Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Gail (Gail Knit Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 741 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 185
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/13 8:46 AM
Last Updated:11/5/13 9:28 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:StyleArc: Gail by clothingengineer

StyleArc: Gail by clothingengineer  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by clothingengineer

Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Update, 11/5/13: I made this top again out of a wool jersey purchased last year from Fabric Mart. I love the added structure of the wool jersey! It also hangs nicer. The only changes I made from the previous version were lengthening the sleeves an additional 1/2" and adding 1/2" to the front side seams. Wool jersey Gail blog post

Pattern Description: This cleverly designed knit top has a flattering scarf neck with a bit of a twist. Make it with either a short or long sleeve.

My size 8 was 24" from back of neck to hem. I measured my finished top and there's roughly 1" positive ease through the bust, 5" positive ease through the waist (actually 3" for mine because I took in the center back seam a little), and 1" positive ease at the bicep.

This is Style Arc's free pattern for this month.

Pattern Sizing:4-30. I made an 8.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, the fit is very accurate and the scarf crossover is spot-on.

Were the instructions easy to follow?They weren't bad! The scarf crossover is the trickiest step but they include a few technical illustrations to guide you along (as well as written instructions). I have no real advice for making it easier other than to make sure you have a few moments of uninterrupted time when you get to this step. And don't rush! Style Arc even mentions in the instructions that this is the trickiest part of the top, and once you get through that it is smooth sailing. I found the last technical illustration to be the most helpful. Even though the crossover was a bit tricky I still managed to get this cut, sewn, and hemmed in 2.5 hours, maybe even less than that.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Likes: It is a different look than most crossover tops and the high back neckline is warm for these cooler months coming up. Personally I wouldn't even bother making the short sleeve version unless I wanted to layer. Since it is fitted rather than close-fitting you can most likely use a wool jersey as well as the usual stretchy cotton/lycra or rayon/lycra jerseys. The sleevecaps were surprisingly high and shaped for a knit pattern, which further supports my feeling that this can be used for regular jersey fabrics with mechanical stretch as well as the very stretchy ones with lycra.

I also like the neckline, low but not too low, and no gaping.

Dislikes: None.

Fabric Used: A raspberry cotton/lycra jersey (old purchase from fabric.com)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Added a center back seam and shortened it 3/4". If you are like me and prefer a center back seam for shaping your knit tops the good news is that it fits right in with the design.

I also took in the center front seam at the belly area 3/8" as I found it pouched out a little.

Aside from that I made my normal Style Arc top fitting adjustments (and I won't bore you with that laundry list!)

If you are using a 2-way stretch knit (or one with just mechanical stretch) you should consider lengthening the sleeves an additional 1/2" or 1". I did a muslin out of a 2-way stretch knit and I found the sleeves were shorter than I expected.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I am definitely going to sew this again. I think it would make a nice warm wool jersey top. I recommend it for intermediate to advanced sewers, as I think a beginner might struggle with the crossover.

Conclusion: Blog post here
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
It is good to see this mde up. Your version looks lovely.
9/19/13 9:09 AM
grays08 said...
I really like this and wonderful job with adjustments! Saw this was the freebie for the month and am thinking about placing an order as it is even more tempting seeing this made up. = )
9/19/13 9:13 AM
j Renee Design said...
Love it!
9/19/13 10:30 AM
lmg said...
Great top. I wasn't sure about it but it looks great made up. Wonderful.
9/19/13 10:42 AM
sewme47 said...
I was wondering about this top. Thanks for your informative review! Oh, and it looks great on you!!!
9/19/13 11:14 AM
Levone said...
Cute top!
9/19/13 1:02 PM
ArtAttack said...
Really cute! Sure would look great with a new jacket over it! ;)
9/19/13 3:19 PM
mhk3boys said...
Awesome top!
9/19/13 3:39 PM
clothingengineer said...
Fine, fine, ArtAttack, I'll enter the lined jacket contest ;)
9/19/13 3:39 PM
donna wicks said...
I just got this pattern today and I really want to get it after seeing your version, looks great and the color is so pretty on you.
9/19/13 4:02 PM
BeaJay said...
I think this may be my favourite SA top so far (on you that is).. I will have to make it up and see how it looks on a plus size.
9/19/13 5:32 PM
Elke said...
Great looking top and it looks fabulous on you!
9/19/13 6:37 PM
Lynmarie said...
I just love this top, I have made 2 already in baby wool & jersey, love your colour Anne.
9/20/13 5:22 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
My free one is on the way ~ thanks for the timely review! Great job, looks wonderful!
9/20/13 3:01 PM
becca a said...
Your top is lovely. The cross over is a nice style on you.
9/20/13 11:37 PM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful top! Wasn't sure how this style would work but you look lovely & the color is fabulous.
9/21/13 1:48 PM
meggy said...
Looks great. I just placed an order so will get this freebie too.
9/27/13 10:41 PM
TJSEWS said...
Your top is fabulous and what a pretty color. Very flattering. Looks better than ready-to-wear. You look great!
11/5/13 10:48 AM
michellep74 said...
I really like the new version, too. Where did you get your wool jersey?
11/5/13 1:33 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is a great top with great lines!
11/5/13 4:10 PM
threaddy said...
WOWZER! It has a lot of extra design without looking overdone or futzy. Excellent
11/5/13 6:58 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a great style!
11/7/13 8:05 AM
Nancy K said...
I got this as my free pattern too. I love how it came out! I can't wait to make my own.
11/19/13 7:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Drafted from RTW 000002
photo
Review by Ms. McCall on 9/14/12
Read Review

Vogue 1324 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1324 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7131 Pattern
Burda 7131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No pattern Used Maxi Skirt
photo
Review by Luvable on 5/7/12
Read Review

Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us