Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8804 (Misses Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 534 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Manuela HK
photo
About Manuela HKstar
HONG KONG
Member since: 7/18/13
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/13 3:36 AM
Last Updated:9/28/13 3:54 AM


Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Manuela HK  Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Manuela HK  
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Great jacket. Love the buttons!
9/28/13 3:56 AM
JudieL said...
Gorgeous jacket. Well worth the work. Love the buttons too!
9/28/13 3:56 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
A beautiful classic jacket! Love the buttons!
9/28/13 6:13 AM
salsera7 said...
Gorgeous jacket. You did a wonderful job!
9/28/13 7:08 AM
CissieW said...
Magnificent jacket! I know how much goes into these jackets so can really appreciate your fine work.
9/28/13 8:11 AM
Restart06 said...
Awesome jacket!!!! Where did you order your fabric from???? Thanks for sharing!!!
9/28/13 10:12 AM
frame said...
Beautiful. I like the armhole princess line better. It looks great.
9/28/13 10:24 AM
PattyE said...
Love your jacket! I've got this pattern too so I appreciate your review.
9/28/13 10:26 AM
potlady said...
Love your jacket. WOuld like to see it on you. What will you change the grainline on the upper sleeve to? THank you for the information.
9/28/13 11:26 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - very Coco C!
9/28/13 12:03 PM
Manuela HK said...
Restart06, I ordered the fabric from Linton Tweeds (www.lintondirect.co.uk). Potlady - I changed the grainline of the upper sleeve into the 'normal' one, i.e. running parallel with the sleeve seam at the upper sleeve. It's still too hot here in Hong Kong to wear a jacket like this, I can't wait for the temperatures to drop. Thank you everyone for the comments. For anybody having this pattern and being on the fence: do it, it is an amazing jacket and well worth the effort. It will take at least 80 hours though.
9/28/13 7:00 PM
cocosloft said...
I love your jacket! Beautiful detail work and gorgeous fabric.
9/29/13 6:33 AM
cocosloft said...
p.s. congrats on your first PR review!
9/29/13 6:34 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous jacket! The buttons are a fun touch. What trim did you use?
9/29/13 8:24 AM
Manuela HK said...
Becca, I made the trim myself by pulling out threads from the fashion fabric and crocheting them together with 2 strands of eyelash yarn. The base of the trim is Petersham as recommended in Claire Shaeffer's instructions, you first sew on the Petersham (according to the instructions by hand, but I stitched it on by machine), then the trim is sewn on by hand on top of it. I love the clean and crisp finishing the technique of using Petersham gives to neck hole and edges.
9/29/13 8:57 PM
VivianZ said...
Lovely jacket and well worth the time. I love the fringe.
9/29/13 9:55 PM
VivianZ said...
Lovely jacket and well worth the time. I love the fringe.
9/29/13 9:55 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous jacket, cute buttons and trim, great fabric - all around A+
9/30/13 5:52 PM
ceejayem said...
absolutely love this jacket, the trim and buttons are fabulous, did you get the buttons locally or online (really hard to find good notions where I live). I personally prefer this shorter version and the repositioning of the pockets.
11/2/13 10:47 PM
Manuela HK said...
Ceejayem, I bought the buttons on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/hk-en/shop/Lyanwood
11/2/13 11:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 4767 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by nesca on 8/26/09
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3738 Jackets
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 5/9/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Wrap Skirt
Loes Hinse Wrap Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us