SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 09-2010-418 (Autumn/winter 2010 Jeans/pants)

Viewed 164 times 
Reviewed by:KateS
photo

 
 
About KateSstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/24/13 8:53 AM
Last Updated:10/5/13 9:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 09-2010-418 by KateS  Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 09-2010-418 by KateS  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia C said...
I could not enlarge the photo enough to see but the review was very informative.
9/25/13 10:32 PM
KateS said...
Updated to add pics of the finished jeans- will rescan the pattern info and add when I get a chance!
10/5/13 9:08 PM
sewingcanary said...
Pants, especially jeans, usually take some time in perfecting. Finding the sweet spots so they look nice and you can sit AND move in them is a challenge. …. Wish I could make paragraphs… IMPO, you can’t go wrong by investing in a good general sewing book. A book is often faster than hunting something down on the web. There are consistent, familiar sketches and you can carry it to the ironing board, next to the machine, or wherever you need, and sometimes it’s nice just to have a better picture than the pattern provides (or doesn’t provide). For general sewing, I prefer books with sketches rather than photos. I also think the older books are better than many of the newer ones. Somehow, they seem more interested in teaching you to sew rather than trying to sell you a fancy book. A good fitting book is also a wise investment. … … …Tips: Measure several of your best fitting pants - or tops - and keep a record of them, along with your body measurements at the time. Include the shape and depth of front and back crotch curve, and back inseam to the waist. If you write the pattern or RTW label, colour and fabric it will help jog your memory later. Write on the envelope “pinstripe stretch” plus major adjustments, or defects. … … The ease allowance in patterns, even in the same brand and similar style can vary a lot. I bought 2 Simplicity shirts patterns in Sept. The difference in finished bust is 5” for same size. I could see the one had more ease but would never have guessed it to be that much.
10/5/13 11:16 PM
grays08 said...
Great review and yes, trace a smaller size or two because you worked wonders with these as much as you had to alter them to fit! Fantastic pant and great job!
10/7/13 12:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 2802

photo
by: jennycat

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8426

photo
by: velosewer

Review