are not linked. Here's the other one: http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/67765
9/18/13 2:48 AM
sewingcanary said...
Very cool. Yes, I know it needs some weight to hold it down, however, Elona was nice enough to include the page of another review. Seeing the results of hers and the way your muslin hangs on your form, if you were to do a FBA it would hang smoother and flatter over your tummy. Whatever method you decide on, if you get more bust room, even with a larger dart, and/or a wedge added across your bust etc., there will be a far better chance of it not looking maternity. I think it will be worth the time and trouble. This way, it looks like it will ride up in front which will shoot the skirt forward. Think on it before you cut the next. Will be watching for the black one ;)
9/18/13 3:53 AM
lamstu said...
I like all the CPD patterns, but none of them jumps off the page as being flattering on a real body. I will be very happy to see how it looks on you!
9/18/13 8:02 AM
marec said...
What an interesting dress, and your muslin holds promise. I hope you get a chance to make this up and share your results. Good work so far!!
9/18/13 9:21 AM
VintageTempest said...
Yes, this is one of those patterns that I am going to have to monkey with. Most likely a FBA but a wedge sounds interesting. I get so sick of FBA. I think too, a heavier fabric will help with the poof. This is cotton gauze and is too light weight. This dress has lots of promise. I just need to set aside time to work with the pattern.
9/19/13 1:06 AM
sewingcanary said...
Hi - Back again… been thinking since my post and studying the other finished dress. The maternity look has always been an issue with me. I was wondering if/how the centre seam could be lowered - so the pleaty area opens more at hip level - the way it would on a skirt with a front yoke. I’m not sure the layout pic I found was the right one. Couldn’t get my head around it. ………………… About the bust wedge idea. I remember it from days past but was reminded from reviewing and reading library material. The best fitting book is “The Complete Photo Guide to Perfect Fitting”. Where it differs from most is, the woman draws or sews both horizontal and vertical lines on her muslins/slopers. What a difference it makes to the final result when fabric is added or subtracted out the proper areas; keeping the horizontal and vertical lines even. As example, instead of shortening the back hem of the of a blouse that hangs long in back, she takes a wedge out of the area above the waist where the problem originated on that particular woman. On a blouse that is short in front, she adds a wedge at the point the shift occurs. If the horizontal waist line is high in the middle, she adds a wedge above the waist, bringing the horizontal line level. If the waist line is level but blouse is short, it’s the tummy that’s hiking it up so she adds a wedge below the waist. You could even have a combination of both - where finished length is correct but blouse hangs weird. Perhaps you’d add a wedge above the waist and remove one below it. I’ve been blown away by the number of “aha” moments I’ve had reading this book. I’ve let it go over-due and am feeling guilty while someone is patiently waiting for me to let it go. I should write a review on it.
9/19/13 2:49 PM
VintageTempest said...
Thanks for all the input. I have put this on the back burner for now. Too many other things to work on with the holidays coming up. I think I will revisit this in the early spring. I do have my fabric though!! Found a 66 wide tone on tone black stripe shirting @ Fabric Mart.
10/9/13 2:17 AM
ChixRule said...
I love the short version….looks great as a top!
1/3/14 5:27 PM
ChixRule said...
I love the short version….looks great as a top!
1/3/14 5:27 PM
Sew Lady T said...
I love the muslin! Quite cute in an artistic way! (Those words don't often go together.) I don't think it looks maternity as much as floaty. The CB flares, too. I'm sorry you were diverted from making the full version as I think this is a fun dress.
2/14/14 10:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6272

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now