SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8804 (Misses Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 807 times 
Reviewed by:Manuela HK
photo

 
 
About Manuela HKstar
HONG KONG
Member since: 7/18/13
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/13 3:36 AM
Last Updated:5/16/14 9:02 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Manuela HK

Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Manuela HK  Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Manuela HK  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8804
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
A semi-fitted Chanel style jacket.

Pattern Sizing:
6-14, I cut the 12 - a bit on the roomy side, if you are between sizes, I'd recommend to use the smaller one.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
On first look yes, on second look slightly different due to some changes I made.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are excellent, complex and easy to follow - it is a very time consuming project though, because of the couture techniques that involve quite a bit of hand sewing.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I particularly liked the 3-piece sleeve, but did not really care for the grain line of the upper sleeve. I changed that for the next jacket.

Fabric Used:
Linton tweed, 100% wool

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I prefer the princess seam to start at the armhole instead of the shoulder seam, so I changed that. I also nipped in the centre back seam about 1.5cm (3/4") to have the jacket more fitted. As I pivoted the princess seam, I incorporated the bust dart there (the reason being that I want to make the next jacket in a checked fabric and like the check to match at the seams). I made the sleeves about 2.5cm (1") narrower and changed the armhole accordingly. As I didn't like the size and shape of the pockets, I changed that as well.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Oh yes, this is a wonderful jacket and if done using the recommended couture techniques, it is as comfortable as a cardigan.

Conclusion:
I can highly recommend this pattern, most of the changes I made were purely personal preferences.

ETA: While making another Little Black Jacket, I decided to revamp this one.
Changes:
- new trim (done with threads pulled from the fashion fabric, woolen knitting yarn and a 3mm wide rayon ribbon)
- added buttons and button holes at the pockets to make it look more like the original inspiration)
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Great jacket. Love the buttons!
9/28/13 3:56 AM
JudieL said...
Gorgeous jacket. Well worth the work. Love the buttons too!
9/28/13 3:56 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
A beautiful classic jacket! Love the buttons!
9/28/13 6:13 AM
salsera7 said...
Gorgeous jacket. You did a wonderful job!
9/28/13 7:08 AM
CissieW said...
Magnificent jacket! I know how much goes into these jackets so can really appreciate your fine work.
9/28/13 8:11 AM
Restart06 said...
Awesome jacket!!!! Where did you order your fabric from???? Thanks for sharing!!!
9/28/13 10:12 AM
frame said...
Beautiful. I like the armhole princess line better. It looks great.
9/28/13 10:24 AM
PattyE said...
Love your jacket! I've got this pattern too so I appreciate your review.
9/28/13 10:26 AM
potlady said...
Love your jacket. WOuld like to see it on you. What will you change the grainline on the upper sleeve to? THank you for the information.
9/28/13 11:26 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - very Coco C!
9/28/13 12:03 PM
Manuela HK said...
Restart06, I ordered the fabric from Linton Tweeds (www.lintondirect.co.uk). Potlady - I changed the grainline of the upper sleeve into the 'normal' one, i.e. running parallel with the sleeve seam at the upper sleeve. It's still too hot here in Hong Kong to wear a jacket like this, I can't wait for the temperatures to drop. Thank you everyone for the comments. For anybody having this pattern and being on the fence: do it, it is an amazing jacket and well worth the effort. It will take at least 80 hours though.
9/28/13 7:00 PM
cocosloft said...
I love your jacket! Beautiful detail work and gorgeous fabric.
9/29/13 6:33 AM
cocosloft said...
p.s. congrats on your first PR review!
9/29/13 6:34 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous jacket! The buttons are a fun touch. What trim did you use?
9/29/13 8:24 AM
Manuela HK said...
Becca, I made the trim myself by pulling out threads from the fashion fabric and crocheting them together with 2 strands of eyelash yarn. The base of the trim is Petersham as recommended in Claire Shaeffer's instructions, you first sew on the Petersham (according to the instructions by hand, but I stitched it on by machine), then the trim is sewn on by hand on top of it. I love the clean and crisp finishing the technique of using Petersham gives to neck hole and edges.
9/29/13 8:57 PM
VivianZ said...
Lovely jacket and well worth the time. I love the fringe.
9/29/13 9:55 PM
VivianZ said...
Lovely jacket and well worth the time. I love the fringe.
9/29/13 9:55 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous jacket, cute buttons and trim, great fabric - all around A+
9/30/13 5:52 PM
ceejayem said...
absolutely love this jacket, the trim and buttons are fabulous, did you get the buttons locally or online (really hard to find good notions where I live). I personally prefer this shorter version and the repositioning of the pockets.
11/2/13 10:47 PM
Manuela HK said...
Ceejayem, I bought the buttons on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/hk-en/shop/Lyanwood
11/2/13 11:23 PM
caroljeancarmichael said...
Every garment you make is a delight.
5/16/14 9:39 AM
CrisB said...
What a beautiful jacket. You did a wonderful job on it.
5/16/14 9:48 AM
mad stash said...
Stunning! The edge treatment is really, really great too. I like that from a distance the design on the buttons looks like an 'i', then closer inspection reveals it's a needle and thread. As if to say pictorally "I sewed this".
5/16/14 10:00 AM
Laurasews said...
I always love your projects. You are so talented. This is gorgeous.
5/16/14 10:17 AM
Sew Good said...
Love everything about your jacket!
5/16/14 10:16 PM
CissieW said...
Please share with us how you achieved that wonderful trim!
5/18/14 9:28 AM
Manuela HK said...
Cissie, for the trim I used 4 strands of yarn pulled from the fashion fabric (for texture), 1 strand of black 100% wool yarn (for volume) and 1 strand of 3mm wide rayon ribbon (for effect). I crocheted them together into a simple chain using a No 8 crochet hook.
5/18/14 6:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Burda 7364

photo
by: Lisette

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1004

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now