Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Harper (Ponte Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 380 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 185
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/13 9:58 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Harper by clothingengineer  StyleArc: Harper by clothingengineer  
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitz said...
Very good review -- looks nice styled with the Barbs.
9/27/13 10:32 AM
Re Becca said...
Oh wow, a gorgeous pattern that comes with notions! We needed a good pattern for heavier knits.
9/27/13 10:32 AM
Dee2 said...
Love this jacket--the royal really suits you & the purple is gorgeous. Love the hair too!
9/27/13 10:35 AM
grays08 said...
I like both of these on you and think they are flattering! I think the drape leads your eye downward even though I'm sure they probably feel like they are bulky and wide at times you are wearing them. Love these and love them with a skinny pant also like it closed as I think it's very interesting and chic. Give them a chance, I think they'll grow more on you, but I've also had those kind of projects so I know where you are coming from. = )
9/27/13 10:46 AM
clothingengineer said...
grays08 - I think I don't like it closed because it makes a lot of bulk at the upper chest that I find distracting. Maybe you're right and I just need time to get used to it.
9/27/13 10:51 AM
Dianne22 said...
Great review of this pattern. Both finished products look beautiful and easy to complete. Personally, I love the way the blue one looks closed--something of an elegant drape.
9/27/13 11:27 AM
carolynw said...
I really like these jackets - maybe a lighter fabric would drape better for the closing - I like the way that looks. The reason for the French seam at center back is because the seam is shown on the right side of the collar so a French seam is to make it neater if you wish
9/27/13 6:42 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Excellent review and nice cardi. This is the sort of review I love to read. Thanks!!
9/27/13 7:09 PM
clothingengineer said...
carolynw - that's the thing, the collar is folded over and topstitched down, so all that neat finishing is completely hidden anyway! Makes no sense to me.
9/27/13 7:17 PM
mmcp said...
Great review, and very funny--we've all had those items we didn't think were super flattering, but we put them on all the time because they are so cozy. Sounds like a winner!
9/28/13 8:00 AM
Annie P said...
They look great. I actually think they really suit you..
9/28/13 9:28 PM
clotheshorse said...
Your jackets look really nice! I just got this pattern and was a little unsure whether I would like it on me but your review makes me want to get sewing it :)
10/9/13 7:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1653
photo
Review by stonecutte... on 7/7/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Emma Top
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 4/15/12
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse
Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse

Details
Price: $15.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us