SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Harper (Ponte Jacket)

Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 208
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/13 9:58 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Harper by clothingengineer  StyleArc: Harper by clothingengineer  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clotheshorse said...
Your jackets look really nice! I just got this pattern and was a little unsure whether I would like it on me but your review makes me want to get sewing it :)
10/9/13 7:57 PM
Annie P said...
They look great. I actually think they really suit you..
9/28/13 9:28 PM
mmcp said...
Great review, and very funny--we've all had those items we didn't think were super flattering, but we put them on all the time because they are so cozy. Sounds like a winner!
9/28/13 8:00 AM
clothingengineer said...
carolynw - that's the thing, the collar is folded over and topstitched down, so all that neat finishing is completely hidden anyway! Makes no sense to me.
9/27/13 7:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Excellent review and nice cardi. This is the sort of review I love to read. Thanks!!
9/27/13 7:09 PM
carolynw said...
I really like these jackets - maybe a lighter fabric would drape better for the closing - I like the way that looks. The reason for the French seam at center back is because the seam is shown on the right side of the collar so a French seam is to make it neater if you wish
9/27/13 6:42 PM
Dianne22 said...
Great review of this pattern. Both finished products look beautiful and easy to complete. Personally, I love the way the blue one looks closed--something of an elegant drape.
9/27/13 11:27 AM
clothingengineer said...
grays08 - I think I don't like it closed because it makes a lot of bulk at the upper chest that I find distracting. Maybe you're right and I just need time to get used to it.
9/27/13 10:51 AM
grays08 said...
I like both of these on you and think they are flattering! I think the drape leads your eye downward even though I'm sure they probably feel like they are bulky and wide at times you are wearing them. Love these and love them with a skinny pant also like it closed as I think it's very interesting and chic. Give them a chance, I think they'll grow more on you, but I've also had those kind of projects so I know where you are coming from. = )
9/27/13 10:46 AM
Dee2 said...
Love this jacket--the royal really suits you & the purple is gorgeous. Love the hair too!
9/27/13 10:35 AM
Re Becca said...
Oh wow, a gorgeous pattern that comes with notions! We needed a good pattern for heavier knits.
9/27/13 10:32 AM
Knitz said...
Very good review -- looks nice styled with the Barbs.
9/27/13 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101A

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2012-121

photo
by: claracoope...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

More Info