Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V8495 (VERY EASY VOGUE) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 249 times 2 more reviews
Reviewed by:Melwyk
photo
About Melwyk
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/13 9:20 PM
Last Updated:9/19/13 9:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sarsez said...
Pretty top and pretty colour!
9/20/13 1:15 AM
JOshiro said...
Very flattering!
9/20/13 9:49 AM
Melwyk said...
Thanks! Surprisingly it doesn't wrinkle that much either, which is nice :)
9/20/13 10:12 AM
STARG said...
Your blouse is lovely. Looks like the fabric drapes good and it's a very pretty color. Good job!
9/20/13 1:02 PM
sewingcanary said...
You have been sewing up a storm - and it’s not even winter yet! From my side of the photo, I never would have guessed this to be a new linen. It looks more like a knit or well broken-in woven. Nice choice… and barely more than a meter? Wow!
9/20/13 2:14 PM
Melwyk said...
sewingcanary-- lucky me, I had a 2 week staycation in August during which I got a lot of projects cut & queued up to sew ;) I know that when things get busy for me in a few weeks I won't be able to sew much so have been going great guns trying to catch up! This one is some kind of linen blend, not sure of exact content, but it feels very 'used' and soft already...considering the minimal wrinkling it must have some synthetic something in it. I double checked and it was probably closer to a metre and a half in total of fabric.
9/20/13 8:16 PM
sewingcanary said...
Hi again - I must have sensed you… I decided to go back and see if anyone ever responds to my comments (something I haven’t been doing) and here you are. I pass on a lot of info and don’t know if anyone uses it. This is a good time to ask if you know how I can make these comments have paragraphs. With the price of gas in BC, a staycation sounds good. I WAS planning to visit a friend who said she’d help me with fitting. I’ve been away from sewing for a long time due to severe injury. I’ve decided to sew my closet of fabric or get rid of it. Wish I had more prints. I didn’t even have decent basic patterns. I bought a few and have been mucking about with them. I’m going to put their attributes together. Boy, are they thin! My old made-by-me pants pattern amounts to a zillion unmarked pieces = useless. Very glad I kept a pair of see-thru-thin old pull-on cords. I’ve traced RTW and am ready to draw the final lines for new pants. My old jean pattern amounts to a yoke and part of a beat-up pattern I taped a fly to = next to useless. I saw a video about using iron-on interfacing to reinforce patterns. I have my pattern making supplies, new interfacing, a few new irresistible fabrics, Plus the dress fabric that started it all in the first place. I’m almost ready to sail. Debating whether to do items one at a time or do a bunch of cutting at once, or tackled the long waiting box of fixing and altering, muslins or no muslins, etc. Hmmm. Tuesday I discovered a [virtually no-ease] pattern making book original edition 1968, this one 1986. Perhaps my mother gave it to me when she gave me the pants book. …. Earlier today I saw you in your stripe dress and remembered the pretty colours of the thin stripes. I thought “hmm, slash pockets with a curve would look nice - perhaps a light gather along the top”. Some wide bias trim… an idea for next time. About the lilac ‘linen’ - it sounds like a shirt-blouse I made years ago. I was working as a surveyor in the hot summer sun. I needed a light-weight cover-up shirt and needed it yesterday. I was new here, didn’t know stores etc.. I went to the bargain section of a fabric store (Fabricland - the sole survivor now), got and a chunk of pinky orange, pale salmon, “unknown fibres” and a pattern. I hated synthetic, knew it was at least part synthetic but had a light linen feel. It was cheap, it was soft, it breathed. This was before “distressed” fabrics. It held up to an amazing amount of abuse. I’d forgotten - it wore and wore then all of a sudden fell apart. … … The geese started flying early this year. The last thing I want to do right now is yard work and winterizing, but the longer I put it off, the colder and harder it will be to do. Well, off to bed now. Nice chatting with you. I don’t know much about this website other than there’s some marvelous creations coming out of it! It has sure charged me up! I have sewing on the brain! I had been thinking sewing was a dead art, but not with this batch! Love and Peace, Canary
9/21/13 4:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us