SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5860 

12 more reviews
Viewed 310 times 
Reviewed by:Laurasews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Laurasewsstar
CO USA
Member since: 12/27/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/14 5:29 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5860 by Laurasews

McCall's: 5860 by Laurasews  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5860
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses Unlined Jacket: Fitted, unlined jacket has princess seams, patch pockets with flaps, collar and collar band, long, two-piece sleeves with cuffs.

This is a Palmer/Pletsch pattern. The perfect jean jacket.

Pattern Sizing:
Standard sizing. My pattern was multi-sized, including 8-10-12-14 in one envelopeI started with a size 10 based on my upper bust measurement, and started adjusting from there. I am very please with the fit through the shoulders and neck based on choosing pattern sizes by this method. When I chose patterns by my full bust, they were slightly too large in the neck and shoulders.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Mine resulted in the same silhouette, which is what I like about this pattern. I did move the pockets down below the waist, however. More on that below.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are very good. They provide detailed information on fitting which is invaluable. I actually fit this pattern at a Sewing Camp with Marta Alto, so we followed these instructions precisely. Marta, of course, could identify my fit issues in her sleep, so it went much quicker with her guidance.

The construction instructions were fine too.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the lines of the pattern. The denim jacket look, with a nice sleek princess line.

Two things to be aware of:
- the cuff is way too long (too large around the wrist). I removed some length, and also added some small pleats to the underarm sleeve piece to get a good fit on the cuff. Since this is a jacket, I wanted to be able to pull the jacket on without undoing the button on the cuff, so adjusted the length of the cuff so that it would fit over my hand...not too tight.

- I took a style risk and moved the pockets down below the waist. When I attempted to installed them over the bust, there was too much curvature due to the princess line, and my FBA. They were never going to lay flat. Now that it is complete, I actually like the look. I am a C-cup, so I think this could be an issue for many people.

Fabric Used:
Stretch denim - 2-3 % lycra. The jacket would fit fine without the lycra and does not require stretch, but I wanted to use stash fabric, so I used what I had.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Besides moving the patch pockets and flaps and making the cuff smaller, I made my personal fit adjustments (the pattern instructions walk you through making these adjustments before cutting fabric):
- 3/4" FBA to the princess pattern.
- 3/8" broad back adjustment
- Rotated shoulder point forward 3/8" (added to back and removed from front outside shoulder point.
- 1/4" sway back adjustment (across the two back princess pieces)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
This is my second time sewing this pattern. I made it in some dupioni silk and wore it until the seams started shredding. Unfortunately, this wasn't too long...I should have reinforced the silk. I will definitely keep this pattern around because one can always use a jean jacket in cute printed denim, maybe velvet, etc. This is the type of pattern that I see made up in various cool fabrics in the Cold Water Creek catalogs. I absolutely recommend this pattern to others, but take note of the cuff and pocket issues.

Conclusion:
A great pattern that results in a nice silhouette. I will wear this jacket constantly this fall.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
This is so nice!!!
5/6/14 5:48 PM
OceanSew said...
Great jacket! I like your choice to move the pockets down...never been a big fan of large pocket flaps on top the bust.
5/6/14 7:00 PM
jdk said...
Great looking jacket!
5/6/14 7:09 PM
Sew Good said...
Nice! I actually prefer stretch denim even if the pattern doesn't require it. It makes the garment more comfortable to move in. I hope you get many years out of this jacket
5/6/14 11:36 PM
Danmar said...
Very nice job. I like this pattern now that you've called my attention to it. I think the pockets are way better at hip level. What woman uses breast pockets anyway!
5/7/14 0:17 AM
sewtofit said...
Really nice. I like the pocket placement. I've been planning this pattern for ages.
5/7/14 0:26 AM
Sheila457 said...
Great jacket.
5/7/14 7:32 AM
MamaSewing said...
Your jacket looks great!
5/7/14 8:48 AM
supizoo said...
Love it!
5/7/14 9:40 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Nice job! I have this pattern ready to go, fitted, fabric chosen, and I still haven't made it! Your review is a good one, and I think it will inspire me to get going on this one. Thanks!
5/7/14 1:08 PM
pamyjo2001 said...
Really cute
5/8/14 0:14 AM
Mazzygirl said...
Really nice. Time for me to make another!
5/9/14 6:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5474

photo
by: Jojo

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now