Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8543 (MISSES' JACKET AND SKIRT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 802 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:rmusic1
photo
About rmusic1star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/3/10
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/13 6:26 PM
Last Updated:10/28/13 6:51 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8543 by rmusic1

Vogue Patterns: 8543 by rmusic1  Vogue Patterns: 8543 by rmusic1  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8543
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Boucle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I made this jacket to wear to my sister's wedding, and I wanted it to have a real subtle wow factor. So the outside was relatively sedate, and the lining was really bold.

Pattern Description:

Fitted, partially interfaced, lined to edge jacket, with raised back neckline and front lapels, detail front and back with princess seams and flared sleeves with seam. Semi-fitted lined skirt with detail seams, back pleats, contour waist, side zipper closing and mid-knee length.

Pattern Sizing:

My envelope was 16-20.

Jacket: I've made a size 16 for the waist, and redrafted to a size 12 for the bust and shoulders (the pattern is now out of print so I cant buy another size!). Please see my profile if you would like to check my measurements.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

I've already made a toile, so can safely say it looks like the envelope, apart from the sleeves for the jacket which I have altered.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

They are pretty consistent, but not particularly great. Spelling mistakes, slightly confusing instructions for top stitching on the skirt, and I dont like the order they do things. I ignored how they suggested sewing lining and jacket hems together and slip stitching (no way!) the lining sleeves to the body. I left the hem hanging free for the lining.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Love the peplum, highly flattering front for full tummy types like me!

I bought this pattern originally because of the skirt, lovely lines and the back is a real show stopper.

Fabric Used:

A lovely to work with wool mix boucle for the jacket. This stuff presses like a dream. You have to be careful when unpicking though as it it shreds quite easily. Fortunately the fact practically the entire body is interfaced neatly solved this problem.

The lining is an armani silk for the jacket. It's really beautiful.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Altered the sleeves to create slim fitting end. I lengthened them by 8cm.

Took in the side seams by about a quarter inch (tapered from under arm. It now has virtually zero ease around the waist. My waist is about 31 inches if it helps with others figuring out measurements.

I added bound button holes and found them surprisingly (after practising first on a test sample) straight forward compared to my usual heart in mouth machine button holes. I might (gasp) be doing them again in future given the nice finish.

I did have a slight hiccup when making the matching "windows" in the lining. My previously nice study interlining - when I pulled a thread out of it - on one of the windows decided to rapidly unravel. I swiftly hand stitched round the loose fibres to stabilise it. Maybe I put too much pressure on it when trying remove the water dissolving ink I used to mark them out?

I also (to match up the lining like I wanted) cut out the entire lining by single layer. This took two evenings but was worth as I managed to match everything up how I planned.

Conclusion

Love this jacket, and got a number of compliments about it at the wedding. The only snag is when I lean back in a chair the peplum gets creased so I have to repress that aspect each time. I also have to get used to wearing something with so little ease round the waist when sitting (cant say I have great posture).

So, would I recommend? yes I would, but use it for the design rather than the instructions. Following the standard jacket construction is much better.

for more close up photos please click here to go to my blog

Edited to add: in answer to the question of getting the bound buttonhole windows to line up, I used a tutorial on this website:

http://www.coletterie.com/sewalongs/tutorial-bound-buttonholes

which was very helpful (it has you mark everything, including the facings, at the same time to ensure accuracy) and then slip stitched the window to the bound buttonhole to ensure they lined up whenever the buttons goes through. Worked a treat!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
Beautiful work! I think you need to move on to intermediate!
9/18/13 7:12 PM
Skye said...
very smart
9/18/13 8:09 PM
Immelu said...
Looks gorgeous!
9/18/13 9:32 PM
Paulapants said...
Very, very nice! I love the style and details. You did a great job.
9/18/13 9:37 PM
Dianne22 said...
Beautiful jacket going on there. The fit looks perfect on the dress form. Can't wait to see the finished product on you.
9/19/13 11:15 AM
sewingcanary said...
This is destined to be a knockout, especially with bound buttonholes. You mentioned tapering the sleeve. For the most part, I think the method has been abandoned, but with slim sleeves they used to add a dart or two at elbow level which gives the sleeve a natural bend. 2 days ago I discovered a pattern making book in my stash - original publishing date 1968. The darted sleeve was the simple version of getting the fit of a 2-piece sleeve. It would be too late now, but, if interested, it might be something to look into for the future. This will be a lovely jacket!
9/20/13 3:22 PM
JuliN said...
The fit looks perfect!
9/20/13 7:48 PM
Quickie said...
I think your jacket is fine for the wedding.have a nice day
10/5/13 11:37 PM
Immelu said...
That's PERFECT!!!!!!!!
10/22/13 8:09 PM
Adventurer said...
Beautiful, inspiring! Kudos on learning and acing bound buttonholes.
10/22/13 9:10 PM
sunnysewer said...
very lovely
10/23/13 0:45 AM
KathleenS said...
Looks great.
10/23/13 3:40 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful workmanship.
10/23/13 5:29 AM
KarlaB said...
Beautiful Jacket!! I would love to learn it if there is a trick to getting the lining "windows" for bound buttonholes lined up.
10/23/13 9:42 PM
Judy Kski said...
Stunning jacket! Love your lining.
10/28/13 3:05 PM
MaryDB said...
Looks wonderful on you. Nice work.
10/29/13 0:18 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely work throughout! It looks beautiful on you!
10/30/13 12:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3105
photo
Review by Kath in ON on 6/2/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Serendipity Studio SDG-104 Emaline Skirt
photo
Review by brissmith on 6/6/13
Read Review

Butterick 4593 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 4593 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us