SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 244038-1006 (Reusable bag)

Viewed 113 times 
Reviewed by:NhiHuynh
photo

 
 
About NhiHuynhstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/13 10:33 PM
Last Updated:5/9/14 8:49 PM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: 244038-1006 by NhiHuynh

Self Drafted Pattern: 244038-1006 by NhiHuynh  Self Drafted Pattern: 244038-1006 by NhiHuynh  
Pattern Photo: Pattern Info

More Info provided by NhiHuynh

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Fabric:Ripstop  [See other projects in this fabric]
**Updated to include a link to the tutorial on my blog. **
http://www.detectivehoundstooth.com/reuseable-bag/

I finally made a reuseable bag for myself in yellow with a pic of my pup on it. It was about time. It's so handy. Why did I wait so long?

Pattern Description:
Reusable bag that folds up nice and compact. I made this several months ago for a friend of mine who loves Kid Rock AND shopping. I'm just getting to the review so my memory is not the freshest.

Pattern Sizing:
I sized the bag to be able to hold a large purse inside. So the real reason why I made this bag for my friend is due to an incident involving a clumsy waiter, a bowl of sauce and a close call with her baby. By "baby", I don't mean her daughter that was sitting beside her but her gorgeous purse. She won't even put them on the floor they're that precious. So the bag's actual purpose is a purse protector.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Since this is self drafted there are no instructions but none are really needed. The pattern is fairly easy to draft. It a rectangle with a handle. In the pic here you can see the pattern placed on the fold. You sew the handles together, sides together, bottom together and then tack the bottom corners to make a gusset. The flap is sewn to the back.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
What I liked about this design is that it folds up nice a compact. So you're never with a shopping bag or purse protect or make shift rain hat. folded front view
folded back view

Fabric Used:
Ripstop. It's strong, thin and waterproof. It's also takes permanent ink well. I initially had planned on painting Kid Rock on the bag but wasn't sure that fabric paint would stick to the fabric. I did a small test with a Sharpie and it produced a nice line with minimal bleeding or feathering. Sharpie art prior to sewing. And here's a close up

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
One last design detail I haven't mentioned. The flap closes with velcro. One side of the velcro is on the flap. There's two spots on the bag for the other half of the velcro. One for when the bag is folded up and one for when the bag is unfolded like this.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will definitely sew another. If I hadn't drawn the artwork on it, it would have been really quick. Ripstop comes in all sorts of colors but any light sturdy fabric would do. Seems pretty useful to have around in the car or in my purse.

Conclusion:
My friend really loved it. Not sure how much she uses it because she afraid of ruining it. I'll take that as a compliment.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
Oh what a beautiful bag with a picture of your adorable basset hound.
5/11/14 3:36 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Oh and stick figures are great. Or you can do a fun saying. But surely you can print something out and trace. It's like tracing a pattern, just follow the lines.
5/10/14 11:13 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Supizoo, grocery bags are next on my list. I would make the bag smaller and maybe color coded. Red for meats, green for produce, brown for baked goods, yellow for dairy. Let's see if the bagger can get items in the right bag. I hate it when they put cleaning products with food items.
5/10/14 11:11 PM
supizoo said...
Fantastic! Also, thanks for the tutorial. I live in a plastic bag-free town so 'originals' would be much nicer to cart my shopping home in than the generic supermarket ripstop bags.....although my artwork is limited to stick figures :)
5/10/14 9:13 PM
Quickie said...
Versatile bag, but do I understand Well that you are now standing for a new quest? And that is , how to protect this lovely red bag(also baby) with another bag?
10/17/13 4:03 PM
nitsel said...
This is great!
10/15/13 11:49 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Thanks Raye Ann! I freehanded it from a picture off a website. Oh the list of things I can't do is very long. :)
10/15/13 9:25 PM
NhiHuynh said...
madbadger, I've never heard of it being bad luck. Good to know.
10/15/13 9:25 PM
Raye Ann said...
love it! did you trace the art work? if you freehanded it, omg...is there anything you can't do?
10/15/13 4:27 PM
madbadger said...
Wow - nice job with the art!!! I agree with your friend & never put my purse on the ground either, lol - it's supposed to be bad luck!
10/15/13 10:10 AM
CypGrl said...
I looked to see how you got the graphic on the bag only to find that you drew it. What a special gift for your friend.
10/15/13 8:43 AM
r e n said...
I am not familiar with this Kid Rock guitar player, but I greatly admire the artwork done via Sharpie. You are truly a Renaissance woman! What a great gift to protect the 'purse baby' of your friend.
10/14/13 11:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

McCall's 6700

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info