SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8020 (An "Audrey/Jackie O" Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2871 times 
Reviewed by:Kathryn
photo

 
 
About Kathrynstar
NC USA
Member since: 3/16/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/05 5:31 PM
Last Updated:5/2/05 5:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HenriettenDK said...
Kathryn, will you make one for me? Wauw! Dresses like this make me want to become better at sewing!
3/30/06 11:21 AM
Deepika said...
OMG how did I miss this? Kathryn... I am speechless!!!
5/16/05 9:40 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Kathryn, I'm so glad to see you added that lovely photo to your profile! That outfit is one of my favorites in your photo album - which I visit regularly. :-)
5/5/05 4:51 PM
stripquilter said...
The only word left is: supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!! (Meant as a very high compliment.) Vogue should see what you've done with this pattern. You have raised the bar for all of us, Kathryn, not only with the dress but also with your review and all the lovely photos. Truly outstanding. Julia (in Houston)
5/4/05 7:48 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
A stellar review and the dress leaves me speechless! I do hope you will continue to review here.
5/4/05 5:14 PM
mamafitz said...
Kathryn!! so good to see you, i've missed you. what a STUNNING dress, i wanna be you when i grow up. :)
5/4/05 4:48 PM
Runrover said...
Kathryn - the dress is stunning, amazing, lovely...I could go on and on. Thanks for the detailed and informative review. I'm so happy to see your review over her on PR. I've so much enjoyed and appreciated your contributions on SW and the time you took to e-mail me sewing tips and words of encouragement. I hope we get more reviews from you. Cynthia
5/4/05 9:14 AM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the closeup on the horsehair insert in to the hem...very timely for me in the final phases of a wedding gown. Thanks for a wonderful review with all your finishing details. It's wonderful what one can do with no fear! Please add a photo with you in the dress ;-)
5/4/05 9:12 AM
Kathryn said...
Thank you all so much! This was my first review, and was a lot of fun to write. I truly appreciate your wonderful comments.
5/4/05 8:28 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Kathryn, I clicked on your profile photo to have a closer look at your dress [G], oh wow!!! I also navigated my way to your website showing even more of your beautiful gowns. I am in complete awe!!! You do THE most exquisite work!
5/4/05 2:35 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, let me add to your encouragement!!! I adore this piece and it's two different looks. Thanks so much for posting this review. Deep breath, deep breath, slowww deep breath, and grin!
5/3/05 5:33 PM
brooktrout said...
Kathryn, your dress is beautiful. Thanks so much for detailing your techniques and illustrating them with so many photos. I love the ribbon and shoes!
5/3/05 5:05 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Oh the work you have done - it is just beautiful!
5/3/05 4:12 PM
MickeyFan said...
WOW! Your dress is fabulous. I have this pattern and you have definitely inspired me. Thanks for this review!
5/3/05 11:48 AM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Ahhhhhhhhhh!! *thud* Your dress is sooooooooo beautiful!!!! Perfectly vintage. That beading detail on the back is extraordinary, itís so creative of you! I'm just aching to make this pattern, I hope mine turns out as good as yours!!!! I had wondered if the dress needed something to give it some 'oomph' since the modelís poofed out so much. And your shoes are PERFECT!!!!!!
5/3/05 11:40 AM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous! Thank you! And the Shoes! I love them!
5/3/05 10:55 AM
Amelie said...
So pretty!!! Wonderful review.
5/3/05 10:50 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ditto, all of the above, me too, etc. Count me among those who'd like to see the dress on you. Thanks for all photos and details.
5/3/05 10:21 AM
LoriB said...
Wow! That is a beautiful dress. Thank you for your detailed review. I'm sure the couture additions and techniques really made the dress look and fit so fantastic. I recall a Threads issue that showed the difference between just "making" the garment and one with added touches (and effort!). Your dress was definitely worth all that effort!
5/3/05 10:18 AM
Susan W said...
Kathryn, there isn't anything left to say. Exquisite, elegant, couture and so much more, plus your perfect review make this a pure pleasure to enjoy. Thank you so much for doing the review and sharing yet another very special project. Susan
5/3/05 8:27 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! Fabulous dress! Fabulous shoes! Looks like a dress you'd see on some Hollywood star.
5/3/05 6:52 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! Absolutely stunning, Kathryn! What impresses me most is the unseen couture details. It is no wonder your dress is so stunning on the outside when you see the workmanship on the inside!
5/3/05 6:32 AM
AnneM said...
I saw this pattern, and said "nope, I don't like it." Then I saw your dress, and said "that's great!" No wonder you aren't bothering with making the other version. Very nice with the ribbon belt, also; gives it multiple looks. (Very funny on your "pink & glowing" comment.)
5/3/05 6:21 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Thanks for the info on the backseam and flower Kathryn. That's really helpful to know. I think I gotta get me this pattern now! -Ann
5/3/05 6:09 AM
KathleenS said...
Wonderful dress - just shows what you can do with a relatively simple fabric. I like the two embellishment options (flower/belt). Thanks for all the detail pictures.
5/3/05 5:36 AM
pharmercoon said...
Kathryn, Thanks for the wonderful review! You have inspired my sewing since we've become internet friends--now you are sharing with so many!! Beautiful dress, your attention to detail is amazing! I want to be you when I grow up!! Kay
5/3/05 4:22 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Kathyrn, it's good to "see" you here! I love your dress, it is gorgeous. Thank you for a very detailed review.
