SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1795 times 
Reviewed by:sew_teardrop
photo

 
 
About sew_teardropstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/13/02
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/02 4:01 PM
Last Updated:8/15/02 4:01 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
thanks for the tip, Gigi. I was confused because I misunderstood your usage of the term "cut edge". So the "cut" edge is the outer circle and the "folded" edge is the circle to be turned under. I misunderstood the "cut" edge to be the inner circle; thus the confusion! thanks!!! :)
8/16/02 4:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sherrill, it's perfectly okay to use stay-tape as long as it's on the garment side of the neckline rather than the hem/raw edge side. I LOVE that iron-on bias stay-tape for necklines.
8/16/02 10:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gigi, you are so clever! I would have used iron-on stay-tape and would have probably compounded the problem.
8/16/02 2:58 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sew_teardrop by stretching the cut edge (as you are finishing the raw edge) you are making it bigger resulting in an easier turn. When the folded edge sticks away from the body that is telling you that the folded edge is larger than the stitched/raw edge. Is that making sense? Try folding a piece of paper in with a concave curve, you can't do it without clipping (making the raw edge longer/bigger) or ending up with a ruffle of sorts at the folded edge. I know this may seem strange since we are always worried about not stretching the neck and that is good. If you are staystitching you are doing so on the fold line, it's okay/necessary to stretch the cut edge in able to get a smooth turn. It's been a long day, hope that all makes sense. :-)
8/16/02 1:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm sorry, Gigi, I don't understand your suggestion. Aren't you always turning a smaller circle into a larger circle when you fold under the edge of a neckline? Why would pre-stretching it result in a flatter neckline? thanks for the suggestion on making a trial top w/ the sleeves first! :)
8/15/02 8:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I know this sounds odd, but I try to stretch the cut edge of the neckline as much as possible when I am serge-finishing it (using a shorter stitch helps). This results in the cut edge being larger than the folded edge - you are turning a smaller circle into a bigger one after all. My necklines always lay smoothly using this method. Sew_teardrop, I too love this dress and have made it at least five times (even into a nightgown!). It is a staple in my wardrobe - just toss it on and go. My favorite is a black matte jersey - with sandals it's casual, with high heels and jewelry it's dressier. I like that it makes me look like I have a waist. I tried the sleeved version and didn't like it on myself - you might try making just the bodice to see if you like it before committing to a whole dress.
8/15/02 8:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've had problems with necklines stretching, too; try stitching a narrow strip of selvage to the wrong side of your neckline when you stay stitch; that helps a lot. If you're using a knit fabric, try 1/4" clear elastic with a zig-zag stitch. HTH!
8/15/02 7:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
oops! sew_teardrop, barcelona dress is Textile Studio not Loes Hinse. No wonder other reviews are not showing up. I'll fix it for you.
8/15/02 6:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gigi Louis and Barbara Elfin have them on their sites. Can't remember the URLs, sorry.
8/15/02 4:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
at least 2 other people have made this dress and it looked lovely on both of them too. try looking around here.
8/15/02 4:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Monkeysbug Sweet Sailor Ruffle Short

photo
by: brissmith

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 235056-1004

photo
by: Quickie

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info