SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8940 (Men's Jacket and Pants)

5 more reviews
Viewed 383 times 
Reviewed by:gill1987
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About gill1987star
United Kingdom
Member since: 4/18/11
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/13 4:48 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8940 by gill1987  
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kiawe said...
Great jacket! I'm thinking of making one of these for myself but I'm worried the shoulders will be too wide. Did they seem particularly wide or narrow to you?
9/25/13 5:09 PM
frame said...
That looks amazing.
9/25/13 5:31 PM
frame said...
***
9/25/13 5:31 PM
Campbell said...
Wow, this is a great looking coat. What a labor of love for your son. Ideally like the change you made to the collar. Nice job.
9/25/13 5:33 PM
mnitts said...
Great job!
9/25/13 5:58 PM
treefrog said...
Great looking jacket. It is nice to know about the interfacing. I have been thinking of getting this pattern but wasn't sure if the construction methods were skimped on or not. Can I ask what you used for the lining? The pattern suggested a cotton.
9/25/13 6:58 PM
gill1987 said...
I used cotton flannel to interline but I lined it with a beautiful bronze and gold satin coat weight lining. When being put on over winter woollies we wanted something that wouldn't stick. Kaiwe I replied to your question in the discussions but in honesty yes the shoulders are wide to fit a man. My son is very slim but has wide shoulders and is not that much smaller than him chest size but the coat drowned me in shoulders and sleeves. You would have to do some adapting. Perhaps you can combine the concepts with a ladies pattern for shoulder and arm area and make a toile first?
9/26/13 2:07 AM
Renata said...
Great looking jacket. What better endorsement than your son loving it. Good on ya, Mum!
9/26/13 5:14 AM
Sharonspils said...
Very smart coat and good to know about the shoulders.
9/26/13 6:46 AM
VivianZ said...
Wow, beautiful coat!
9/26/13 7:38 AM
knovak said...
Fabulous, and your son is such a cutie!
9/26/13 9:18 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...great coat! Your son models it wonderfully! :) Nice that you have a great son to sew for!
9/26/13 11:16 AM
TGWGWS said...
Wonderful Coat!
9/26/13 4:12 PM
michelegirard said...
What a wonderful job you did! It looks great on your son, no wonder he likes it!
9/26/13 4:54 PM
kushami said...
Oh gosh, I'm thrilled to see more versions of this coat popping up. May I ask for more detail on your collar mods?
10/7/13 11:21 PM
dph0107 said...
Very nice coat. I too am curious to know about the collar mods you made. Thanks
11/19/13 3:30 AM
gill1987 said...
I'm so sorry I didn't get notifications of questions. I simply straightened the curved edges if the collar to give a sharper look
6/12/14 12:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Simplicity 1801

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now