Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5917 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 333 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:WinterQueen
photo
About WinterQueenstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/27/12
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/13 3:35 PM
Last Updated:10/17/13 3:37 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5917 by WinterQueen

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5917
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by WinterQueen

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
3 different dress options in one pattern. Each option has front ruffles, inset and a lined bodice. 3 sleeve options and 2 different skirts. Its semi fitted.

Pattern Sizing:
A5 ( 6-14) I made size 10 but should have made size 8. I often make this mistake, I will lever learn! I seem to think if its fitted I will need a bigger size. I took the skirt in about 2" for a more snug fit. The bodice I left as it was but I really needed a size 8.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The actual dress does, but I used the sleeve pattern from Vogue 8555 as I wanted to compliment the ruffles on the front bodice with a gathered sleeve.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't actually follow them once I had the ruffle on as I made some changes, but I read through them and they were very clear and easy to understand.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the bodice on this dress, its very flattering and the ruffles just make it.
My only dislike is how the bodice lining starts off as a lining, but then once its attached at the neck edge, its treated as an underlining. I kept my lining separate so I could enclose the zipper edges and the lower edge for a neater finish.

Fabric Used:
For the bodice I used a stretch cotton sateen and for the skirt just a polyester suiting.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
As mentioned earlier, I lined the bodice rather than finished it as an underlining. I also changed the sleeves using Vogue 8555. I didn't put in the back vent split as I shortened the skirt somewhat, therefore it didn't need it. Fitting alterations were also required due to this pattern coming up a little big.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? As soon as I saw this pattern I bought it straight away. Its one of those styles that I love. I bought it some weeks ago, I have just been waiting for the right fabric to make it up. It's a great pattern, great style and I would love to make it again. Definitely recommend it to others.

Conclusion:
A great pattern that could be made over and over again. The fact that it already has several good reviews concludes it quite nicely!

For more photos please visit my blog Click here
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Very nice! I like that you used different fabrics for the bodice and skirt. Looks great on you! :)
10/17/13 5:56 PM
Mimi O said...
This turned out beautifully. Love the fabric combinations and colors. You look fabulous!
10/17/13 7:29 PM
runmyworld said...
You do such beautiful work. I just love this.
10/17/13 8:08 PM
LlanoGirl said...
Very nice, I made this pattern and love my dress, too.
10/17/13 8:29 PM
beanchor said...
I just grabbed this one today! It has gotten such good reviews I have to try it. Your version with the different fabrics is very cute.
10/17/13 10:16 PM
Sew Good said...
Gorgeous!!
10/18/13 0:19 AM
Baja Susana said...
Adorable dress, looks great on you
10/18/13 2:23 AM
mnitts said...
Nice to see this interpretated in a different way. Very cute!
10/18/13 5:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the use of different fabrics for bodice and skirt. I also like the use of the sleeves from Vogue pattern, works well with this and gives it a nice look.
10/18/13 5:33 AM
STARG said...
Love the different fabrics on the dress. I would have never thought of doing that, but it looks great!
10/18/13 3:10 PM
SewLibra said...
Love the red polka dot style idea! Love the well-fitting red skirt. I love RED! :-)
10/18/13 11:46 PM
stonecutter17 said...
Love what you did with this!
10/20/13 0:08 AM
Sharonspils said...
Love the way you have used the two fabrics to create such a great looking dress.
10/20/13 11:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 5959 Jiffy
photo
Review by blankjen on 12/6/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2012-18
photo
Review by 21wale on 6/12/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $26.45
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6685 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6685 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9496 Pattern
Burda 9496 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us