SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 45793-1021 (Burberry Knit Collared Jacket)

Viewed 221 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/13 6:34 PM


Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ALFALFA said...
superb!!!!!!!
10/1/13 7:48 PM
AnneM said...
A one-month contest and you are dong a designer jacket knock-off. Great jacket, nice style. Although it sounds like you got yourself in trouble now, with 3 new knitting machines - you will certainly be keeping yourself busy.
10/1/13 8:14 PM
wexford said...
Wow - this jacket is fabulous. I hope someday to be able to sew something like this.
10/1/13 9:35 PM
K_sew said...
Thanks so much for sharing your creative process. Your jacket is wonderful!
10/1/13 9:40 PM
Karine said...
Fabulous jacket! Love the knitted collar overlay. Thank you for the detailed review as well.
10/2/13 8:18 AM
grays08 said...
Stunning, beautiful jacket, impeccably made and so refined - loved reading your process! Wonderful inspiration too! I was also admiring Burberry so enjoyed seeing this.
10/2/13 8:29 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is simply amazing!!! Love how the knit collar turned out!
10/2/13 11:23 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a great review, chock full of tips. Thanks for all of the pictures and links. And Happy knitting!
10/2/13 8:36 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and I am really curious how you dealt with the rectangle machine knitted collar pieces to end up with that gorgeous shawl knitted collar.
10/2/13 9:46 PM
Sarsez said...
I've been looking forward to reading this review. The collar looks fantastic. Well done and welcome to machine knitting!
10/3/13 6:03 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for your very kind comments. Sharon, I had made two or three test collars previously and knew the approximate size of the rectangle I needed. But I tend to do things like this on the fly and make up my own methods on the spot. To get the stockingette "ribs" running horizontally, I knit a very wide rectangle and folded it in half, right sides together. Then I made an identical rectangle, folded it and then seamed it to the first rectangle. This seam became the center back seam of the collar. Next, I draped it on my jacket and used two sided leather tape to mark where the seam lines should be. I sewed the seams with my sewing machine using the straight stitch. I trimmed the seam fairly close, then turned the knitted piece so it was right side out. I oriented the collar with the seamed edge facing the center of the garment. Then I hand stitched the double layered overlay to the outer edge of the woven shawl collar. Finally I hand stitched the overlay to the inner layer of the jacket. All I can say is I'm sure Burberry doesn't make their collars using my crazy method.
10/3/13 9:25 PM
becca a said...
What amazing jackets you sew! This one is very haute couture.
10/4/13 10:06 PM
bananaoil said...
Brava!
10/8/13 10:48 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Awesome.
10/9/13 10:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 9882 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Lutterloh 2005 1

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now