5/3/05 4:06 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Kathryn, it's good to "see" you here! I love your dress, it is gorgeous. Thank you for a very detailed review.
5/3/05 4:05 AM
Maychi said...
Wow, fabulous dress, just stunning.
5/3/05 3:14 AM
flowermama said...
My goodness, there is nothing I can say that hasn't already been said - what a dress! My only other comment is that I would LOVE to snoop in your closet to see other garments you have made!
5/3/05 2:04 AM
Kathryn said...
Thank you all, for your wonderful comments, I feel pink and glowing all over...no wait, that's the dress :-) ! Ann, I did NOT curve the center back seam in as I usually do. I was able to get the curvature I needed from the back princess seams. I had never done this prickstitching with beads technique before and didn't want to add another variable. Besides, the zipper is short--it just comes to the upper hipline, because I did not want to extend it into the skirt. I thought the prickstitching/seed bead detail would be lost if I did that. Dr. Sue, there are lots of ribbon books that outline this flower making method. The library has them as well. Basically, you run a running stitch along the long edge of a ribbon and gather it until it curls into a gentle curlique; you then affix it to a buckram base. The bud is a length of ribbon, stitched into a cylinder and the gathered on both edges with a little fiberfill stuffing inside. The buckram underside is covered with felt when the flower is finished, and a brooch pin is stitched to the felt. HTH. Thanks again to everyone for the encouragement!
5/3/05 1:23 AM
CatherineN said...
Alll the skill and creativity you have poured into this dress have produced a dress of outstanding beauty.
5/2/05 11:48 PM
GoSewGirl said...
What an inspiration your dress is! Thanks for all the great detail photos - it's a really stunning dress!
5/2/05 10:52 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful job, great review
5/2/05 9:53 PM
PVA said...
Wow, what's left for me to say? I can only endorse what the others have already said. I especially want to thank you for the review, all the construction details & all the many photos! It's exactly the kind of review I love to read. You effectively walked us thru the whole process. The result is a perfectly fabulous dress! Great achievement!
5/2/05 9:28 PM
drsue said...
What a fabulous dress. You should give instructions on making the flower in a tip!
5/2/05 9:21 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
I can't tell you how much I LOVE your dress. I'm sure the attention to detail with the skirt has really paid off - it looks so crisp and perfect ... and the belt and flower ... and oh my gosh the shoes ... Delightful!!
5/2/05 9:02 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Stunning, stunning, stunning job! I love the zipper treatment. Did you do a straight seam in the back or did you curve it? -Ann
5/2/05 9:02 PM
Cami said...
Great dress, great review. Thanks.
5/2/05 8:48 PM
MarthaH said...
Can't come up with any words that haven't already been used. What a treat to read your review. Thanks.
5/2/05 8:47 PM
alicia said...
Wow, wow, wow. The silk is stunning, and you did a beautiful job on that zipper.
5/2/05 7:46 PM
BjP said...
I also would love to have just one more picture - you wearing it! What a beautiful dress and a wonderfully written review. This is such a beautiful example of what we all strive for!
5/2/05 7:33 PM
bheath said...
Kathryn - just gorgeous. The dress is also a beautiful color. Fabulous job!
5/2/05 7:30 PM
Elona said...
Kathryn, what an enchanting dress--a lovely, fluffy confection!
5/2/05 7:00 PM
Linda E. said...
Wow you dress is beautiful your review is very informative and well written thanks for all the details.
5/2/05 6:56 PM
PegL said...
What an incredibly beautiful dress! I love all the couture techniques and treatments you added to the dress too! Very impressive! Thanks for a very complete review too. The many photos were wonderful! Would love to see a photo of you in this special dress!
5/2/05 6:49 PM
zinnia said...
Fantastic review! Thank you!
5/2/05 6:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect, fabulous, stunning...such overused words. I can't think of the superlative that describes this dress. When it's photographed for InStyle magazine, maybe they'll come up with the right adjectives. I love it.
5/2/05 6:24 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, what a glorious ode to fab pink and the early 60's!! It is simply stunning. Thank you for sharing your review.
5/2/05 6:22 PM
jlg said...
So gorgeous. Lovely, lovely dress. Thanks for all of the close ups of your details. Very inspiring.
5/2/05 6:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for an extraordinary review of your gorgeous dress. I know I'm dating myself here, but I wore dresses like this (even made some of them myself) in junior high. I made the petticoats too and starched them in the bathtub. Your interpretation is uniquely you but very authentic as well. Audrey would love it.
5/2/05 6:09 PM
Princess Jenny said...
What a wonderful review. Not only is your dress absolutely gorgeous, but your the way you detailed the steps along the way with pictures, was great! So inspirational :)
5/2/05 6:03 PM
els said...
Kathryn, my compliments on your dress it is stunning, gorgeous and very haute couture made, thanks for the thorough review and all the details pictures.
5/2/05 6:00 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your dress is beautiful and your review is just as beautiful. Your accounting of detail and what needs to be done is exactly what we all should strive for. Thanks again for a job well done.
5/2/05 5:57 PM
Teri said...
Wow! You did a great job......I hope you have someplace fun to wear this lovely creation.
5/2/05 5:44 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Scrumptuous! Never mind Audrey and Jackie -this one's all Kathryn. It is an absolute confection.
5/2/05 5:41 PM
Patti B said...
Kathryn, what a stunning dress! All of your details just enhance it. Great review.
5/2/05 5:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

brerrabbit.com Leila & Ben Little Cap

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-1992-504

photo
by: IreneVB

Review
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now