Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1407 (Barcelona Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1793 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:sew_teardrop
photo
About sew_teardropstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/13/02
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/02 4:01 PM
Last Updated:8/15/02 4:01 PM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
at least 2 other people have made this dress and it looked lovely on both of them too. try looking around here.
8/15/02 4:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gigi Louis and Barbara Elfin have them on their sites. Can't remember the URLs, sorry.
8/15/02 4:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
oops! sew_teardrop, barcelona dress is Textile Studio not Loes Hinse. No wonder other reviews are not showing up. I'll fix it for you.
8/15/02 6:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've had problems with necklines stretching, too; try stitching a narrow strip of selvage to the wrong side of your neckline when you stay stitch; that helps a lot. If you're using a knit fabric, try 1/4" clear elastic with a zig-zag stitch. HTH!
8/15/02 7:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I know this sounds odd, but I try to stretch the cut edge of the neckline as much as possible when I am serge-finishing it (using a shorter stitch helps). This results in the cut edge being larger than the folded edge - you are turning a smaller circle into a bigger one after all. My necklines always lay smoothly using this method. Sew_teardrop, I too love this dress and have made it at least five times (even into a nightgown!). It is a staple in my wardrobe - just toss it on and go. My favorite is a black matte jersey - with sandals it's casual, with high heels and jewelry it's dressier. I like that it makes me look like I have a waist. I tried the sleeved version and didn't like it on myself - you might try making just the bodice to see if you like it before committing to a whole dress.
8/15/02 8:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm sorry, Gigi, I don't understand your suggestion. Aren't you always turning a smaller circle into a larger circle when you fold under the edge of a neckline? Why would pre-stretching it result in a flatter neckline? thanks for the suggestion on making a trial top w/ the sleeves first! :)
8/15/02 8:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sew_teardrop by stretching the cut edge (as you are finishing the raw edge) you are making it bigger resulting in an easier turn. When the folded edge sticks away from the body that is telling you that the folded edge is larger than the stitched/raw edge. Is that making sense? Try folding a piece of paper in with a concave curve, you can't do it without clipping (making the raw edge longer/bigger) or ending up with a ruffle of sorts at the folded edge. I know this may seem strange since we are always worried about not stretching the neck and that is good. If you are staystitching you are doing so on the fold line, it's okay/necessary to stretch the cut edge in able to get a smooth turn. It's been a long day, hope that all makes sense. :-)
8/16/02 1:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gigi, you are so clever! I would have used iron-on stay-tape and would have probably compounded the problem.
8/16/02 2:58 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sherrill, it's perfectly okay to use stay-tape as long as it's on the garment side of the neckline rather than the hem/raw edge side. I LOVE that iron-on bias stay-tape for necklines.
8/16/02 10:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
thanks for the tip, Gigi. I was confused because I misunderstood your usage of the term "cut edge". So the "cut" edge is the outer circle and the "folded" edge is the circle to be turned under. I misunderstood the "cut" edge to be the inner circle; thus the confusion! thanks!!! :)
8/16/02 4:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Butterick B4474 Purse
photo
Review by MarilynB on 7/10/07
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7086 Shirt
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/14/08
Read Review

Burda 9478 Pattern
Burda 9478 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us