Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8071 (Misses Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 128 times 2 more reviews
Reviewed by:Klima
photo
About Klima
GREECE
Member since: 5/9/13
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/13 4:26 PM
Last Updated:9/18/13 4:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $7.46  List Price: $9.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Very pretty dress, and the fit is great!
9/18/13 5:39 PM
Skye said...
lovely dress, pretty fabric
9/18/13 8:14 PM
Baja Susana said...
This is a lovely dress, it looks cool,and crisp and fits you well . Younshouldmget a lot of use withnthismdress, considering your hot climate. Make more!
9/19/13 8:23 AM
sewingcanary said...
Fitting suggestion. This would be SO easy and FAST to explain this if I could draw a sketch. Sorry, I cannot get this to make paragraphs. I see them but they don’t show on the website…. … … I used to think bust adjustments were more work but the results are usually worth the extra bit of time. Once you understand the logic in them, it’s just basic geometry. Small ones are the easiest too. …. …. Besides, this is far easier than it sounds because it’s long. I also don’t know your measurements. It’s not really complicated but requires you to cut your pattern. …. …. …. … I cannot see clearly if this is a princess style or how the darts are handled. I’ll assume there are side darts. Do a standard Small Bust Adjustment (SBA). This makes the cup smaller, and also the ribs and waist, so you need to add back in. To add, split up the centerline of the top section without cutting through the neckline. Spread the bottom open as much as you took out. How much extra you can add here (for ribs) depends…. You can tell better when you true (straighten) the seam line. The seam shouldn’t have more than a gentle curve from where you’ve added the wedge. Here is where you can adjust length of the upper section. If you shorten or lengthen, remember also to do the back. …. …. Depending how much you took out of the bust, fitting the mid section depends on the amount needed for your ribs. Perhaps you will need to add to centre of upper section and also into side seams. I’m hoping the upper and mid sections might link up at or near the next size pattern. … … Once the ribs and mid section is established, the waist measurement can likely be adjusted in the side seams. If the waist is considerably larger than mid section, or vice versa, and the difference is too great to adjust in the side seams, you can split the mid section into four or six pieces, and insert little wedges - like adding little darts that never get sewn. It would make the midsection on a slight curve, but this would look straight when you have it on. … … On a princess style SBA, you can lessen the bust and should be able taper the line into whatever size you need for ribs and mid section. Once the bust is adjusted, the process is the same as above in getting the remainder to fit. Adjusting it to the waist should be the same as the other method. … … … It’s amazing what sneaking little tiny amounts into, or out of, can do. A millimetre here and a millimetre there can add up to quite a bit in no time. Take a few minutes and do a couple little sketches. Once you “get the picture” you can decide if you want to cut your pattern or do a tracing. Make a little mock-up muslin out of an old pillowcase. ….. good luck with your next. It’s such a cute little dress.
9/19/13 1:50 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Just thought I'd repeat that this is a very pretty dress, and the fit is great -- gorgeous, in fact. That shot from the back is in the "I can't even imagine something looking this perfect on me in my dreams" category, lol.
9/20/13 5:33 PM
sewingcanary said...
Please don’t take me wrong - I was not criticizing the final fit. I was merely attempting to make suggestions about a different method of adjustment that might help in the future. It is a beautiful dress!
9/21/13 1:15 PM
Klima said...
sewingcanary - I really appreciate your comments. I'll definitely give your suggestions a try. Thanks.
10/5/13 4:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-23 Rousku
photo
Review by jorth on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3775
photo
Review by Ripple Dan... on 12/20/09
Read Review

Burda 9471 Pattern
Burda 9471 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us