SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 09-2010-418 (Autumn/winter 2010 Jeans/pants)

Viewed 172 times 
Reviewed by:KateS
photo

 
 
About KateSstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews: 44 (patterns: 35)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/24/13 8:53 AM
Last Updated:10/5/13 9:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 09-2010-418 by KateS  Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 09-2010-418 by KateS  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grays08 said... (10/7/13 12:30 PM) Reply
Great review and yes, trace a smaller size or two because you worked wonders with these as much as you had to alter them to fit! Fantastic pant and great job!
sewingcanary said... (10/5/13 11:16 PM) Reply
Pants, especially jeans, usually take some time in perfecting. Finding the sweet spots so they look nice and you can sit AND move in them is a challenge. …. Wish I could make paragraphs… IMPO, you can’t go wrong by investing in a good general sewing book. A book is often faster than hunting something down on the web. There are consistent, familiar sketches and you can carry it to the ironing board, next to the machine, or wherever you need, and sometimes it’s nice just to have a better picture than the pattern provides (or doesn’t provide). For general sewing, I prefer books with sketches rather than photos. I also think the older books are better than many of the newer ones. Somehow, they seem more interested in teaching you to sew rather than trying to sell you a fancy book. A good fitting book is also a wise investment. … … …Tips: Measure several of your best fitting pants - or tops - and keep a record of them, along with your body measurements at the time. Include the shape and depth of front and back crotch curve, and back inseam to the waist. If you write the pattern or RTW label, colour and fabric it will help jog your memory later. Write on the envelope “pinstripe stretch” plus major adjustments, or defects. … … The ease allowance in patterns, even in the same brand and similar style can vary a lot. I bought 2 Simplicity shirts patterns in Sept. The difference in finished bust is 5” for same size. I could see the one had more ease but would never have guessed it to be that much.
KateS said... (10/5/13 9:08 PM) Reply
Updated to add pics of the finished jeans- will rescan the pattern info and add when I get a chance!
Julia C said... (9/25/13 10:32 PM) Reply
I could not enlarge the photo enough to see but the review was very informative.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7871

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Pattern Details