SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8890 (Men's Jacket, Shorts, and Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 350 times 
Reviewed by:SewRuth
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SewRuthstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/13 11:30 AM
Last Updated:10/5/13 11:33 AM


Vogue Patterns: 8890 by SewRuth  Vogue Patterns: 8890 by SewRuth  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sarah121haras said...
I am getting ready to start this project for my husband and thought I would check out the reviews. Wow, your version is amazing! Well done.
12/8/13 10:34 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, this is so wonderful! I think you need to change your sewing skills from intermediate to advanced. Love it!
10/12/13 10:22 AM
grays08 said...
Beautifully made and excellent fit (I'm so impressed with the shoulder/sleeve area which looks so spectacular!) I'm doing a suit jacket myself for my DH right now so I feel your pain and anxiety in doing another! lol...they can be the worst clients but perhaps the most rewarding too I suppose. = ) So impressed you did this out of poly, wonderful job!
10/7/13 5:16 PM
SewRuth said...
Thank you all for such positive and encouraging comments. The tailoring books I referred to are: Vintage Couture Tailoring - von Nordheim: Classic Tailoring Techniques (Women) - Cabrera. I'm still waiting for the tickets to Paris.........
10/7/13 3:23 PM
Miss N said...
WOW. So impressed. Amazing. Good for you! I think you should definitely change your skill status to Advanced.
10/7/13 2:22 PM
BlossomKyle said...
WOW! That jacket looks so RTW!!
10/6/13 11:53 PM
Brine said...
I am really impressed. The jacket looks great!
10/6/13 12:20 PM
carolynw said...
Wonderful work - all your efforts sure paid of in a terrific looking jacket
10/6/13 11:31 AM
Baja Susana said...
You did a wonderful job, echoing what others said, if this is the practice jacket,I am looking forward to seeing the next one. Good work! A labor of love. Where are you going for dinner?
10/6/13 11:28 AM
persevering said...
Awesome jacket! You are so inspiring! I like the skirt you made too - looking good!
10/6/13 9:59 AM
craigrama said...
Fully functional sleeve vents? Wow. Haven't seen that feature in a jacket in years. Wonderful work. Nothing like pad stitching to make other projects "seem easier". I'm sure he'll get good use of such a prize.
10/6/13 9:53 AM
Danmar said...
I am so impressed with your project. What an undertaking and beautiful results!
10/6/13 6:40 AM
margy.64 said...
Great result.
10/6/13 4:46 AM
pdiddly said...
fantastic work
10/6/13 3:21 AM
Maree P said...
Your jacket is impeccable.
10/6/13 0:04 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
You did a fabulous job. So much so that it almost makes me what to sew for my husband! TFS
10/5/13 11:00 PM
kerrynw said...
Wow!!! Looks Great, perfect fit. You have done an amazing job. Congratulations!
10/5/13 10:30 PM
farqs said...
Great job. The lapels are perfect! DH looks very proud of your work.
10/5/13 10:09 PM
treefrog said...
Amazing! So professionally made. If this is the practice jacket the "real" one is going to be out of this world. Can I ask which tailoring book you used?
10/5/13 9:03 PM
Campbell said...
Wow, this jacket looks great. I have only made shirts for my husband and only one so far. That is really a gift of love!
10/5/13 8:03 PM
Vivienne said...
I second the wow-wow-wow. Stunning!
10/5/13 7:10 PM
LynneH said...
Amazing! This is beautifully made. Congrats
10/5/13 6:31 PM
lmg said...
Wow wow wow wow. Yes, a trip to Paris should be your reward for such a great jacket. Fabulous construction..
10/5/13 6:16 PM
Sharonspils said...
Very stylish and beautifully made jacket for your DH.
10/5/13 6:15 PM
SavageCoco said...
Ruth, did you hear that loud thunk just now? That was my jaw hitting the floor. This is just absolutely outstanding. Really, really admirable work. I'm thinkin' someone owes you a bit of fancy dinner out, some jewelry and a foot massage. Oh, and a trip to Paris.
10/5/13 6:08 PM
bes said...
Well done! Beautiful sewing, great fit - just - well done!
10/5/13 5:40 PM
caper81 said...
What a beautifully constructed jacket! It looks so great! Enjoyed your blog &yYour skirt looks awesome on you also, I must add!:)
10/5/13 3:40 PM
Dynamo said...
I recently did a course on tailoring a jacket and so I can appreciate all the work that went into this. The jacket looks great and fits so nicely. I don't know that I'd ever care to tailor a jacket again, sooo much work, so good for you!
10/5/13 12:59 PM
TinaLea said...
Ruth, thanks for the review, you did a great job on the jacket! I have this in my stash hoping to make one for DH when I get the nerve up - he saw a jacket he liked locally that was over $800 out of a really nice wool, I about choked realizing I could make it for less than $100! (And no, he did not buy it!!!!)
10/5/13 12:06 PM
SandraB said...
Beautifully made jacket!
10/5/13 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now