Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8890 (Men's Jacket, Shorts, and Pants) - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 308 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:SewRuth
photo
Friend of PR
About SewRuthstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/13 11:30 AM
Last Updated:10/5/13 11:33 AM


Vogue Patterns: 8890 by SewRuth  Vogue Patterns: 8890 by SewRuth  
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
Beautifully made jacket!
10/5/13 11:38 AM
TinaLea said...
Ruth, thanks for the review, you did a great job on the jacket! I have this in my stash hoping to make one for DH when I get the nerve up - he saw a jacket he liked locally that was over $800 out of a really nice wool, I about choked realizing I could make it for less than $100! (And no, he did not buy it!!!!)
10/5/13 12:06 PM
Dynamo said...
I recently did a course on tailoring a jacket and so I can appreciate all the work that went into this. The jacket looks great and fits so nicely. I don't know that I'd ever care to tailor a jacket again, sooo much work, so good for you!
10/5/13 12:59 PM
caper81 said...
What a beautifully constructed jacket! It looks so great! Enjoyed your blog &yYour skirt looks awesome on you also, I must add!:)
10/5/13 3:40 PM
bes said...
Well done! Beautiful sewing, great fit - just - well done!
10/5/13 5:40 PM
SavageCoco said...
Ruth, did you hear that loud thunk just now? That was my jaw hitting the floor. This is just absolutely outstanding. Really, really admirable work. I'm thinkin' someone owes you a bit of fancy dinner out, some jewelry and a foot massage. Oh, and a trip to Paris.
10/5/13 6:08 PM
Sharonspils said...
Very stylish and beautifully made jacket for your DH.
10/5/13 6:15 PM
lmg said...
Wow wow wow wow. Yes, a trip to Paris should be your reward for such a great jacket. Fabulous construction..
10/5/13 6:16 PM
LynneH said...
Amazing! This is beautifully made. Congrats
10/5/13 6:31 PM
Vivienne said...
I second the wow-wow-wow. Stunning!
10/5/13 7:10 PM
Campbell said...
Wow, this jacket looks great. I have only made shirts for my husband and only one so far. That is really a gift of love!
10/5/13 8:03 PM
treefrog said...
Amazing! So professionally made. If this is the practice jacket the "real" one is going to be out of this world. Can I ask which tailoring book you used?
10/5/13 9:03 PM
farqs said...
Great job. The lapels are perfect! DH looks very proud of your work.
10/5/13 10:09 PM
kerrynw said...
Wow!!! Looks Great, perfect fit. You have done an amazing job. Congratulations!
10/5/13 10:30 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
You did a fabulous job. So much so that it almost makes me what to sew for my husband! TFS
10/5/13 11:00 PM
Maree P said...
Your jacket is impeccable.
10/6/13 0:04 AM
pdiddly said...
fantastic work
10/6/13 3:21 AM
margy.64 said...
Great result.
10/6/13 4:46 AM
Danmar said...
I am so impressed with your project. What an undertaking and beautiful results!
10/6/13 6:40 AM
craigrama said...
Fully functional sleeve vents? Wow. Haven't seen that feature in a jacket in years. Wonderful work. Nothing like pad stitching to make other projects "seem easier". I'm sure he'll get good use of such a prize.
10/6/13 9:53 AM
persevering said...
Awesome jacket! You are so inspiring! I like the skirt you made too - looking good!
10/6/13 9:59 AM
Baja Susana said...
You did a wonderful job, echoing what others said, if this is the practice jacket,I am looking forward to seeing the next one. Good work! A labor of love. Where are you going for dinner?
10/6/13 11:28 AM
carolynw said...
Wonderful work - all your efforts sure paid of in a terrific looking jacket
10/6/13 11:31 AM
Brine said...
I am really impressed. The jacket looks great!
10/6/13 12:20 PM
BlossomKyle said...
WOW! That jacket looks so RTW!!
10/6/13 11:53 PM
Miss N said...
WOW. So impressed. Amazing. Good for you! I think you should definitely change your skill status to Advanced.
10/7/13 2:22 PM
SewRuth said...
Thank you all for such positive and encouraging comments. The tailoring books I referred to are: Vintage Couture Tailoring - von Nordheim: Classic Tailoring Techniques (Women) - Cabrera. I'm still waiting for the tickets to Paris.........
10/7/13 3:23 PM
grays08 said...
Beautifully made and excellent fit (I'm so impressed with the shoulder/sleeve area which looks so spectacular!) I'm doing a suit jacket myself for my DH right now so I feel your pain and anxiety in doing another! lol...they can be the worst clients but perhaps the most rewarding too I suppose. = ) So impressed you did this out of poly, wonderful job!
10/7/13 5:16 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, this is so wonderful! I think you need to change your sewing skills from intermediate to advanced. Love it!
10/12/13 10:22 AM
sarah121haras said...
I am getting ready to start this project for my husband and thought I would check out the reviews. Wow, your version is amazing! Well done.
12/8/13 10:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Wild Ginger Curves - Swimsuit
photo
Review by avancleve on 7/21/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9547 Girls' Jacket
photo
Review by piakdy on 8/17/13
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8992 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8992 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5764 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5764 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us