SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8804 (Misses Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 869 times 
Reviewed by:Manuela HK
photo

 
 
About Manuela HKstar
Hong Kong
Member since: 7/18/13
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/13 3:36 AM
Last Updated:5/16/14 9:02 AM


Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Manuela HK  Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Manuela HK  
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Manuela HK said...
Cissie, for the trim I used 4 strands of yarn pulled from the fashion fabric (for texture), 1 strand of black 100% wool yarn (for volume) and 1 strand of 3mm wide rayon ribbon (for effect). I crocheted them together into a simple chain using a No 8 crochet hook.
5/18/14 6:53 PM
CissieW said...
Please share with us how you achieved that wonderful trim!
5/18/14 9:28 AM
Sew Good said...
Love everything about your jacket!
5/16/14 10:16 PM
Laurasews said...
I always love your projects. You are so talented. This is gorgeous.
5/16/14 10:17 AM
mad stash said...
Stunning! The edge treatment is really, really great too. I like that from a distance the design on the buttons looks like an 'i', then closer inspection reveals it's a needle and thread. As if to say pictorally "I sewed this".
5/16/14 10:00 AM
CrisB said...
What a beautiful jacket. You did a wonderful job on it.
5/16/14 9:48 AM
caroljeancarmichael said...
Every garment you make is a delight.
5/16/14 9:39 AM
Manuela HK said...
Ceejayem, I bought the buttons on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/hk-en/shop/Lyanwood
11/2/13 11:23 PM
ceejayem said...
absolutely love this jacket, the trim and buttons are fabulous, did you get the buttons locally or online (really hard to find good notions where I live). I personally prefer this shorter version and the repositioning of the pockets.
11/2/13 10:47 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous jacket, cute buttons and trim, great fabric - all around A+
9/30/13 5:52 PM
VivianZ said...
Lovely jacket and well worth the time. I love the fringe.
9/29/13 9:55 PM
VivianZ said...
Lovely jacket and well worth the time. I love the fringe.
9/29/13 9:55 PM
Manuela HK said...
Becca, I made the trim myself by pulling out threads from the fashion fabric and crocheting them together with 2 strands of eyelash yarn. The base of the trim is Petersham as recommended in Claire Shaeffer's instructions, you first sew on the Petersham (according to the instructions by hand, but I stitched it on by machine), then the trim is sewn on by hand on top of it. I love the clean and crisp finishing the technique of using Petersham gives to neck hole and edges.
9/29/13 8:57 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous jacket! The buttons are a fun touch. What trim did you use?
9/29/13 8:24 AM
cocosloft said...
p.s. congrats on your first PR review!
9/29/13 6:34 AM
cocosloft said...
I love your jacket! Beautiful detail work and gorgeous fabric.
9/29/13 6:33 AM
Manuela HK said...
Restart06, I ordered the fabric from Linton Tweeds (www.lintondirect.co.uk). Potlady - I changed the grainline of the upper sleeve into the 'normal' one, i.e. running parallel with the sleeve seam at the upper sleeve. It's still too hot here in Hong Kong to wear a jacket like this, I can't wait for the temperatures to drop. Thank you everyone for the comments. For anybody having this pattern and being on the fence: do it, it is an amazing jacket and well worth the effort. It will take at least 80 hours though.
9/28/13 7:00 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - very Coco C!
9/28/13 12:03 PM
potlady said...
Love your jacket. WOuld like to see it on you. What will you change the grainline on the upper sleeve to? THank you for the information.
9/28/13 11:26 AM
PattyE said...
Love your jacket! I've got this pattern too so I appreciate your review.
9/28/13 10:26 AM
frame said...
Beautiful. I like the armhole princess line better. It looks great.
9/28/13 10:24 AM
Restart06 said...
Awesome jacket!!!! Where did you order your fabric from???? Thanks for sharing!!!
9/28/13 10:12 AM
CissieW said...
Magnificent jacket! I know how much goes into these jackets so can really appreciate your fine work.
9/28/13 8:11 AM
salsera7 said...
Gorgeous jacket. You did a wonderful job!
9/28/13 7:08 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
A beautiful classic jacket! Love the buttons!
9/28/13 6:13 AM
JudieL said...
Gorgeous jacket. Well worth the work. Love the buttons too!
9/28/13 3:56 AM
moushka said...
Great jacket. Love the buttons!
9/28/13 3:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: moseley de...

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

More Info
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

More Info