Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4541 (asian tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1542 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/05 6:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane Tucker said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I love the thin, black trim on edge.
5/1/05 6:55 PM
sew2little said...
A perfect meld of pattern and fabric--a lovely top!
5/1/05 6:57 PM
Jan B. said...
Very pretty. Love the fabric too. Nice job.
5/1/05 7:00 PM
Levone said...
Very cute top and lovely fabric.
5/1/05 7:21 PM
MarthaH said...
Very nice, I always enjoy reading your review.
5/1/05 7:28 PM
lmg said...
Cute top. Love the piping with your fabric choice and the clasps. Great review
5/1/05 8:24 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Absolutely gorgeous
5/1/05 9:25 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty colors! I had this problem too with onionskin. I used Steam-A-Seam & didn't press with the iron before hemming.
5/1/05 9:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a pretty top -- the piping and the clasps are really nice extras. I agree with you about polyester knits -- they are just not comfortable in my climate. I rarely buy them anymore.
5/2/05 4:50 AM
jlg said...
Cute top. The fabric is beautiful.
5/2/05 5:22 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Absolutlely lovely, Sue! I have narrow shoulders- will you make one for me? ;)
5/2/05 7:38 AM
Lisette said...
I have the same problem when hemming onionskin. I follow the technique that Marcy Tilton explains in Easy guide to sewing Tops, where she fuses a strip of knit interfacing to the hem to support it while you are stitching it. I have found out that if I use a zigzag stitch it works great and usually the print in this fabric conceals the stitching anyways..
5/2/05 8:05 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful. Thanks for all the tips, too. I'm wondering how my eos polyester fabrics will fare this summer, as well, having already reached (and probably past) "a certain age."
5/2/05 9:18 AM
flowermama said...
Beautiful!
5/2/05 10:03 AM
Schnauzer said...
Really lovely top and another informative review. Thankyou.
5/3/05 4:39 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Very cute! I love your use of the metal clasps - I've had some in my stash for ages and never thought to use them on a knit top. I hear you with regard to poly knits. They are fine in the cooler months (of which there are about 2 here, lol) but, since I no longer work in a freezing cold office they are too hot any other time. So sad too because there are so many fantastic prints available! :-(
5/8/05 12:42 PM
QuickFade said...
Cute top! Thanks for the construction tips.
7/31/05 10:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Stretch & Sew 1028 Cuddle Coat
photo
Review by carolynw on 7/27/06
Read Review

Jalie 3134 Pattern
Jalie 3134 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1797 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1797 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3137
photo
Review by wenznz on 10/13/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Pants and Vest Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Pants and Vest Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us