SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Harper (Ponte Jacket)

Viewed 403 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 195
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/13 9:58 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Harper by clothingengineer  StyleArc: Harper by clothingengineer  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitz said...
Very good review -- looks nice styled with the Barbs.
9/27/13 10:32 AM
Re Becca said...
Oh wow, a gorgeous pattern that comes with notions! We needed a good pattern for heavier knits.
9/27/13 10:32 AM
Dee2 said...
Love this jacket--the royal really suits you & the purple is gorgeous. Love the hair too!
9/27/13 10:35 AM
grays08 said...
I like both of these on you and think they are flattering! I think the drape leads your eye downward even though I'm sure they probably feel like they are bulky and wide at times you are wearing them. Love these and love them with a skinny pant also like it closed as I think it's very interesting and chic. Give them a chance, I think they'll grow more on you, but I've also had those kind of projects so I know where you are coming from. = )
9/27/13 10:46 AM
clothingengineer said...
grays08 - I think I don't like it closed because it makes a lot of bulk at the upper chest that I find distracting. Maybe you're right and I just need time to get used to it.
9/27/13 10:51 AM
Dianne22 said...
Great review of this pattern. Both finished products look beautiful and easy to complete. Personally, I love the way the blue one looks closed--something of an elegant drape.
9/27/13 11:27 AM
carolynw said...
I really like these jackets - maybe a lighter fabric would drape better for the closing - I like the way that looks. The reason for the French seam at center back is because the seam is shown on the right side of the collar so a French seam is to make it neater if you wish
9/27/13 6:42 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Excellent review and nice cardi. This is the sort of review I love to read. Thanks!!
9/27/13 7:09 PM
clothingengineer said...
carolynw - that's the thing, the collar is folded over and topstitched down, so all that neat finishing is completely hidden anyway! Makes no sense to me.
9/27/13 7:17 PM
mmcp said...
Great review, and very funny--we've all had those items we didn't think were super flattering, but we put them on all the time because they are so cozy. Sounds like a winner!
9/28/13 8:00 AM
Annie P said...
They look great. I actually think they really suit you..
9/28/13 9:28 PM
clotheshorse said...
Your jackets look really nice! I just got this pattern and was a little unsure whether I would like it on me but your review makes me want to get sewing it :)
10/9/13 7:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2588

photo
by: blessedtos...

Review
Simplicity 7012 vintage

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now