SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4541 (asian tops)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1543 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/05 6:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane Tucker said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I love the thin, black trim on edge.
5/1/05 6:55 PM
sew2little said...
A perfect meld of pattern and fabric--a lovely top!
5/1/05 6:57 PM
Jan B. said...
Very pretty. Love the fabric too. Nice job.
5/1/05 7:00 PM
Levone said...
Very cute top and lovely fabric.
5/1/05 7:21 PM
MarthaH said...
Very nice, I always enjoy reading your review.
5/1/05 7:28 PM
lmg said...
Cute top. Love the piping with your fabric choice and the clasps. Great review
5/1/05 8:24 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Absolutely gorgeous
5/1/05 9:25 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty colors! I had this problem too with onionskin. I used Steam-A-Seam & didn't press with the iron before hemming.
5/1/05 9:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a pretty top -- the piping and the clasps are really nice extras. I agree with you about polyester knits -- they are just not comfortable in my climate. I rarely buy them anymore.
5/2/05 4:50 AM
jlg said...
Cute top. The fabric is beautiful.
5/2/05 5:22 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Absolutlely lovely, Sue! I have narrow shoulders- will you make one for me? ;)
5/2/05 7:38 AM
Lisette said...
I have the same problem when hemming onionskin. I follow the technique that Marcy Tilton explains in Easy guide to sewing Tops, where she fuses a strip of knit interfacing to the hem to support it while you are stitching it. I have found out that if I use a zigzag stitch it works great and usually the print in this fabric conceals the stitching anyways..
5/2/05 8:05 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful. Thanks for all the tips, too. I'm wondering how my eos polyester fabrics will fare this summer, as well, having already reached (and probably past) "a certain age."
5/2/05 9:18 AM
flowermama said...
Beautiful!
5/2/05 10:03 AM
Schnauzer said...
Really lovely top and another informative review. Thankyou.
5/3/05 4:39 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Very cute! I love your use of the metal clasps - I've had some in my stash for ages and never thought to use them on a knit top. I hear you with regard to poly knits. They are fine in the cooler months (of which there are about 2 here, lol) but, since I no longer work in a freezing cold office they are too hot any other time. So sad too because there are so many fantastic prints available! :-(
5/8/05 12:42 PM
QuickFade said...
Cute top! Thanks for the construction tips.
7/31/05 10:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Vogue Patterns 8380

photo
by: DeniseAnge...

Review
Other GNBBS: Shirtwaist Dress

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now