Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2002-116A (Cropped Trousers / Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2039 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/07 8:02 AM
Last Updated:8/15/02 8:58 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
renee -- which issue is this from? i can't figure it out, and i am looking for a good pattern for cropped pants. i can't get the finished photo to work either.
8/15/02 1:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
doh! never mind, i see it's may 2002. funny, over half of your review didn't show up the first time i clicked on it.
8/15/02 1:19 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a lovely pair of pants Renee! I have this issue and now I am really tempted to trace this pattern and try it myself. For some reason I thought that this pattern would be difficult to sew. Is this the one which has button closure on the side instead of zipper?
8/15/02 1:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I missed this pattern when I looked through the magazine. It is very cute, and I think you will really enjoy the cropped pants style.
8/15/02 1:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sorry about the earlier posting, I had trouble with the clickable link. It's been about 5 years since I took a HTML course in college! These are the pants with an invisible zipper and a two button side closure at the hip. These really were easier to make than I thought also!
8/15/02 1:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
ok I am confused now... there is an invisible zipper AND the buttons on side?
8/15/02 1:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
THis was the only pattern I've been eying from recent issues. It looked too involved. Thanks for the review! -I may actually try it ...
8/15/02 2:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, there is a 7 inch invisible zipper, and then two buttons veritcally on the waistband too. Also, when I put in the invisible I tried to follow the curve of the hips more than pytting it in straight and I think it came out nicer.
8/15/02 3:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Renee - your craftsmanship is outstanding! The fit looks to be perfect. Did you flat-fell the seams?
8/15/02 6:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Renee, I love these! So fun and stylish looking, and you obviously did a great job sewing them. Now, wouldn't you know I didn't buy this issue? :-(
8/15/02 8:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow! Those are cute. And wouldn't you know it... after collecting so many years of Burda mags, I stopped my subscription 'cuz I ran out of space to store them! I'll have to renew it and sell my old ones :)
8/15/02 11:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love this pants pattern!!!! I've been looking for something in cropped pants pattern that I can wear into the fall,,,,now does anyone know where I can get my hands on this issue of the magazine???? Help!!
8/16/02 1:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wonderful pants - I will have to go check and see if I have this issue
8/16/02 2:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I like your pants too, they are goodlooking, what were you planning to wear them with? There was a nice t-shirt in the same issue #108, have you thought of that?
8/16/02 4:47 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Renee, Cut pants now I wish I had let my burda expire.
8/16/02 10:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
CUTE I like these pants you have done a good job on them.
8/16/02 10:22 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love these! Renee, you've done a great job, thanks for sharing the review. These pants would work with Deepika's modification to put a casing and small bow... Deepika where did you explain that?
8/16/02 10:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mel J. you are right! Here is the Review and here is the photo of the pants I made photo
8/17/02 1:42 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Annika said...
Your photo isn't working.
11/24/03 6:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great fitting cropped pants. There is not flair! You look great in them.
9/29/06 5:27 AM
mrspenguin said...
They look like they fit so well. I've wondered about the general fit of Burda pants. Thanks for all the good info.
9/29/06 3:51 PM
cindy-lou said...
I used this fabric too and I LOVE what you did with it here! I agree, flowy it ain't-- better for pants than a top.
8/2/07 11:22 AM
nicegirl said...
Cute! I like the b&w cotton print.
8/2/07 5:53 PM
SusiM said...
Thanks again for such a thorough and helpful review. As always, your garment is great looking.
8/3/07 1:25 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Super cute.
8/3/07 9:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 3242 OOP
photo
Review by MaryDB on 3/10/09
Read Review

Burda 7155 Pattern
Burda 7155 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3134
photo
Review by GailV on 8/10/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us